MAC • Hue • Lipstick

rated 4.2(431 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 thenewjess on 1/24/2015 4:51:00 AM more reviews by thenewjess

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to love Mac Hue, but I just couldn't. Now that isn't all at the fault of this lipstick!!! Firstly, I am not the biggest fan of nudes in the first place. I think on me they make me look wrong, my colouring (quite yellowy toned) with a nude lip just makes me look sallow (even the "noobs" nude lip that some had dubbed Hue). Also because this is a Lustre finish it just settles into fine lines and gathers at the corners of my mouth. It also goes patchy and just disappears after less than an hour. Not a favourite and definitely would not repurchase, wish I had bought something like Velvet Teddy or Shy Girl :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 macjunkieee on 1/18/2015 1:28:00 PM more reviews by macjunkieee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I like this a lot, it is a very light nude, but it works well with my colors. Love the texture and I don't have anything bad to say about it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BLalee4 on 1/16/2015 9:56:00 AM more reviews by BLalee4

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this lipstick. It's my go to night time nude. It doesn't wash out the face and has a really nice texture.

I would recommend this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 eelinvictoria on 1/11/2015 10:02:00 AM more reviews by eelinvictoria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this lipstick. I use the word Like instead of Love because there are some cons to it, but over all I like it. Let's start with all the goods:

This lipstick has a beautiful color, I love the very nude leaning pink shade. On my NC20 skin it doesn't wash me out even if I wear only mascara on my eyes. But it's still very nude. And like all MAC lipsticks it has a wonderful smell and the packaging is sleek and feels high quality.

Now the formula is not as great. It's not awful, but this is the only lipstick in a Glaze finish that I own from MAC, and it's also the lipstick I like the least formula-wise. It's a no go for dry and flakey lips, even if you thought your lips were fine this lipstick might tell you otherwise. The lastingpower is also not the best.

I will definitly keep using this lipstick, but if I find a similar shade where the formula is better from MAC I won't be repurchasing this exact one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AnneSophieP on 11/13/2014 5:27:00 PM more reviews by AnneSophieP

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is my everyday lipstick! I'm NC20 and I think it really flatters my skin. You do need to have smoot lips because the lipstick tends to get in the little creases. Anyways, I'm really glad I purchased it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aenflex on 11/13/2014 8:50:00 AM more reviews by aenflex

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Love this soft pink cremesheen. The color and texture is fantastic, as expected. The product itself lasts forever. Perfect for my autumn/winter skin tone.

CONS:
Dries out my lips terribly.
Cannot be applied over lip moisturizer - must be applied to a dry lip.
Accentuates any flaking, dry spots or lip lines. Even on my freshly exfoliated lips.

Bummer because I really love it otherwise. But it looks like crap 20-30 mins after I put it on. Won't repurchase after tube #2.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dinosaurseatghosts on 10/2/2014 12:13:00 PM more reviews by dinosaurseatghosts

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Green    

Beautiful light pink color! I would liken it to creme cup but it's less blue based and a bit peachier. It's very comfortable to wear. :) it wears off easily but that's okay, it doesn't leave any tackiness on the lips like some lipsticks do and it's really comfortable to reapply. I rarely will give anything 5 stars but this lippie really deserves it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lucyjadebyrne on 6/30/2014 11:30:00 AM more reviews by lucyjadebyrne

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I dare to say that Hue is my favourite from MAC. It's a really great all round lipstick that can be worn with natural and more dramatic makeup looks. Everyone needs a good nude lipstick and I would totally recommend this one because it is not concealery looking and doesn't block out the natural colour of the lips. Hue is a very sheer colour because of its glaze finish and has a very nice glossy shine. Only negative thing I can say about this is lipstick is how quickly it wears off the lips, has to be touched up quite a few times throughout the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GlamourMagnet on 6/26/2014 5:06:00 PM more reviews by GlamourMagnet

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Absolutely LOVE this lipstick! It really is my favourite nude.
I am very pale (nw15) with naturally very pigmented lips! I've tried so many nudes in the past and end up looking so ghostly as they are so opaque!
A friend of mine was selling Hue as she knew it didn't suit her and received it as a present, and for $18AUD I couldn't really say no! Best decision I made!! It's sheer enough to not block out the entire colour of my lips but still gives me a gorgeous wash of nude. I love the glaze formula and reach for this nude every day! It's perfect for pale girls with pigmented lips who don't want the conceal lips effect from opaque nudes :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 5/30/2014 2:13:00 PM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

After looking for nude lippies, I found Hue. I think it's beautiful pink/nude color and I love the gloss. However, it does not last long and does not show almost any color on my pigmented lips - it feels like a very, very sheer lipstick. I think Japanese Maple is very similar to Hue, except more pigmented.
I think that $15 for a lipstick that lasts for about 5 minutes (for me) is not worthy. I think I will purchase Japanese Maple or Fleshpot instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products