Oxy • Oxy 5 • Treatments

rated 3.9(37 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 xsharmine on 5/21/2013 6:58:00 AM more reviews by xsharmine

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my one and only HG product!!! I love it so much. It helps me dry out my pimple. I've been using this for about 2 years now & I'm not switching to the BP 10% because I think my skin is getting immune to this. However sometimes it helps dry out my skin BUT also leaves a scar which is really annoying.... So yup I do love this product but sometimes it doesn't work on huge pimples & it leaves scars occasionally

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lxbrittin21 on 4/1/2013 3:38:00 PM more reviews by lxbrittin21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This doesn't work for me but works for my brothers. On the other hand, Neutrogena on the spot works like a gem for me. The difference is startling. I know this shouldnt be a review about Neutrogena on the spot, but I would like to talk abt BP in general so you get what I'm trying to say. As most of you probably know, neutrogena on the spot contains 2.5% BP vs 5% BP in oxy 5, but it's not like oxy 5 dries me out or anything. It simply does nothing to my pimples, and ive continued using it till i finished the entire tube so i think its a pretty accurate gauge. when i made the switch to on-the-spot, my old as well as new acne just disappeared or got smaller overnight. it also worked in preventing new ones from cropping up. Therefore, I would suggest anyone who finds that oxy 5 does not work to try neutrogena on the spot, and vice versa, rather than just give up on BP altogether. Like I said, the difference in effectiveness is startling!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ravishingx3 on 2/1/2013 6:26:00 AM more reviews by Ravishingx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love the Oxy 5% BP treatment. Use it nightly :) Have repurchased over 4-5x. In canada it costs $10+ for the little tube but alas it is worth it! It has cleared up my skin unlike anything else and I have access to high end acne products... but this one stands out over many things available @ high end makeup stores.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 naddy14 on 1/26/2013 3:12:00 PM more reviews by naddy14

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used to try oxy once few years back and think it didnt work for me. Then about some time ago, I watched a youtube video from gossmakeupartist about this acne curing which i have to apply lots of benzoyl peroxide on my acne. It's quite drying, i have to moisturize, But this actually works for me! Im sticking to oxy for bp cream. :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mimikeh on 10/4/2012 12:18:00 PM more reviews by mimikeh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Though in the initial stages, there was a lot of dryness and sensitivity, this is definitely a product that I will never stop buying. To simplify:
Pros: Does what it says, "kills" moderately-sized acne and dramatically reduces swelling on monster acnes overnight.
Cons: A tad drying if you use it on the same spot consecutively but that's nothing an extra strong moisturiser won't fix. (my spot-treatment regimen with Oxy and Cetaphil is just beautiful; my face has never been better)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Memoriesin on 9/6/2012 10:35:00 AM more reviews by Memoriesin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've been using this for over half a year. What I would comment about this is it helps in acne, but will not clear them all overnight. Afterall, this is a cheap product, the benzoyl peroxide grind is thick and is therefore harder to penetrate into the skin. It is more like forming a barrier on top of your acne to prevent further infection. If you want to get the best out of this product, I recommend you to exfoliate your skin before applying it onto your spots, this way, the benzoyl peroxide can penetrate better.

Comparison : As compared to neutrogena on the spot acne treatment that is 2.5% BP, Oxy 5 is alot stronger but it does almost the same job as the neutrogena BP but slightly lesser. Neutrogena BP gives you that overnight cure effect on your acne but the product possess alot of chemicals which are pore clogging. Therefore you may find that it cures your existing acne but overtime, there will be new acne popping up due to the product. Oxy 5 has lesser chemicals, but is not as effective as the neutrogena's BP due to the BP grind size, but you will find that it is suitable for a long term usage on your acne without causing more breakouts due to clogged pores from unnecessary chemicals.

Method: I do not recommend people applying oxy 5 in large quantity all over your face. Apply it as spot treatments only directly on spots and blend it, this is to prevent your skin from losing its natural barrier against bacteria. Using BP in large quantity all over your face will cause your skin to get used to the BP and loses its own natural barrier against bacteria and you will find it very hard to get over the BP next time as your acne will keep hitting back whenever you try to cut down on the BP.

Conclusion: good product for daily treatment of acne, not very effective, may leave a white mark on skin, recommend to use it at night before sleep.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tweetytweet on 8/6/2012 10:25:00 PM more reviews by tweetytweet

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Silver, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have extremely sensitive skin and while this product did seem to lessen my acne, my skin was left feeling burnt, sore and raw, and even after only one use my skin peels like crazy! But like i said, my skin is extremely sensitive and so irritable! My sister also uses this and her skin is sensitive but not as bad as mine, and it works amazing for her! I'd suggest buying this if your skin is normal and not overly irritable! It has worked wonders on my sister, it's just a shame it didn't work for me though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chynnadoll21 on 4/2/2012 8:37:00 AM more reviews by chynnadoll21

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Black    

When retinaldehydes irritated my skin, salicylic spot treatment did jack sh*t, I turned to old time friend Oxy fondly remembered in high school. Everyone I know has used this at least once in their life! I'm surprised at the low number of ratings!! Benzoyl peroxide 5%. Does what it's meant to do (albeit drying , as BP is) dried out my smaller spots overnight and I'm giving it another 2-3 days to work on the bigger ones. I wouldn't use as a daily all over treatment due to its oxidizing nature but great for spot treatments.

Update : I've found that the timing I use this makes a difference. Sometimes if the zit is just starting, it helps it go away, other times, if the pus us already starting to form, using this will reduce the inflammation but leaves a bump under the skin which takes months to clear. I've found that it is sometimes better to let the zit run it course and allow the head to come out then to prevent the inflammation. However, after a zit pops, using this in the surrounding areas and on the spot will help prevent further breakouts or the same spot recurring.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HT2006 on 7/30/2011 10:04:00 AM more reviews by HT2006

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I have used Oxy 5 ever since 10th grade. In the 9th grade my face was full of acne for about a year and my Aunt recommended me to Oxy 5. I tried this for about 3 weeks and my face has never been clearer. I have used this product for about 7 years and it has kept my face clear of pimples. I would definatley recommend thsi product for oily skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JessRapa18 on 5/23/2011 8:47:00 AM more reviews by JessRapa18

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Oxy 5 gets rid of my pimples a lot faster then other products I have tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Oxy products

More Treatments products