Iman Cream to Powder

3.4

43 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Octyl Palmitate, Isohexyl Caprate, Nylon-12, Caprylic Capric Triglyceride, Polyethylene, Microcrystalline Wax, Kaolin, Zinc Oxide, Carnauba (Copernicia Cerifera) Wax, PPG-12 SMDI Copolymer, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopherol. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Ultramarines.


on 4/11/2013 3:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

So, I almost always research makeup that I'm considering purchasing beforehand,. just because I HATE to waste my money on anything, and sadly, I feel like that's what I did with this product.. I was actually in Target, in the makeup section, looking for something else. I picked up a brush I'd set out to buy, when my eyes fell upon this. I'd been looking for a creme foundation to replace my old one, taht i thought was discontinued, since I couldn't find it ANYWHERE, for months. (Zuri, Sorrel)..imagine my frustration,. So i was pleasantly surprised to see something ;like this, catered to women of color. It looked pretty, as well as promising, and I just picked up the one closest to my skin color, or so I thought. (NC45), The color I bought was Sand 4..I am more prone to creme foundations because I have lots of freckles and my skin is a reddish yellow, and I just like for something to even me out and mattify at the same time. I was super excited to try this, and I did so the following morning as I got ready..within two seconds of brushing it on with my foundation brush, my face turned red, and I realized I was having an allergic reaction. I'm clearly delusional, because I was gonna wear it anyways..but it was already hard for me to blend in smoothly..it felt hard and like I could hardly get any out of the compact, I decided it was a goner for me. I would have taken it back, but target has a no-return for opened cosmetics, so i was stuck with a $16 compact that I could do nothing with. I gave it to my mother, who is a few shades deeper, and it looks good on her, and she receives plenty of compliments. It just didn't live up to my expectations. :( A few days after, I was SO excited to find my original foundation, though, so I guess I'm not too upset. :)



on 2/10/2013 8:14:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After much thought, I have recently concluded that I am disappointed in this product. I do think that Iman has done a great job with the various shades, and Sand 5 works beautifully for me and my undertones, IF I can get it to go on. For the life of me I cannot figure out how people are saying that it applies easily and smoothly. Maybe others of us have gotten a few of the "rock-like" ones that are out there. That's the one thing that I least like about this product is the formulation. It is extremely hard to apply, IMO. It is not smooth enough and requires a bit of tugging on the skin. It comes with a sponge but I don't like using it as it tends to make for an uneven application. I much prefer using my MAC 130 brush for cream foundations but because this foundation is not creamy, it's hard to get it on the brush. If this foundation had the consistency of MAC Studio Tech I'd be a happy camper.


on 10/3/2012 8:28:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My Shade: Earth 5
Price: $16
Coverage: Full
Finish: Dry
Color: True To Color
Season: Winter
Application: Apply With The Sponge it Comes With For A More Full Coverage. A Dense Flat Top Brush Can Be Used Too (Sonia Kashuk)
Overall: A Pretty Good Foundation...It Does Transfer A Lot Though. Make Sure You Get The Right Color Though Or It Won't Look As Good. I Should Probably Get The Earth 4 Next Time


on 8/14/2012 1:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this product. It is very similar to the MAC Studio Tech but not as thick. It gives me a flawless finish once i set it with my Mineralize Skin Finish from Mac.
Alot of the reviews says this product is hard to blend but i have not experienced that. I moisturize my face and use a damp foundation brush and the foundation glides smoothly over my face.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

First off, I'm a very big fan of the Iman foundations. They are all made very well, they go on smooth and are not greasy. They each also offer very good coverage.

This one is also really a good, versatile foundation.

It goes on smoothly and you can apply it for either light or full coverage. It comes with a sponge or you can apply with your fingers. What I like so much about this foundation is that even though it offers matte coverage, it is good for use in warm weather -- which is a definite plus. I used to only use matte foundations in cold weather. But this one is great in warmer weather, to use as a spot foundation where you need it, and then just powder it down for a nice even look.

Another GREAT foundation for women of color. It's definitely worth the money, and worth a try.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So I decided to give this foundation another try because when I purchased this foundation years ago I found out that the store I bought it from had a history of selling old/expired cosmetics. So I picked it up at the store last week in the color earth 2 and I really really like it..first I can tell it wasn't old & expired like the one before, and last time I used the sponge that came in the pack ,, this time I applied my foundation with the real techniques foundation brush and I LOVE it! Flawless look and the color matches me perfect! It lasted all day and gave me a matte not flat look, I'm a oily girl and even without a primer I had no shine......this is defiantly a HG foundation for me...oh and it does not give a cakey look. Nice even flawless powder finish,,so if you get this apply it with a brush and toss that sponge that comes with it away..


on 3/11/2012 11:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

OVER ALL THIS PRODUCT IS NO GOOD... ESPECIALLY FOR ALL DAY WEAR...

I purchased this product about 3 weeks ago.

>>> POSITIVES

-matched my skin perfectly (Clay 2) in the store as well as when I brought it home, so the whole "store-light-deception" thing was not a factor here.

-great coverage, completely removes visibility of any blemishes without a concealer.

>>>NEGATIVES

-color changes throughout the day, typically within two hours

-product sits on the skin like mud, so it can have a very sticky feel throughout the day

-transfers on to clothes, people, and anything else your face may touch

-make-up clumps on skin especially between area's where your face bends on moves - example: places where your face crease when you smile, laugh, squint, or make other expressions

-extremely hard to thoroughly wash off skin

___________________________________________________


I used a sponge to apply this make up, I do wonder if applying it with the fingers or a brush would make for a more secure application.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Brown

So this in Earth 3 is my go-to foundation in winter. I'm around the color of a Hershey bar. Of all the Iman foundations, the cream to powder is the only one that doesn't go too yellow or too red on me after hours of wear. (Haven't tried the stick) Applied with a good powder brush (NOT the sponge that comes with it), I get the nice light coverage I'm looking for, but it can easily be built up to 'full face'. It transfers annoyingly and doesn't last quite all day. Can get a little greasy if your skin is oily. I do need to blot the t-zone during the day, but I don't use primer or any oil-correcting products. There's not that much in the package, but it's not that expensive either. Still, looks more natural and true to skin than any other foundation I've used -in pictures and in life.
Foundation for brown-skinned women is hard to finagle, so I recommend it - def worth a try.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2011 12:42:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I DO NOT LIKE THIS FOUNDATION AT ALL!

Dream Matte Mousse was my first ever foundation. However, I didn't like the way they only had one shade for darker skin tones, so I did my research and stumbled across IMAN. This company is said to be catered to ethnic skin tones. I went to the IMAN beauty counter and got the sales woman to find my skin tone. In store the colour the saleswoman matched me to suited well (Earth 2) but once I got home and started wearing it on special occasions etc. I noticed that in group photos I looked ashy/grey.

I've had this product for quite a while now. It certainly isn't worth the amount I paid for it. I don't like the way this product feels or looks on my skin. I definitely wont be purchasing this product again.


on 7/18/2011 6:07:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Dark, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i really like this makeup! i decided to try this after hearing a lot of raves about it on youtube...im so glad i did!!!

* the shade clay 5 is perfect for my medium brown skin tone- i was amazed. im so picky about foundation and its usually really hard to find a shade that suits my skin tone perfectly. this one does!
* great coverage- no concealer needed. this alone conceals my dark spots very well.
* color stays the same all day
* makes my complexion look really smooth
* doesnt feel heavy

( i will change my rating to 5 lippies once i determine whether or not it breaks me out. will update in a few weeks)

UPDATE:
im still loving this makeup. it does NOT break me out-yay! i do have to set this with an oil controlling powder otherwise i get very greasy.
TIP:
once you know which shade you need,buy this at walmart. its over $3.00 cheaper than other stores


Back to Top