Creed • Ambre Cannelle • Fragrances

rated 3.0(14 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.42%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* whitecountess on 9/18/2010 4:30:00 PM more reviews by whitecountess

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I SO wanted to love this! It was made for Eva Perone, who to me is one of our most fascinating figures. I can completely see how in her day, this would have been exciting. Amber floral, with a touch of sexual musk. And the french Cannelle (cinammon) is one of my favorite scents. Diptyque makes a Cannelle candle that is one of the best things I have ever smelled. But on me, Amber Cannelle smells like a grandmother who hasn't changed her perfume in forty years. Interesting, but from a time that no longer exists and not in a good way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rydenfan3 on 8/24/2009 7:58:00 PM more reviews by Rydenfan3

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I tried Ambre Cannelle recently and the SA was nice enough to decant a small vial of it for me to try out at home. I have to say that I LOVE the opening of Ambre Cannelle..something in there really grabs you..maybe it's the slight animalistic skank of the ambergris blended with floral and spice notes..just makes you go WOW. Much like the reviewer who mentioned TF Black Orchid, which also has a very heavy hitting, intoxicating opening. Unfortunately the dry down is a bit sad. Dusty musty amber on me with very little cinnamon or floral left over. I'm going to test this out on skin that's been moisturized with a layer of unscented lotion and see if the results are any different but so far, I don't know yet if Ambre Cannell is FBW.
**updated 6/14/2010...I ended up not purchasing. The drydown is a bit too matronly and musty smelling for my tastes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* takemyhusbandplz on 1/2/2008 9:22:00 PM more reviews by takemyhusbandplz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Well, I had the same experience as the previous reviewer- hermesrouge. On my skin Ambre Cannelle has absolutely no cinnnamon or amber notes. I get only bay leaf, pepper, coriander and the musks. On my skin it smells dated and not in a good way. On me it smelled like someone who hadn't bathed and just splashed old cologne all over themselves.

I've yet to find a Creed I'm in love with. The search goes on....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alym702 on 11/28/2007 10:49:00 PM more reviews by alym702

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Went to the Creed counter to check out there fragrances and came across this one. My HG fragrance is Tom Fords Black Orchid, this is my second! Its soapy, spicy, zesty, clean, dirty, and fresh all at once! Upon first spray I thought this stunk! Ewww old fashion, old lady fragrance ewww...then after a minute or two, it changed...it become soapy, spicy, zesty, sexyyyy dirty and sharp, crisp, and clean all at once! It stayed in this "scent" range for a couple of hours, then it changes again. It becomes sensual, mellow, sharp, and crisp. Then it changes again! It becomes deep and light at the same time. This is a very primal, base scent. This is pure sex and lust in a bottle! The only reason this is not my "go to" fragrance everyday, is b/c its much too powerful! Wear with caution as it will stir strong emotions in all around you who smell it!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 faizanj on 4/3/2007 6:00:00 PM more reviews by faizanj

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Notes:

TOP:Cinnamon leaves, pink pepper
MIDDLE:Rose, cinnamon, bay leaf, coriander
BASE: Ambergris, Tonkin Musk

Even though Ambre Canelle (AC) isn't one of the more popular Creeds, I was intrigued by the name as well as the fact that it supposedly contains one of the highest quality ambergris notes in existence. Oh, and that its basically sex in a bottle.

AC has an immediate impact. It took me multiple wearings to decipher its opening accord. Its soapy yet spicy, spicy yet skanky, skanky yet sweet, and sweet yet soapy. It gets even more perplexing as the fragrance evolves - theres a certain amplitude to this accord, which is perhaps brought on by the use of jasmine in concert with the pungent bay leaf and spicy coriander. It is startling and intriguing at the same time, and a far cry from the usual citrus/lavender opening accords of the mass fragrances. This soapy/indole-laden/spicy accord lasts for an hour before drying down to a luscious and provocative ambergris and musk combo. The ambergris smells slightly sweet, deep and powerful; its in fine form here, and the quality of ingredients shows. This whale vomit is so good, you might want to bath in it. The sensual drydown stretches the longevity to almost 7 hours.

Ambre Canelle is an unusual and sensual offering from Creed. From its multifarious soapy/spicy/indolic first half to the ambergris-dominated pheromone-like drydown, its an arresting fragrance experience. It may not be for everyone, but once you are lured in by its composition and witness its bewitching effect on people around you, you may never want to go without a bottle in your collection

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TheresaDiMoan on 10/4/2006 2:49:00 PM more reviews by TheresaDiMoan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This smells like very old fashioned vinaigrette of a kept woman. Itís blunt and sexual. I think it has lots of ambergris, indole and spices. I find it similar to Montale's Chypre et Fruit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MellyHelly on 9/29/2006 7:10:00 PM more reviews by MellyHelly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I tested this a few days ago and as soon as I smelled it, I've been transported in my 14-years-old life when I was so attracted by smells and perfumes and know almost nothing about them. I found a small vial of a perfume in my aunt's closet in the south of Italy and it was called Amun by Muelens, the same of 4711 cologne.
It had a black card with Egyptian figures on it.
I was obsessed with that strange amber-coloured fragrance that wanted to smell exotic and Egyptian. Actually I think it was quite a cheap scent.
Back home with my vial I asked almost all perfume stores that I could reach if they had Amun, but nobody seemed to even know it!
I was sooo disappointed! It was so important for me, the scent of a mysterious powerful world and I couldn't believe that nobody knew about it!
I was young, unsecure, shy, but very lively.
I forgot about looking for Amun and had a new love with a strip of Shalimar perfumed paper in a magazine, the one with the exotic (Orthodox? Armenian? Russian?) lady with the black hat. A new dream.
This time they knew about Shalimar in perfume stores! I managed to have a small bottle that I still own and keep as a treasure.
After many years I went to visit my aunt again and passed by a small humble but nice beauty shop in teh small town and noticed a bottle of Amun in the window!
It was the EdT version in a cheap bottle in a golden box with a not-so-the-same drawing of the decoration that is really on Tut Ankh Amun throne in Il Cairo in Egypt. I immediately went inside the shop to buy that scent for a very low price and asked the lady inside where did she got it! She said that it was the last bottle of a discontinued fragrance they sold in Germany and she bought it while living there for a few years.
Smelling Amun after so many years was really funny! It was different than my memories of it, much watered down, with a distinct amber note and something else, a little incense and a masculine edge. I actually never known if it was meant for men or woman.
I still have that bottle! It's a cherished memory.
A few days ago I was in a high-end perfume store and almost without thinking I smelled the tester of Creed Ambre Cannelle: shock :-O AMUN!
It's Amun trasformed in a beautiful exotic warm oriental-woody-ambered scent! It's like a much much much more beautiful version of that little nice perfume I smelled when I was 14yo!
So weird, but nice :-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Olfactive on 9/25/2006 8:46:00 PM more reviews by Olfactive

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried Ambre Cannelle just recently -- after I learned that it was the favorite of Evita Peron! It's beautiful! Very warm, very much a cinnamon masterpiece (as "canelle" means "cinnamon"). This is so ideal for fall! I can hardly wait for cooler weather to come! It's just lush, deep, evocative. It takes me on a journey of style -- a luxe journey at that! I highly recommend Ambre Cannelle to anyone! Just try it, and you'll love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SavvyNose on 11/19/2005 5:59:00 AM more reviews by SavvyNose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love Ambre Cannelle from Creed! It's so soothing! I also have a sense-memory link with this scent as I brought it with me on a trip to Buenos Aires, so now whenever I wear it, I feel like I'm watching a polo match on the pampas. There is something so elegant and reassuring -- and I say reassuiring because it has a classic quality, a sense about it that its has been worn by those most tasteful of Creed clients as a treasured favorite year after year. There's also something frankly quite sexy about it. If you're trying to attract a certain someone to you, try this scent. It's tasteful sweet softness, its perfect construction, its delicious quality are all like a magnificent dessert created by a Cordon Bleu chef -- enticing, rich, perfect, inimitable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hermesrouge on 9/26/2005 6:01:00 PM more reviews by hermesrouge

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Thank goodness for samples! I adore both cinnamon and amber, and enjoyed several of Creed's other perfumes, so I thought this would be a signature scent...That it would be "The One" for me...Instead, at least with my chemistry, it has no recognizable cinnamon or amber notes at all. It is a dry, pungent odor that I cannot easily describe. It smells like some form of plastic...Remember the cheap toys you could get as a kid that you had to assemble from pieces that were still attached to the moulding frame? (You had to bend each piece back and forth until it broke off from the excess plastic frame?) Strange allusion, but that kind of plastic is exactly what it smells like on my skin. I would not recommend this scent for a man or a woman...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Creed products

More Fragrances products