Comptoir Sud Pacifique • Coeur de Vahine • Fragrances

rated 3.1(38 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lepin on 9/30/2008 1:04:00 PM more reviews by Lepin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Sorry ladies, this is gawd awful! Smells like a bowl of jolly rancher candy and some otherworldly medicinal odor. No matter how many times I test this I end up with that faint morning sickness feeling in my solar plexus. I have tried many CSP scents and this agrees with me the least. I would recommend this fragrance line to someone who is under 25, lives in a warm climate or on the beach. The only redeeming feature this and most CSP scents have going for them is they have nil staying power. There is a G-d. Not for the urbane sophisticate.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* annabellegan on 9/30/2008 8:59:00 AM more reviews by annabellegan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Pink cotton candy. Summers on the boardwalk. Sitting on the swing flying back and forth. Riding pillion with a childhood sweetheart on his hardy bicycle. Kite flying high in the sky. The first bouquet of flowers presented to a blushing lass. The endearing awkwardness of a teenage infatuation. Heartfelt laughter while frolicking in the sun. Coeur de Vahine is reminiscent of girlish memories and halcyon days of giddy puppy love. For me, it just smacks of something I can never have again...lost youth. Mouth-wateringly pleasant enough, but a tad too juvenile for my age.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dani on 4/19/2008 10:34:00 AM more reviews by Dani

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Fragrance description from CSP website:


Top notes: Bergamot, Orange, Peach, Passion fruit.

Heart note : Cinnamon, Rose, Jasmine, Opuhi flower from Tahiti.

Base note : Sandalwood, Vanilla, Musk.


I received a sample of this from Sephora years ago. I instantly fell in love with it. It's a sweet, fresh and juicy scent, perfect for spring and summer. But I never purchased because it faded away so fast.


A few days ago, I went to a huge department store in Paris, and walked by a big CSP counter. I tried Coeur de Vahine again, and was reminded of how much I loved it. The SA explained to me that French perfumes sold in France are made with potato alcohol, rather than grain alcohol (like in the U.S.). So the scent is truer and lasts longer.


I have no idea if what the SA said was true or made sense, but she convinced me, lol. I ended up buying the 100ml (3.3 fl oz) bottle for €56 ($85).


I've only worn it for a couple of days, and it does seem to last pretty well on me. I can smell it on myself for 5 - 6 hrs. And it lasts until evening if I reapply once during the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dictatorprincess on 6/28/2007 5:25:00 AM more reviews by dictatorprincess

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Very nice summer perfume, something you would want to wear to the beach. Sweet with a little tinge of sharpness. However it has zero staying power on me. I still would buy it again because I like how it smells for the hour I can smell it, and also because it is dirt cheap (in Swiss prices anyway). I smell Tiaré but not a lot of jasmine...there is that fruit punch smell that is so "in" right now with teenagers, but I can get away with this because it is complex and well made for its price (I think I paid thirty francs for it, buying one SL would buy me four or five of these). I personally love having this because it is so cheap I don't mind loading it on. Smells more expensive than it is.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetestpea80 on 3/12/2007 11:10:00 PM more reviews by sweetestpea80

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This has a note in it that I have come to realize I don't like in any fragrance, Jasmine. But if you love Jasmine, this would probably be a good one to try. I will keep and apply sparingly only because I think I have to have every single Comptoir scent made.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SensualSusanna on 11/5/2006 2:59:00 PM more reviews by SensualSusanna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have to admit, Coeur de Vanhine had staying power. But I don't think I really wanted it staying around too long. It smelled very kiddy colognish. Something that you would find in a Disney fragrance for kids. Not terrible, but tolerable. Expensive kid cologne fragrance. Nothing that I want to smell like.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AbsoluteScentualist on 10/28/2006 11:35:00 PM more reviews by AbsoluteScentualist

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

My first impression after spraying on Coeur de Vahine was eating sweet tarts as a child. A sunny burst of peach, passion fruit and orange followed by vanilla, musk and a slight floral undertone. But it is the zing of the fruits I notice most, and it is a sparkling composition that is as sweet as candy and as bubbly as soda.

I never smelled it's previous incarnation, but ignorance is bliss in this case, as CDV is brilliantly simple and effervescent with pretty fair lasting power. Not an especially sophisticated scent but one that always lifts my spirits when I wear it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 7/17/2006 6:45:00 PM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I loved this sunny-fruity blend back when it was called "Les Enfants du Soleil".
It has slightly been tweaked and is more peach-mangoey than before. I love the floral manoi-influenced Tahitian goodness of Couer de Vahine. This summer, I am really into it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ivirginia on 7/14/2006 11:23:00 PM more reviews by Ivirginia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I just paid $5 for this today at Sephora--what a steal!!! I smell sparkling sweetness mixed with fruits and a bit of bubble gum accord- VERY NICE and fresh for the summer!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Maximina on 4/23/2006 8:55:00 PM more reviews by Maximina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

"A sparkling and joyful fragrance with peach and passion fruit, enlivened by orange. Blended with jasmine, rose and opuhi flower from Tahiit on a mellow background of vanilla and musk. Top notes of Orange, Bergamot, Peach and Passion Fruit. Mid notes of Cinnamon, Rose/Jasmine and Opuhi flower from Tahiti. Base notes of Sandalwood, Vanilla and Musk.
Gorgeous, fruity, simple, orangey, berry-ish, candy thing that is perfect for summer though a tad too sweet for my liking. Nice and fun and destined to be loved by the younger set (if only they knew about it!).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Comptoir Sud Pacifique products

More Fragrances products