The Body Shop Shimmer Cubes

3.6

56 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS



on 5/27/2012 2:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Not a big fan of these.. The colour is not intense at all, it hardly shows up.. It requires millions of layers to show and i just can't be bothered doing that when i have other eyeshadows that work much better.. Colour is pretty thou..



on 12/10/2011 6:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Best eyeshimmer ever and the only one I use. They are so long-lasting, i only have to apply it once a day with a wet brush. My favourite is white sea-shell.
I have bought 2 boxes and they have lasted me 4+ years (and look how tiny they are!) When you divide the price per year, it's really a deal.
What i don't like is that the majority of shades are limited edition

Cons: they are NOT highly pigmented if you apply with a dry brush.

I added pictures.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/6/2011 5:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

it is so nice
1 the package is so convenient to carry with you
2 the shades are light and shimmering well
I am also applying with my fingertips for the best result and it works.also it is quite staying that does not getting into your eyes and it is really important


on 7/13/2010 3:54:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

The colors of these things are beautiful! deffinately if used with a descent primer (my fave is Urban decay) I have the number 6 quad, my personal favourite color is a loverly coppery orange color, stunning for summer. I also recommend this particular quad if you are like me and like to accentuate your blue eyes :)


on 6/23/2010 3:45:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My mother got me a few of these and I'd have to say that they're very pigmented. Pigmentation is more on the shimmery side and not the colour side. If you love shimmery looks, this palette is perfect for you. Just too sparkly for me ):
Packaging is a bit of a hassle, I have to open TWICE as much boxes! It can get a little messy sometimes.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i have been eyeballing these ever since i remember seeing them in the body shop when i was very young. now i have pallettes 07
http://www.polyvore.com/cgi/img-thing?.out=jpg&size=l&tid=255531

and 18
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3607/3375311542_e3e84e54ea.jpg

i am giving these cute little cubes a 4, because the colours are not as pigmented as i would like them to be, and i do get a bit of creasing. however, though the packaging is not good quality, i still really like how they are packaged. a couple of tips for those who hate the packaging: take the individual cubes out with their lids and have them loose in your make-up bag for the days when you are wearing just one, or are mixing with other shadows. 2nd tip which is what i did: take all the lids off and leave the cubes loose in the container. nothing happens, even when you carry them around like i have. but keep the lids in a drawer and when you only want to use one, get a lid and wipe it.

now onto the actual product, my favourites in 07 are the dark purple and bronze, and my favourites in the 18 are the grey, green and silver white. the grey in the 18 is a beautiful colour, as is the dark purple in the 07. though the quality is not the best, i haven't found the same colours anywhere. the grey is also really useful for mixing and the dark purple is good for using solo or in the crease. i am generally not a fan of pale eye make-up but have managed to get good use out of all 8 colours and i have been complimented.
overall, i think these are fun, cute and useful. maybe not the best, but definitely worth owning.
also: try not to drop these as someone previously mentioned!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/17/2010 12:55:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought it in the neutral brown shade (can't remember what it was called). The product was compressed so tightly I felt I had to literally mash my eyeshadow brush into it.

I'm now thinking I got a bad set? Too bad because the colors were so pretty.


on 1/12/2010 12:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I own number 6 and number 17 of these palettes, number 6 being a warm brown and peach quad and number 17 a dark blue and silver one, both bought on sale.

The number 6 I've used for quite some time now, it is my everyday go to palette. It always turns out pretty, no matter how I use the colours. Though, the colour pay off is not that good if you don't layer or apply it foiled. Very sheer, which is nice in a way because it means I can use these palettes for all looks from the barely there to the at least semi-intense.

Both palettes are gorgeous, though they do need a good primer underneath to stay put, and they are preferably applied with a fluffier brush that picks up the colour better. Also, don't blend them in too much. They apply better when patted on firmly.

Personally, I would not buy these palettes at full price. But if you can pick them up at sale, then do, because they are nice palettes, just not nice enough to warrant the high price.

As with regards to the packaging. I think it is a cute take on the modular palettes my other companies, like Mac. You can mix and match and carry just the four colours of the day with you. Now, if only they would make the rest of their shadows in this form and sell loose cubes!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/11/2010 10:51:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I can't believe these are still on the market! I bought two of them on a trip to NY several years ago, and they are worse than average and expensive. The shadows themselves can be duped by many cheap ds brands, and as the reviewer below pointed out, they are rediculously double packaged. So you open the main one then open each of the e/s individually. Who has the time? Finally, don't drop one of the tiny cubes even from your hand to your bathroom counter as it will likely crumble into a million tiny grains of shadow. Not fun.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/11/2010 9:21:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I think this product is way overpriced. At $22, you can buy much nicer shadows. It comes in a clear plastic container. In the quads, each cube has its own container and lid--which is such a pain. I HATE the packaging.

None of the colors are a standout at all. Very typical boring colors. The pigment is more vibrant in the pan than on the lid.

The product is not great--it's ok at best. I find that it is very fragile and can crumble and fall apart easily. So instead of cubes, you'll have a shimmery mess.

Just pass on this. It is not worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated The Body Shop Products

Back to Top