Alpha Hydrox • Alpha Hydrox Toner-Astringent • Toners

rated 4.2(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 cjMadamFresa on 6/19/2012 1:19:00 PM more reviews by cjMadamFresa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i am prone to cystic acne, i have very sensitive skin, i get hyper pigmentation on my face easily, when i blush or get upset my face turns red and stays red all day or even until the next day. sometimes i even get little bumps when that happens. my skin can be really oily or very dry and chapped. finding an adequate cleanser is hard enough but finding a tolerable toner is even more frustrating.

before using this toner i tried ddf aloe toner and ddf glycolic toner, clarins, clinique, etc...

they always burned my eyes and made my skin dry and red and made me flush even more.

i am glad i found this toner! it makes my skin feel clean and fresh without over drying, of course a moisturizer is a must. i will admit that the first time i used it i was frightened because it did sting a little bit but that only happened the first few days and hasn't happened since and I've been using it for over a year now.

a lot of product comes out so be careful. i decanted mine into a vacuum spray bottle and use a few pumps on a cotton pad. its just the right amount.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 marciap81 on 5/2/2012 12:25:00 AM more reviews by marciap81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product reminds me of sea breeze (remember that astringent) . This toner is alcohol based so oily skin beware!!!! Even those with dry skin as the alcohol will dry u out severely!!! I steer clear of alcohol free toners as it irritates my acneic skin. This didn't irritate me but it caused breakouts. No MAAM. Not for me. Discontinued use immediately! Only use to clean my tweezers now lol

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alexaober on 2/28/2012 10:50:00 PM more reviews by alexaober

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I would highly recommend this toner, it's not as intense as other ones. It doesn't sting at all or cause me irrtation, but I would only use it maybe every other day? I really like the Alpha Hydrox line, everyshould give them a shot!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rickisyed on 6/15/2011 11:26:00 AM more reviews by rickisyed

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Oh man, i can smell all the strong acids in this product, like a nail polish remover, but this really helps disinfect my acneic face. I use this once a day (usually at night time). This really helps with removing the makeup that my cleanser misses. This also helps with the pores and texture of my skintone. I definitely need a moisturizer after I use this because its a bit to strong for my sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* renia22 on 3/6/2011 1:07:00 PM more reviews by renia22

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is currently my favorite toner. I have acne prone skin & do not like a lot of fragrance in my facial care products. And even though many people say alcohol is bad for the skin, mine actually responds well to it. It does not have a very strong scent & it gets my skin nice & clean and helps to keep it clear. Do avoid it if you are sensitive to alcohol, as it has a high alcohol content. But for those with acne prone or oily skin, it works well. I usually wait until they have sales & then I stock up. It's normally about $6.99 for 6 ounces (regular price) on the alpha hydrox website

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jinhee on 9/8/2010 11:28:00 PM more reviews by Jinhee

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm absolute believer in the effectiveness of toners in general and a necessity in my beauty regiment. I use quality cleansers and treatment creams and moisturizing essences, lotions, serums and creams in various combination day and night. Toners are a must before foundation for me. I apply before it completely dries since I find the slightly damp skin grab and hold the liquid or powder better. AH toner-astringent is basic and affordable. And it has alcohol. I wanted to use it during the summer but It is drying over time. As the day went on and I felt that my moisturizer is not doing its job but then I realize this is the culprit. I can't use it on a consistent basis but I do like the way it made my face so smooth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dpav on 11/11/2009 3:16:00 PM more reviews by dpav

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pretty decent toner to suppress the pimples. I did not and will not use this toner all over my face as it really has a high concentration of alcohol. I only use it as a spot treatment, i.e. when I see a pimple may come out, I will rub this one that particular spot. Usually, after one night, it dries that potential pimple. One time, I have a potential pimple that's closer to my eyes, and rubbing this on cause some discomfort to my eyes. that's how strong this astringent is. This one is very much comparable to Kiehls Herbal Blue Astringent, but this one is cheaper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pjw1209 on 10/7/2009 1:51:00 AM more reviews by pjw1209

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this toner ~ it's my favorite, and the only one I use. I apply it once a day in the morning, before I apply my makeup. It picks up all the leftover junk that I miss when I wash my face. I have been using the entire Alpha Hydrox skin care line and I like the results. My acne and rosacea is completely gone after 30+ annoying years. My pores are shrinking slightly and my fine lines are less noticeable.


The toner does not dry out my skin. It leaves my skin, soft, clean and refreshed. Every time neotericcosmetics.com has a sale, I stock up. If you like AHA products, be sure to sign up for promotions on their website. Sometimes, there promotions are unbelievable. Last one was BOGO for a penny. The box arrived and my DH was yelling down the hallway! HA!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nyomya on 11/18/2006 2:13:00 PM more reviews by nyomya

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Along with AHA foam wash and gel, I use this toner. I also use Ambi fade lotion oily skin formula and prescription Differin. Within a month, my skin is noticeably clear, smoother, and more even toned. In the past, I spent a lot of money on Clinique and Estee Lauder Whitelight Ex sets as well as a lot of drug store products including Olay Regenerist and total effects. None of them worked for me. Now, I have less oily skin with almost no breakouts. I tried AHA souffle and enhanced lotion last year but both made my skin too oily. This toner is perfect, not so strong on my sensitive face although it has alcohol. I used to use alcohol free toners (Shiseido the skin care, Estee Lauder, Lancome, Neutrogena, Dove, and Wet&Wild) I should have tried this toner earlier. In fact, I wanted to try DDF 10% Glycolic toner but it is $30 for the same 8 oz so after keep reading reviews from this MUA. One reviewer mentioned this AHA is better than DDF (I tried DDF sun screen matte but very oily) so I gave a try this AHA toner. I can't find this toner in local sotres so I purchased from its manufacturer's website: http://www.alphahydrox.com/stored.htm and often offered free shipping. It's only $5.99 for an 8 oz bottle. Thank you for MUA reviewer who mentioned this is better than DDF. I saved $$ and am very happy for the results. I definitely purchased another bottle since it was free shipping last month. Will purchase more.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ewiggs26 on 7/30/2006 1:45:00 AM more reviews by ewiggs26

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm sure that this product would work for unsensitive skin, but for my sensitive skin it breaks me out severely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alpha Hydrox products

More Toners products