Paula's Choice Best Face Forward Foundation SPF 25

3.2

106 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 8.24%; Octinoxate (Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate) 4.55% Inactive Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone (silicone slip agents), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate (thickener/fatty acid), Nylon-12 (absorbent), Glycerin (water-binding agent), Polyethylene (thickener/opacifying agent), Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer (silicone polymer), PEG/PPG-20/15 Dimethicone (emulsifier), PEG-8 (thickener), Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate (powdery thickening agent), Propylene Carbonate (solvent), Disteardimonium Hectorite, Polyhydroxystearic Acid (suspending agents), Aluminum Stearate (thickener), Alumina (absorbent), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Polymethylsilsesquioxane (opacifying agent), Polymethyl Methacrylate (film-forming agent), Sodium Chloride (binding agent), Triethoxycaprylylsilane (silicone-based emulsifier), Benzoic Acid, Chlorphenesin, Sorbic Acid, Phenoxyethanol (all preservatives), Iron Oxides (mineral pigment).


on 8/3/2015 4:21:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

A note about the packaging: This now comes in a black tube rather than a shaker bottle, which is an improvement.

Unfortunately, I don't have a good color match in this medium coverage foundation and my opinion is that the texture could be improved. I've tried to find a good shade. Linen is too dark for me and the next paler shade is too light and yellow. I'm glad her foundations aren't pink, but I can't seem to find a decent color match in most of them. The fair shades aren't neutral enough and there are usually only a few shades. Nothing like the spectrum of MAC or Kat Von D. Usually it seems that I would need to buy two different shades and a bottle of Color FX drops and mix it all mad scientist style to get a color that accurately matches my face. The Paula's Choice color range should be expanded.

The finish isn't elegant enough to smooth me out as much as a high end foundation. I feel that Hourglass Immaculate is the best finish for my skin when it leans from combination to oily and I want medium to full coverage. The second best finish is that of MAC Beauty Balm SPF 35 which is more like a tinted moisturizer that gives light coverage but floats over any tiny fine lines you might have and makes it look as though you have pretty skin rather than nice makeup. Best Face Forward almost seems too grainy to be called foundation. It's more like a matte, pigmented sunscreen. At least it doesn't exaggerate flaws or settle into laugh lines.

On the plus side, it's pretty good at keeping me matte as opposed to sweaty and oily. I really appreciate the SPF and the fact that it's not greasy. There are no irritating ingredients to set off my sensitive skin. And it's only $19 a tube. I've paid more than that for sunscreens I dislike.

I have a well-stocked bathroom of Paula's Choice skin care successes. While I don't love every single product, I have repurchased some of the best ones. Her cleansers and toners are mostly excellent. She has some good BHA, AHA, and retinol products. And the brand proudly sports the Leaping Bunny logo.

But this particular foundation doesn't work for me.



on 3/13/2015 5:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I HAD SAMPLES
All of the shades had natural colors, soaked into the skin and offered broad spectrum sun protection. The foundation has pretty good coverage and conceals some acne . Also it doesn't bring out wrinkles. It is good for someone with dry skin. The ingredients aren't special though and almost all the shades are too warm so if you have redness or acne this may not be the one for you.


on 1/5/2015 9:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The colors looks very natural, best champagne beige and best natural buff are the right colors for me in winter/summer time, I am NC25-NC30. It's working great for my oily skin in winter time. I like the fact that it's very skin like, it evens out my skin tone and it looks really natural. I'm used to use medium-full coverage because of my rosacea, but my skin is a lot better now so I decided to give this a try and use it on "good skin days" with concealer where I need it and some powder that has some coverage over it. It definitely doesn't cover my rosacea-acne spots, but on weekends I don't care. But in general I prefer foundations with more coverage so I will only use this occasionally.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/9/2014 5:26:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this!! I was a little skeptical to purchase because of the mixed reviews but I'm so glad I went ahead and ordered it. It's a light coverage that looks completely natural on my skin and it evens everything out seamlessly. It's what I've been looking for in a BB cream, but haven't been able to find. The shades are fantastic for me, I have light skin with yellow undertones. In the warmer months I take the best champagne shade (when my skin is NC25ish) and in the winter months I use the best linen shade (NC20-ish). My skin is very breakout prone and this has not caused a single blemish! It stays matte for hours and doesn't settle into my pores or oxidize into an oompa-loompa orange either. Honesty, I just love it. Paula frequently has sales and promotions (free shipping!) so this is easy to order and have delivered. I cannot recommend this enough, it makes me look like I have flawless skin. Thanks Paula!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/2/2014 1:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a lovely natural foundation that's totally amazing for oily skin prone to breakouts! I have the shade best bisque which In my opinion suits my medium skin tone beautifully, I have yellow and beige undertones in my skin and this looks great and matches perfectly, for me I don't need powder because this sets off to a matte finish anyway, and lasts all say, it seems to control oil too! a amazing product! Thank you Paula!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/22/2013 1:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This gave me a lovely light and natural finish, perfect for when I want less coverage. It really doesn't cover much: I have two huge dark spots on my forehead which are only covered a little by this foundation.

The Best Bisque color is a great match for my NC10-15 skin. It can be layered a little, I used two layers of this under my eyes to cover my dark circles instead of wearing concealer. It did settle a little into my lines but not to the extent where it highlighted them and was easily blended away. I would buy this foundation again as long as it has pretty good lasting power (which I haven't checked yet).

I have been wearing this over Anessa's Perfect SPF50 sunscreen (which makes any foundation look phenomenal) so wearing it alone may give different results. Looks good so far, will update when I know how it lasts in humidity.


on 4/16/2013 2:39:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I've sampled a few shades of this & so far I like it. Have received compliments on my skin when I wear it. Will update this review in detail more later... after I do more a comprehensive analysis.


on 4/14/2013 12:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am a Best Linen in the new colors. I have normal, cystic acne-prone skin, that is neither dry nor oily. I bought this foundation primarily because I am a long time PC user and I thought I should give her makeup a try, too. I don't know if I would call this my HG foundation because I do cheat frequently, but it is the foundation that I always come back to every time I am disappointed by another foundation.

1.) I like that this is a semi-matte foundation, so it isn't SO matte it will dry you out, but it does absorb some amount of oil. I shake it well before I squirt a small amount on the back of my hand and then blend in small sections with my ELF flat topped Powder Brush.

2.) I like that it is a light-building-to-medium coverage so my skin still shows through a little, that way I look fresh and polished; not necessarily "doll-like". (That image kinda scares me). You will need a concealer with this foundation if you need more coverage around your eyes or over blemishes.

3.) I love the high level of sunscreen, and that it protects from UVA and UVB.

4.) The finish is really beautiful, and it lasts (on me at least) for at least 6 or 7 hours if I don't wear any skincare that is too oily underneath it, but I have pretty normal skin. I do set it with a shimmery powder (ELF glow) because I like to have that extra luminosity and touch up with Revlon Nearly Naked pressed powder.

I would order several and then just return what you couldn't use. PC has an excellent return policy and customer service department.

Overall, I don't have to worry about it settling into fine lines or pore, it wears beautifully, and just does it's job as a foundation. There is nothing really dramatic about it, which is why I keep coming back to it (and why I keep straying LOL!). It's just a really good foundation.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

If you have oily skin and want the simplicity of sunscreen with a bit of color to even out skintone without added moisture that you usually get from TM's and BB creams, then this would be a really good option! Even better if you like to use physical sunscreens instead of chemical ones, since titanium oxide provides the sunscreen in this formula.

I use this in Best Bisque, my skin is oily & in the NC/NW 15-20 range. This is sheer enough to work with warm or cool toned girls within that range, any darker and you'd have a white cast. Formula is matte, looks nice and doesn't make pores any more noticeable. Didn't cause any breakouts or bad skin reactions either. Obviously if you have an oily t-zone, nothing is going to keep you matte all day long, so I'm not deducting a lippie for that. I did notice shine after about 2 hours.



A bit pricey, 1oz is $15. At first, you might think that it's a good deal but most people will be buying this for the sunscreen factor. That being said, to get the amount of SPF protection listed on the bottle, I believe the recommended dose is to apply 1/4 tsp. Therefore, with 6 teaspoons in 1 oz. you would only get 24 applications of SPF 25 out of this product. The price factor does play a role in my rating since I was looking for something to use as my everyday "work" foundation/sunscreen. So, I would be buying this one a month and still have to buy another foundation for nights out/important events where I want more coverage. Just something to think about if you are on a budget.


This is a solid option for sheer/light coverage and SPF protection for oily skin, keeping in mind that it won't last you a full month when used properly for SPF 25 protection and definitely not anything near medium coverage.

Would I buy this again? YES AND NO.
I would buy this again since I think it's ideal for traveling or weekend trips where I don't want my makeup bag to be cluttered and I want to save time. Honestly, I don't see myself purchasing it every month as my everyday SPF foundation.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/21/2013 5:05:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I’d been contentedly using a mineral powder foundation for years, but decided to try a liquid foundation, as my skin changes a bit, from age.

I wanted a foundation that’s 1) made by a non-animal-testing company, 2) the right shade for NW15 me, and 3)reasonably priced, and easily available online.

I obtained samples from several different companies, read reviews, and finally decided on Best Face Forward, in Best Bisque.

Though it isn’t “perfect,” I’m pleased with it.
Pros:

Paula’s Choice is cruelty-free, and readily available online

Good shade match

Goes on smoothly, and blends easily with my e.l.f. foundation brush

Evens out my skin without looking mask-like or cakey; I still need concealer over blemishes/scars, but that’s okay. Used over Hourglass primer, it gives me a “my-skin-but-better” look, and I like that.

Doesn't cause me to break out

No noticeable scent

Reasonably priced, at about $15

SPF 25
Cons:

Gets oily by the end of the day, but I have *extremely* oily skin

Doesn’t cover *everything,* but I don’t really need that. It doesn't make my skin look "flawless," but my skin just *isn't* flawless.

The bottle opening is very narrow, which can make getting the product out tricky

The pros outweigh the cons, so after I use up this bottle I’ll probably re-purchase this, unless something really superior crosses my “radar.”

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top