Annabelle SkinTrue Natural Lightweight Makeup

3.4

80 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua/Water, Cyclomethicone, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Titanium Dioxide, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Aluminium Starch Octenylsuccinate, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Cera Alba, Glycerin, Polyethylene, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Tocopheryl Acetate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Retinyl Palmitate, Butylene Glycol, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract, Chamomilla Recutita, Quaternium-18 Bentonite, Sodium Chloride, Xanthan Gum, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Buthylparaben, Propylparaben, Isobutylparaben. May contain: CI 77489, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499, Talc, CI 77007


on 2/24/2015 10:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

After using this for a good 4ish months, I do believe this is one my favourite foundations!

Colour: I use the shade "Natural Ivory" which is an okay match for my fair, yellow toned skin. It is too dark for me (very rare for me to find a drugstore foundation match, so not complaining too much), so if you are the fairest of the fair, I don't think this will work for you. It has warm undertones but I feel like it could be a bit more yellow.

Coverage: I would consider this a buildable medium coverage foundation. I have a lot of redness in my skin and this does a good job of neutralizing it. Although this helps a bit with dark circles, I still find I need to use a concealer. It does a nice job of covering blemishes.

Finish and wear: This is kind of right in the middle - not dewy, not matte. Just natural. This has a really nice finish on my (currently) slightly dry winter skin, however it can cling to dry patches - so if your skin is dry, definitely moisturize before applying. And if you have sensitive skin like me that doesn't like scrubs, you can remove flaky patches by wetting a soft washcloth with tepid water and gently rubbing your face with it. I have no problems with it rubbing off or seperating on my face and it lasts all day. That could change in the summer though.

Application: I find the best way to apply this is with a damp sponge. I use the Real Techniques one, which I love. Fingers or brush work too, but sponge gives me the best results.

Price and availablity: This was under $10, maybe $8? at Walmart in Ontario, Canada. I love that I can buy it locally. You can get it at Shoppers as well but it will be more expensive.

Sensitivity, breakouts and ingredients: This didn't cause any breakouts or irritation in my skin! Huge relief. My skin is super sensitive. This is fragrance free and from my limited knowledge doesn't contain any other ingredients known to commonly irritate skin. In the ingredients list, there is a lovely mix of antioxidants. Whether it contains enough to make any difference to your skin or not, I don't know, but it certainly can't hurt! I store it away from light to protect them just in case.

Overall, I reeeally like this foundation. If it came in a lighter shade, it would probably be my HG. It's still the best foundation I've found so far though, and you can't beat the price! Also, Annabelle does not test on animals (a requirement!) :)



on 2/15/2015 2:39:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have been looking for an acceptable drugstore foundation for quite awhile. It's difficult with so many products to choose from. I have tried several foundations from the drugstore and have found them to be either too heavy or having very short wear time. Im a teenage girl with very clear skin minus the odd pimple every now and then. However I wanted a foundation to help colour correct redness and other minimal flaws. I have found too many foundations to be mask like and have caked up and clogged up my skin. While walking through my local target, I eyed the annabelle display and decided to check it out. I have bought products from annabelle before and am generally very pleased with the quality of their products. This foundation is thick, but does not very heavy and has a medium coverage (which is buildable!). It also colour matches beautifully to my NW 20 skin and does not accentuate dry areas. I get a natural look with a slight dewy finish and I love it for an everyday school look! Best of all it is under $10 so I don't have to splurge $50 at Sephora any more. Overall I am very pleased and will fix my rating if I find any problems with it.


on 1/4/2015 11:03:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVED this foundation! Ive tried so many different types and brands of foundation but this is one that I always go back to. The only reason I don't/can't really use it that much is because I live in the United States. My aunt used to send this to me but she no longer lives in Canada so I've run out completely. It is medium coverage but its buildable, it is very gentle and does not agitate breakout prone skin, with a good consistency and a regular foundation smell. For me it covers everything I need and it looks really good on too. I remember going to sephora to find a new foundation while wearing skin true and the lady swatching me told me that the foundation I already had on was really good and asked me why I was looking for a new one. I told her how I live in the wrong country, but I am seriously considering ordering it online, even if the shipping and taxes will cost more than the product itself. I am a bit iffy because I see they changed the packaging and read reviews on how they changed to formula too, so for now I'm only going to order one online, but from my past experience this product is the only drugstore foundation that is better than most high end foundations.


on 6/22/2014 11:06:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the only foundation ive been using for about 2 years.
I really hate the heavy feel of makeup and this one is truly lightweight.
It gives a medium coverage and blends well.

I usually use this with almays luminous primer and hard candys glamoflage concealer.

Its a great price which is usually around 11$ at Shoppers drugmart and it lasts me quite a while.


on 12/28/2013 8:49:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This foundation (is it an actual foundation? or more of a tinted moisturizer?) is actually quite sheer, and doesn't cover things like freckles, but does a fairly good job of covering redness. I have the lightest shade (i think) and it is a bit yellow, but then again I'm quite pale with pink undertones, rather than yellow. However it won't make you look like a lemon. It's not THAT bad! xD

The problems I have with this product is that is catches all those little fuzzy hairs on your face. And, it cakes around dry areas, like on the sides of your nose (that is, if the sides of your nose are dry. mine are.) And also, if you were to run your hand along your face, it like, cakes and rolls into little bits and pieces! So it looks chunky then.

It dries really matte, and is quite soft when you touch it, almost powdery. However, until it reaches that powder stage, it's sticky as heck to apply. It basically pulls my face as I'm applying it with my brush.

The packaging is fine, too!

I believe I got this for about $7.50 (on sale) which seems like a fair price.

Overall, it's an OK product if you don't want to pay much. I don't love it, but I don't hate it either. Because of the colour and dry-spot issues, I wouldn't repurchase.

If any of you are like me and are CRUELTY-FREE (AKA: boycotting all companies that test on animals) this is a good pick, because Annabelle (affiliated with Marcelle) does not test on animals. :D Hurrah!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/4/2013 11:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have been using this foundation for several months actually. . I get break outs on and off terribly.. Not until now did i notice when I wear my foundation every day for a few days thats when I break out.

If i dont use it then I dont break out.. Easy as that. I love the coverage this foundation gives. However have any of you looked at what is actually inside this product? It is disgusting. I decided today to take a look to see if maybe my skin is reacting to something in the makeup. After reading what this bottle of makeup is made of it has turned me off from ever touching Annabelle products again..

Talc (Similiar to asbestos), Parabens ( Several different types ), Sodium Lauryl Sulfate ( Used in floor cleaners...), Mineral Oil ( Used to produce gasoline), Phthalates (Used as a plastic softener for toys), Propyln Gylcol (Used in anti freeze), Polymethyl Methacrylate ( Arcrylic Glass)..

These are just a FEW ingredients listed in this foundation... Just wanted to share with you all.


on 4/9/2013 8:52:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I am not a fan of matte foundations but this one I really like. I love the coverage- totally wearable for even bad skin days yet with a lightweight feel. It looks natural on, not overly matte (the packaging describes it as a 'delicate matte finish')- your skin but better. For me, Sun Beige is a perfect match for my skin and it stays put for a full 8 hours or more.. it's very transfer-resistant. Haven't worn it for warm weather yet though, but I imagine it will be a perfect stay-put foundation for long summer days because of its oil free formula. It is also a matte foundation that goes with all types of powder blushes and bronzers, setting powders etc without making your face look too powdery or caked up which I like. And I really love the simple packaging. It's supposed to be for all skin types and is fragrance free, thumbs up.

UPDATE: Works great in all seasons and continues to be in my all-time top 5 foundations.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/6/2013 3:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

It's a decent foundation but there are very few shades, I picked up the lightest one and it's too dark.


on 2/2/2013 10:56:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

So Far I love this product. I bought it yesterday for about $10. I got my colour in natural ivory. They only have five shades, which isnt much. The Coverage Is Light to medium, Its Covers Just enough but not too much so it looks likes you arent wearing makeup, It covers my red Cheeks & Hides all my dark sports. I dont have to wear concealer with this either. I cant say if it makes me break out, But I wouldnt think so since my skin isnt acne prone so i dont tend to break out a lot. I think this foundation is awesome for everyday wear and is great to wear if you have a job. It lasts about 5 hours, so Re-applying would be needed. Leaves my skin feeling smooth & is very lightweight, Its Like a second skin. I Love The Packaging too, Hard to get foundation with the tube, A little goes a long way too, About the size of a pea covers most of my face.
Gonna buy this again.


EDIT: After wearing this foundation for a week straight, I have noticed that at the end of the week, My nose,cheek & mouth area were very flaky. I know its because of the foundation because my face is never that bad. I still wear it, just not as often since i dont want another dry face incident.
So for people with combination-dry(very dry) this might not work for your skin.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm really impressed with this product, I bought it about a week ago and have not broken out AT ALL from it! I did experience the initial burning feeling that other people talk about and I think that's the flower/leaf extracts in it. It doesn't exactly throw those ingredients in your face like a lot of other foundations that go one about how many "natural ingredients" it contains.

The packaging is clean, simple. I find the bottle makes it look darker than it is. In Nars Sheer Glow shades I am "Siberia" and the shade "Natural Ivory" matches PERFECT.

It is really an in-between yellow-beige shade, there isn't as much of a pink undertone as it looks on the bottle.

The only thing I think is quite sad is that this product is easily missed. I think it isn't the best-selling foundation around so it's usually located at the VERY bottom of the Annabelle display.
If you're ever out and see the display, LOOK DOWN!

There are usually testers for every shade, and the price is pretty fair (I believe it's $8.47 at Walmart), so I think everyone should give it a try. I personally think it's great for those with acne & scars. It's a medium coverage foundation that could probably be easily built up.

It is transfer resistant as it says on the bottle. I went out into the rain with it on, went inside and wiped my face off with a piece of paper towel and I didn't see any transfer.
I think it might actually blend into your skin tone (kind of like that almay smart shade foundation), but it isn't really advertised as that, although that could be what "Skintrue" means.

All in all, great foundation. I think I've found my drugstore HG foundation.
Edit 1: I stopped using because I found it too neutral for my liking.
EDIT 2: I repurchased this recently, after they had reformulated. They changed the colours a bit, and the shade match is even better! It's also not drying or burning or making my super-sensitive skin react poorly. I'm really happy to be using this again, it really is an HG buy for me.


Back to Top