L'Oreal • Colour Riche Lipstick in British Red • Lipstick

rated 4.3(47 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 lilmissmay on 7/16/2014 3:15:00 PM more reviews by lilmissmay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

This lipstick both surprised me, and disappointed me. I got it on sale for $6.99 at shoppers drugmart, so the price was very reasonable. This lipstick goes on nice, but it needs to be applied a few times to get that bold, red lip. It is smooth, hydrating, and keeps my lips soft all day. However, I absolutely can not stand the smell of this lipstick. You know when you were a little girl and you use to play with your moms makeup and it all had that really strong, floral scent? Well this lipstick is just like that, and if you're eating and happen to get a little bit on your food, that's all you can taste. If it weren't for the smell this lipstick would be perfect, but if you take a wiff at the store and cant get past the smell, don't buy it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dgast4484 on 5/7/2014 10:24:00 AM more reviews by Dgast4484

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

awesome shade! i always get compliments

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jadefly on 4/20/2014 8:42:00 PM more reviews by jadefly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is a beautiful, highly pigmented, classy yet glamorous, true red. It glides on smoothly and brightens my typically dull, light-medium Southeast Asian complexion so that I look like I'm light, golden, and glowing! If I didn't prefer "natural and pretty," I'd definitely wear this more frequently than just on special occasions. I'll use this until it expires, but as "glamour" just isn't my style, I might very well stray when I need another lipstick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lips2397 on 7/5/2013 5:22:00 PM more reviews by lips2397

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Nice inexpensive bright red lipstick.It has a satin finish.Only complaint is that I don't care for the scent(a perfumey floral scent...meh)would buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rainnkenyon on 5/2/2013 11:39:00 PM more reviews by rainnkenyon

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

British Red is really pretty. It has a satin feel and look, and a color that looks good on many skin tones. I found this on clearance combined with a red lip liner, and had a coupon, so I got it for .14 cents. Actually, I got five sets, each for .14 cents, and I gave a few away. I might not have tried this color otherwise. Now I rely on it for retro looks. The liner is nice as well. I don't mind the scent. It seems grown up, not girly. The only reason I wouldn't repurchase is I have three tubes, and I can't imagine going through them all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* countrygyrl on 2/17/2013 3:50:00 PM more reviews by countrygyrl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

On my never ending quest for the perfect red I picked this up for $8.00. I am cheap so this was a pretty hefty splurge for me but I am really loving this lipstick. First, it applies so nice.Its very light, smooth and buttery feeling. At first I thought it was a bit sheer but a few swipes gives rich color and it seems the more I use it the better the color saturation. Second, it sets to a satin finish that never feels dry or heavy and it stays put fairly well. I do apply a fairly heavy amount straight from the tube in the morning and fix it with a lip brush. I do blot then reapply with this one as it feels very light. I don't have an issue with bleeding or smearing to bad although I do have to touch this one up a few times a day because it does fade but it never dissapears. Third, the color is just so flattering. Its red but not really red - red. It has a coral undertone but I don't consider it coral or coral/red its still red. Its bright but not over the top and is very face brightening. I really like British red and have been wearing it alot. I think I may like it better than my trueer red reds. I wish it would end my quest but its still not quite perfect. If this shade had more of Covergirls lip perfection's ( in Hot ) staying abilities it would be a slam dunk winner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nanihoney23 on 12/19/2012 10:00:00 PM more reviews by nanihoney23

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ive been looking for a good red lipstick and I have found it. Its a gorgeous color, very bold. It goes well with my skintone (nc42) and I didn't find it drying at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 msfrost on 8/18/2012 7:42:00 PM more reviews by msfrost

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a lovely red. It's bright, it has some orangey tones that make it warm, and you can build up the color. Perfect for a flawless skin pin up look, or a fierce nighttime look with bold eyeliner.

The finish is just the tiniest bit glossy, good to wear on its own, and good if you want to amp up the fierceness with more gloss. I can see how this would look good on both fair and dark-skinned girls, especially if they have warm undertones. Brunettes with fair skin would look AMAZING with this, a subtle brown smokey eye, and loose curls. Oh my!

ANYWAY. It has a very makeup-y scent. I don't mind it, but I understand how it might put off some people. Some people say that this has a very nasty taste too, but I have never ever noticed that in any of the Colour Riche lipsticks. *shrugs*

The texture is creamy and light. It is a liiiiiittle bit sticky, but it's all right. The packaging is cute, it doesn't feel very luxurious (dare I say it feels a bit cheap plasticky to the touch?), but for the price, I'll take it gladly. I like the fact that it snaps close and it won't randomly open inside your makeup bag.

Lasting power is all right, it won't last through a meal, but it won't disappear completely. It does leave a red hue on your lips, almost like a soft stain. Again, I don't mind this because I just apply more red, but some people may not like this. Oh, and this has the tendency to rub off on my teeth. I have to be really careful, as it's such a bright color!

All in all, there are better lipsticks out there, but for the price, this one's awesome. And the color is lovely (I just can't get over it!) I wouldn't have a problem repurchasing, or even getting different shades just for fun. :) I recommend this is you want a reliable, bold lipstick that has a good texture and finish, and you don't want to break the bank.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ninanina on 5/5/2012 9:12:00 PM more reviews by ninanina

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Perfection red if you are blonde, blue eyed and have a slight tan or self tan...this will make you look pulled together, less tired and ready to go. There is nothing bright about this l/s unless you glob it on, don't do that, it's not a good look no matter what. I'm taking a lippie off due to the fact that I hate the smell and taste of L'Oreal lippie's, I throw this on though in a pinch. Worth having in your bag to look sophisticated without looking overly made up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smootha on 4/19/2012 2:42:00 AM more reviews by smootha

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I saw this advertised as an editors favorite and once I got it I could see why. It is the classic go to red. It is a gorgeous shade that is intense, but not really dark. It just has a rich classic feel and is very flattering. The lipstick is soft and hydrating for a matte. Doesn't come off easily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Lipstick products