Urban Decay • Midnight Cowboy Rides Again • Eye Shadow

rated 3.4(176 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 WoodsCommaElle on 9/7/2014 12:11:00 PM more reviews by WoodsCommaElle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm in love with Urban Decay shadows, and this one is no exception. Most of the ones I own are shimmery, but the chunky glitter in this one is gorgeous! I don't understand all the hate--yes, there's glitter in it. Yes, if you wear eyeshadow with glitter in it you may get some of it on your face. Stands to reason, doesn't it? If you're scared of glitter, this is not the shadow for you. I don't have too much of an issue with it, though; in fact, even though I'm a rule-breaker and I apply it with a brush, the fallout is never terrible. At worst, I get a light smattering of sparkles over my undereye area and cheekbones, which is actually quite beguiling (according to my husband). Or maybe I just enjoy looking like David Bowie, who knows. Any any rate, the color is an ethereal, light pinkish champagne that looks dreamy on the lids. It's definitely suited for nighttime, although I have been known to wear it during the day because it's just so pretty. But the best part about this shadow is that it doesn't veer too much into teeny-bopper glitter-bomb territory--as a grown woman, I can wear this and not feel like I'm trying to recapture my high school days. That's a hard quality to find in a glittery eyeshadow, folks. I have a feeling I'll be keeping this one around for awhile...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AprilShowas123 on 6/26/2014 9:37:00 PM more reviews by AprilShowas123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

One of my staples. This one is more shimmery then regular midnight cowboy who cares it's awesome

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CMarie92 on 2/24/2014 10:58:00 PM more reviews by CMarie92

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The color is beautiful but there's way too much chunky glittery fallout. Even if I apply my eyeshadow first, then my face makeup glitter somehow still ends up all over my face. Although I love this color I rarely use it as I don't want to look like a disco ball! I've even tried wetting my brush with fix plus and patting the color on but nothing seems to reduce the fallout. Which is a shame as I really enjoy the color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bikerchick on 11/12/2013 2:38:00 PM more reviews by bikerchick

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I may be in the minority here, but I love Midnight Cowboy Rides Again! It is not a color for everyday, really more of a going out color in my opinion. My favorite way to use MCRA is as a lid color with a medium matte brown (Tease from Naked 2) in the crease. So many people complain of the fallout from UD's glittery shades, it can be a pain but can be dealt with. Using a slightly tacky shadow base will help the glitter stick. Glitter Glue by Too Faced is excellent, just don't apply over your whole lid. Glitter Glue can be a pain to blend over so only use it where you are putting your glitter shadow. Also NYX's Shadow Pencil in Milk makes a great base for glitter shadows. Lastly, I never apply glitter with a brush, the best way I have found is to tap the shadow on my lid with my finger. Hopefully some of these tips might help you all enjoy Midnight Cowboy Rides Again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 peakvolume on 5/30/2013 9:28:00 PM more reviews by peakvolume

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

MCRA is a shimmery/glittery champange-gold neutral. Over a bare lid, it looks like a soft rose gold; over primer, that color is more pronounced, and the glitter stuck better. Regardless, the glitter didn't feel large or gritty. It was also easy to blend. A huge drawback with this shade, though, is that it's crazy-prone to fallout. I had a noticeable amount within an hour. However, I got great wear otherwise. The color itself didn't fade for 8 hours without primer, and I made it to 10 with a base.

(Read the full review on peakvolume.blogspot.com)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cherrryyyx on 2/8/2013 9:15:00 AM more reviews by cherrryyyx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I first discovered this in the bamboo palette and fell in love with it instantly. It's really shimmery and the glitter in the shadow is chunky, but I love shimmer so that doesn't really bother me. My mother borrowed my palette once too and loved this colour a lot more than me, so for her birthday I decided to pick her up the individual eyeshadow. A couple of weeks later she accidentally dropped it on the carpet - not even from a massive height and the whole thing smashed she had to throw it. I love UD shadows, I think they're so pretty, pigmented and really high quality, but I don't think I'll buy individual shadows from them again, because of this reason and I think with the palettes you get more value for money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ShimmerSands78 on 12/8/2012 10:35:00 PM more reviews by ShimmerSands78

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Great easy to blend color..but so much GLITTER even with primer I looked like Edward from twilight...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Birdie1483 on 10/10/2012 11:08:00 AM more reviews by Birdie1483

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this from Urban Decay's website when it was on sale for $6. I love Stila's Kitten eyeshadow, so I was hoping this would be similar with a little extra.

Well, all it seems to have is extra glitter, which is now all over my face. The fallout from applying this was the worse I've ever had. The glitter also stuck to my face so much that I was unable to remove it with makeup brushes or sponges. So not I'm at work looking like a tweenager on my way to a Katy Perry concert. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chococat05 on 9/24/2012 8:31:00 PM more reviews by chococat05

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love glittery eye shadows. This color is just gorgeous. However, I do find the glitter particle size a tad too big for me.
You'll def need to apply this wet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ilovejp on 9/2/2012 4:08:00 AM more reviews by ilovejp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This colour is beautiful but the glittee falls out no matter what. It's a perfect colour but it's pointless wearing as the glitter does fall even with loads of primer being Used. It's a shame because this shadow is perfect for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Urban Decay products

More Eye Shadow products