LUSH • Daddyo shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.5(83 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 DanielleRosenaLouise on 1/24/2015 9:05:00 PM more reviews by DanielleRosenaLouise

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This product wrecked my hair. Seriously. My hair was damaged from bleaching before I used it, but it wasn't too bad. After a few washes, my hair was like straw! And that's with using a good conditioner and mask! The toning properties were terrible as well, they did nothing to counteract my yellowness.

I think this product would please someone who hasn't used many purple shampoos before, but I think I'll stick to higher end shampoos from now on. You can really tell the difference.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MrsHogg on 1/14/2015 5:12:00 AM more reviews by MrsHogg

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I would be devastated if this product was ever discontinued! I stopped dying my hair blonde a few years ago and let it all grow out to natural and this stuff just makes my hair shine :) I mean really shine. It brings out all the natural tones of the hair. I can see natural blonde streaks that I used to have when I was little. Makes my hair look really healthy and shiny and seems to keep the greasy feeling away. You only need a little bit as a little goes a long way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* renia22 on 12/20/2014 12:55:00 PM more reviews by renia22

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My hair is naturally medium/dark brown and I use Body Art Quality henna on it to tint the grays (I'm about 5%-10% gray). Body Art Quality Henna is potent stuff, darkening your hair with red tones, and the color you get depends on what color your hair is to start with. My hair, since it's brown, tends to go auburn, which does not look good on me, so I mix the henna with cassia for a more coppery, natural looking color. However, this can turn the grays a little too orange-y, so I've been looking at color shampoos to try to remedy this.

Daddy-o is probably the 4th color shampoo I gave tried. It's bright purple in color, and comes in 3 sizes. I bought the 3.3 ounce size, which costs about $10. It's runny, but easy enough to manage if you just dip your fingers into it after you pour it into the palm of the opposite hand. It spreads easily, and I do not have issues with lathering, but I do use a different shampoo on the first wash, so that helps. The directions don't say to leave it in, but I leave it in for about a minute. It rinses fine, and I use a conditioner from another company and my hair detangles easily, but this doesn't tangle my hair too much to begin with. After drying, my hair is soft and shiny, and the bright orange/ red tones are toned down a little to give me a pretty, shiny brown. The effect is very subtle.

I do like this shampoo very much. To me it smells like a spicy floral 80s shampoo, not exactly like violet. Maybe a hint of violet? I asked my husband and he says he does not smell violet, just "clean hair". The smell is strong, so I would recommend smelling it in the store before buying. I think it smells better than Clairol Shimmer Lights, and I don't get the shedding and tangling like I do from sulfate free ones, like Tressa Watercolors or Claypac. It's expensive, and if you decide to go with a bigger bottle or you don't think you will use it within 6 months or so, I would recommend keeping it in the fridge since Lush products tend to go rancid before the expiration dates, I have found. Overall, I really like this shampoo.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 darkside4 on 9/15/2014 10:32:00 AM more reviews by darkside4

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

An employee at Lush recommended me Daddy-O to tone down the brassiness in my blind hair. The packaging is pretty and it's nice they offer three size bottles. I found it ridiculously priced though. I'm sorry but $30 for a large bottle of shampoo is pretty steep for me. It does have a strong floral scent which I find refreshing. The first time I used it, my hair felt softer, silkier and the brassy tones were diminished. The only downfall is that I can only use it once every couple weeks. I have discovered that using it every other days made my hair coarse and dried out. Other than that, I do enjoy this Lush Shampoo but only in small moderations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MissNostalgia on 8/17/2014 12:11:00 AM more reviews by MissNostalgia

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

Sulphates.
Sulphates in the second and third position on the ingredients list. Sodium Alkyl Sulfate and Sodium Laureth Sulfate.

Parabens.
Both Methylparaben & Propylparaben. Bottom of the ingredients list.

No thanks.

I have an unnatural hair color, I use 'Ultrablue' by Stargazer, have done for years. Never has a shampoo stripped my color so fast!! My color life was shortened by about 3 weeks!

I feel sad really, its like everyone gets to be in love with Lush but me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Egordo9 on 7/21/2014 9:42:00 PM more reviews by Egordo9

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

After trying other brands of purple shampoo and them falling short, I stumbled on this Lush shampoo. They had a small bottle for only 10$ so I was happy to give this a try. I am not the biggest fan of Lush hair products as I have tried a couple and they have failed miserably.

This shampoo has a nauseating smell, a cross between flowers and old spice. Mixed together, terrible combination.

The shampoo did lather well but I didn't notice much in terms of the toning . To top off the repulsive smell, this shampoo made me break out unlike any time ever. There were pimples in my hair line and on my forehead. I will not be giving this shampoo a second chance. Stay away from this shampoo if you are acne prone or sensitive. Such a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sara_1987 on 7/21/2014 10:34:00 AM more reviews by Sara_1987

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is an ok shampoo - it cleans really well, maybe a bit too much. I use it more as a clarifying shampoo as it can be drying.

I'm not sure on the toning effects as I don't use it for that purpose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mscourty on 6/26/2014 3:30:00 AM more reviews by mscourty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Since I bleached my hair ~2 months ago this has been the shampoo I've used. I used to use trichomania solid shampoo, but this was far too harsh for my new treated hair.
I leave it in for about 3 minutes and then rinse it out. It definitely helps with the brassiness, especially when used alongside a toner and/or purple conditioner.
It's quite a runny liquid so it usually ends up all over my shower! I always make sure to rinse it off the shower walls before I get out because I don't want to stain the walls.
The smell isn't as nice as some of the other Lush shampoos in my opinion, but I'm willing to sacrifice the nicer smells for a product that helps my hair. If you're not sure, definitely go in store and have a sniff first because it's a pretty strong smell!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Luuuna on 5/25/2014 12:18:00 AM more reviews by Luuuna

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this shampoo for my highlighted hair(copper) to prevent it from being brassy. Apparently, you have to lather and leave the shampoo in your hair for about 3 to 5 minutes and rinse it to to ensure that the colour in your hair doesn't go brassy.

I have used for weeks and i don't see it doing anything to stop my hair from looking rusty but it does keep my hair clean. So i suppose this shampoo is just like any other shampoo;there's nothing special about it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dutchessnkiki on 1/5/2014 9:14:00 PM more reviews by dutchessnkiki

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased this shampoo after a Lush sales associate recommended this for my hair type. For reference I have colored my hair a medium blonde and my hair is med in thickness with natural wave. I don't mind the smell of this nor the price, I will spend extra money for hair products if they work. I got this in October and the bottle now is just under half full so it does last me a while however it has damaged my hair. I've had 2 haircuts since I started using this and in Nov. Had to have 1/2 an inch cut off from dry ends and when I just went to have another trim had to have a inch cut off. My hair dresser has been cutting my hair for yrs and was shocked with the condition of my hair. So I purchased some new shampoo and my hair already is looking better even my husband has mentioned it is looking better and not as dry. I'm sad this didn't work out for me as I am in love with Lush's body and bath products but the hair products just haven't worked out for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Shampoo products