Alpha Hydrox • 10% AHA Gel • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.0(215 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 KimD507 on 5/3/2014 9:33:00 PM more reviews by KimD507

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Awful for MY skin
It didnt burn, I liked the gex texture..though tube is awful...liquid pores out (lots of waste)
After 2 days my skin was covered it nasty blackheads...literally gunk was coming out of my pores
I dont know if this was a purge stage but it was NASTY...pores/skin didnt look this bad to start
as soon as I stopped pores cleared up
Not worth continuing

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* skandelouslala on 4/28/2014 4:53:00 PM more reviews by skandelouslala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I was originally after the gel when I first purchased the souffle, Ulta (the only place I can find the extended line of Alpha Hydrox products) was out of the gel so I purchased the souffle and ended up falling in love. I used my tube up and went back to Ulta to repurchase and saw that they had the gel back in stock. I debated if I should try it after loving the souffle so much but since it was a couple of bucks cheaper figured what the heck.

Long story short, every formulation of the Alpha Hydrox products do not perform equally on my skin.

The gel is very light and more liquidy than gel. It absorbs super fast. Unlike the souffle which has been brilliant for my skin, I started to see clogged pores and rougher texture reappear while using this product. I started getting weird random breakouts and redness begin cropping up in places that had previously been soothed. I was completely unhappy with the results of this product, so much so that Sunday I woke up and and decided I must get myself to Ulta ASAP and pray they had some souffle left. I just couldn't deal with the gel any longer.

I've decided to try the remainder the gel on my neck/chest area to see how it performs there and hopefully it doesn't cause breakouts there. If so I guess I'll use it on my feet or something *heh*

Kind of an update: I ended up trying this on my neck/chest area to try to use some of the product so it wasn't a complete waste. Although it did make the skin there awesomely soft guess what? Breakouts/clogged pores! I guess the remainder is going to my elbows and feet or something.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AngelWingsLipgloss on 2/20/2014 1:22:00 AM more reviews by AngelWingsLipgloss

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I use this as a way to freshen and brighten my skin as well as fight against pre-mature aging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 niftypineapple914 on 2/19/2014 6:03:00 AM more reviews by niftypineapple914

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I am another, apparently rare, casualty to the carrageenen in this. Had I known it contained it, I wouldn't have bought it. I was so excited to try this, and my skin was in a fairly desperate state at that time. As a reference, I have extremely oily, reactive, acneic skin. Very prone to congestion due to the oil production. I ordered the oil free gel and the souffle off amazon, and for the last few months I have been using just the gel. I can't lie to myself anymore - my skin's texture is absolutely atrocious, the breakouts are worse than ever - its totally exacerbated by this product. I don't typically get deep down pustules, my acne has always consisted of red lumps, but since consistently using this I have pustules and fluid filled spots every morning upon waking and checking the mirror. My face is a wreck, and its definitely not a purging phase. No sign of it being an allergic reaction either, it is just clogging my pores. Not sure what to do now about the souffle which is still unopened in my drawyer! I've caved and am going back to a derm to request roaccutane, after 14 years handling my acne this has taken it to a whole new, unmanageable level. Be careful.
2 stars because its cheap and has an impressively high % of AHA. If your skin isn't wrecked by it, it will most likely be your HG.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lysxinh on 2/18/2014 10:03:00 PM more reviews by lysxinh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I feel the need to write my first review here after all of good advice I got from you. I used to get lots of compliments for my very fair and smooth skin with almost no acnes ever. But after graduating, I was warned about preventing wrinkle as soon as possible at 20s, so I decided to pick this product after reading so many good reviews. When I used my first AHA tube, it was kind of HG as it quickly made some dark spots fade away and my face got even brighter. So I kept on using a second tube consecutively at nights for several months, not to mention another jar of Alpha Hydrox AHA Souffle 12% Glycolic AHA before that (so it means nearly a year in total). And now, after years, when looking at my sensitive face with lots of pimples and spots, I regret how foolish I was. I was so charmed by the anti-wrinkle and skin clearing benefit that the product stated that I forgot AHA at the same time made our skin thinner in order to remove dead cells. Of course I know the problem here may not be the product itself but the way I used it. So I just hope you will treat your skin with deeper researches before applying anything, especially for a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ivorybeauty on 2/17/2014 3:02:00 AM more reviews by ivorybeauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This product makes my skin glow. Every time I use it I get compliments on my skin the very next day. It doesn't sting/burn when applied (unless you have broken/exposed skin. ie; popped zit) & it helps to make my overall skin tone more even and texture more smooth. A great product if you are looking for a gentle yet effective chemical exfoliator.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrskittypepper on 3/28/2013 9:56:00 AM more reviews by mrskittypepper

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this product. Itís the only thing that helps keep my acne at bay, granted it has not stopped my acne totally, I still get hormonal acne during that time of the month but it greatly helps. I use it in the morning along with an oil free SPF and at night with aloe vera gel. I stopped using it once for about a week and I noticed all these small red acne on my cheeks, so I started up again and it went away shortly after so I know this product is doing its job. I also really like the alpha hydrox face cleanser, I tried their night creams, the 10% cream and the soufflť, but both made my acne worse so I will just stick to the gel. I think it is also slowly helping with my acne marks as well but itís a slow process. I can't really comment on it helping with wrinkles since I donít use it for that but I imagine since it is helping a little with acne marks that it is exfoliating my skin in a good way and would probably help with wrinkles and or age spots. The price isnít bad and I like the packaging since you can just squirt it out of the bottle instead of sticking my finger in there. I would and have recommended this product to a friend.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Heath32 on 3/20/2013 2:16:00 PM more reviews by Heath32

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this product almost a year ago because I had heard it helps get rid of blackheads and whiteheads, of which I have a generous amount. The first few times I used it, it stung a little, but didn't irritate or dry out my skin. I used it faithfully two times a day but didn't notice it making a huge difference. However, when I received the Olay Pro-x face brush for Christmas and started using that in conjunction, I noticed that my skin improved in look. I still had blackheads and whiteheads, but they were much reduced and smaller, probably because the brush got rid of dead skin cells and enabled the gel to sink in and be more effective. What really clinched it for me was when I lost the gel, and my skin freaked out. I have more whiteheads, the blackheads on my face are larger and some have even become raised, and I also have more pimples. I'm buying another bottle of this stuff asap; I didn't realize how much it was doing for my skin until I stopped using it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Ravenn on 3/9/2013 6:29:00 AM more reviews by Ravenn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is either too mild for me or it just doesn't work. They also seem to have changed the packaging because I got a clear tube of the gel, which I don't like because light can reduce the efficacy of the product. Would not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jennsilentcrow on 7/6/2012 9:15:00 PM more reviews by jennsilentcrow

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

wake up clearer, smaller pores, no redness. Love it. I see results immediately. for real.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alpha Hydrox products

More Treatments (Face) products