Kiehl's • Lip Balm SPF 15 • Lips

rated 3.3(35 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 mianga on 4/6/2012 11:51:00 AM more reviews by mianga

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

A very functional ointment-style lip balm, with the consistency of Carmex. Doesn't have any strong fragrance, though it is slightly medicinal. I don't mind it. Not phenomenal, but not at all bad. I like to use it on dry patches of skin when a moisturizer isn't going to be enough (especially when I'm out and don't have the resources I would have at home). I also (this is kind of odd, maybe) put it up my nose when the weather is really dry, to prevent nose bleeds and that itchy, dry feeling. I do the same with Carmex.

If I hadn't gotten a good deal on it, I would not think it was worth the cost.

Better to go with Elizabeth Arden 8 hour skin protectant. Really similar consistency but it smells great (like grapefruit, though it also comes in a fragrance-free version), and has much stronger moisturizing/treatment properties.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thiebautrenata on 2/15/2012 5:10:00 AM more reviews by thiebautrenata

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It's ok, but not a wow product.
It tastes and smell bad, it's very expensive. I'm looking for something else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 wmhfnrzu on 12/30/2011 3:28:00 AM more reviews by wmhfnrzu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is pretty expensive for a lipbalm. I paid $12 for it in Singapore and I don't think it does a better job than my vaseline (which is probably $5 for a huge pot which lasts forever). In fact, I think it does a pretty awful job considering it doesn't moisturize at all because my lips tend to still be chapped after hours of having this on. It also has this nauseating smell that always makes me hold me breath when I put it on. And can't put it on after my lipstick because the colour goes right into the tube which y'know, is pretty gross the next time you use it. So no, I wouldn't repurchase nor recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* samuellewis on 11/24/2011 3:25:00 AM more reviews by samuellewis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Expensive vaseline tbh. I've tried many lip products and this is basically vaseline with spf in it, it smells like vaseline, tastes like it and sits like it on your lips. mac lip conditioner is the same price and has much more beneficial ingredients and has a much much nicer smell and much better packaging

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 xxsimplysweetxxx on 9/13/2010 10:15:00 PM more reviews by xxsimplysweetxxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

So disappointed. I have heard such great things about Kiehls lip products. This one was very drying. My lips cracked more after using it. The smell was unpleasant. I much prefer using Chapstick after wasting money on this lip balm. A part of me thinks it may have been the SPF in the product...maybe one day I'll try one without sunscreen in it. For now, I'll stick with Chapstick Original, Burt's Bees, or Blistex. They do the job just fine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ivyn on 8/3/2009 10:33:00 AM more reviews by ivyn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I had been using the standard Lip balm #1 in tub form for the past 9 months. As we are now in summer, so I had switched to this version with SPF 15. The result of this is nothing compares to the standard form. The hydrating effect does not last long, hence I often had to re-apply more than usual.

I do admit the tube form is much more hygienic but when compares to the effectiveness, I could stick with the original form instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chessablue on 12/22/2008 7:40:00 AM more reviews by chessablue

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I received a few of these as gifts. Nice, effective but nothing special. I don't like having to apply with my finger thanks to the sharp edges and honestly just prefer Nivea's twist stick lip balm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sandyroy01 on 7/29/2008 12:55:00 PM more reviews by sandyroy01

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i switched to this because i hated the packaging of lip balm #1. this is the same great product, with spf and a lip applicator. it's a bit on the expensive side.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SiouxCat on 4/14/2008 3:05:00 PM more reviews by SiouxCat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HQ lip balm with spf! I use Aquaphor or plain vaseline at night to keep my chronically chapped lips smooth, but had yet to find an equivalent for daytime that has spf. The consistency of vasline works great to absorb into my lips & leave them hydrated & flake-free but not sticky, so I was pleased that this stuff feels a lot like Aquaphor/vaseline.
The spf for day was exactly what I needed to finally banish my chapped lips. It absorbs fast enough to wear lipstick over it and applies well over my lip color to keep my lips nice all day. A little goes a long way, and I find the price reasonable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Nesdem on 4/5/2008 4:24:00 PM more reviews by Nesdem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this lip balm after buying the #1 last year. Both of the products are very expensive (about 20.- Sfr!) here in Switzerland (their only swiss store is in Zurich) I read so much about them in magazines and knew it s a very popular brand, so i just had to try them.
I have to say they protect my lips very well but i don t like the smell at all! it s really not nice, i tried to not let me bother, but i think i ll get a better lip balm that does the same, but with a better taste. I m not sure if I ll repurchase, probably not.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kiehl's products

More Lips products