Alpha Hydrox • 10% AHA Gel • Treatments

rated 4.0(213 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 AngelWingsLipgloss on 2/20/2014 1:22:00 AM more reviews by AngelWingsLipgloss

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I use this as a way to freshen and brighten my skin as well as fight against pre-mature aging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 niftypineapple914 on 2/19/2014 6:03:00 AM more reviews by niftypineapple914

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I am another, apparently rare, casualty to the carrageenen in this. Had I known it contained it, I wouldn't have bought it. I was so excited to try this, and my skin was in a fairly desperate state at that time. As a reference, I have extremely oily, reactive, acneic skin. Very prone to congestion due to the oil production. I ordered the oil free gel and the souffle off amazon, and for the last few months I have been using just the gel. I can't lie to myself anymore - my skin's texture is absolutely atrocious, the breakouts are worse than ever - its totally exacerbated by this product. I don't typically get deep down pustules, my acne has always consisted of red lumps, but since consistently using this I have pustules and fluid filled spots every morning upon waking and checking the mirror. My face is a wreck, and its definitely not a purging phase. No sign of it being an allergic reaction either, it is just clogging my pores. Not sure what to do now about the souffle which is still unopened in my drawyer! I've caved and am going back to a derm to request roaccutane, after 14 years handling my acne this has taken it to a whole new, unmanageable level. Be careful.
2 stars because its cheap and has an impressively high % of AHA. If your skin isn't wrecked by it, it will most likely be your HG.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lysxinh on 2/18/2014 10:03:00 PM more reviews by lysxinh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I feel the need to write my first review here after all of good advice I got from you. I used to get lots of compliments for my very fair and smooth skin with almost no acnes ever. But after graduating, I was warned about preventing wrinkle as soon as possible at 20s, so I decided to pick this product after reading so many good reviews. When I used my first AHA tube, it was kind of HG as it quickly made some dark spots fade away and my face got even brighter. So I kept on using a second tube consecutively at nights for several months, not to mention another jar of Alpha Hydrox AHA Souffle 12% Glycolic AHA before that (so it means nearly a year in total). And now, after years, when looking at my sensitive face with lots of pimples and spots, I regret how foolish I was. I was so charmed by the anti-wrinkle and skin clearing benefit that the product stated that I forgot AHA at the same time made our skin thinner in order to remove dead cells. Of course I know the problem here may not be the product itself but the way I used it. So I just hope you will treat your skin with deeper researches before applying anything, especially for a long time.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ivorybeauty on 2/17/2014 3:02:00 AM more reviews by ivorybeauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This product makes my skin glow. Every time I use it I get compliments on my skin the very next day. It doesn't sting/burn when applied (unless you have broken/exposed skin. ie; popped zit) & it helps to make my overall skin tone more even and texture more smooth. A great product if you are looking for a gentle yet effective chemical exfoliator.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrskittypepper on 3/28/2013 9:56:00 AM more reviews by mrskittypepper

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this product. Itís the only thing that helps keep my acne at bay, granted it has not stopped my acne totally, I still get hormonal acne during that time of the month but it greatly helps. I use it in the morning along with an oil free SPF and at night with aloe vera gel. I stopped using it once for about a week and I noticed all these small red acne on my cheeks, so I started up again and it went away shortly after so I know this product is doing its job. I also really like the alpha hydrox face cleanser, I tried their night creams, the 10% cream and the soufflť, but both made my acne worse so I will just stick to the gel. I think it is also slowly helping with my acne marks as well but itís a slow process. I can't really comment on it helping with wrinkles since I donít use it for that but I imagine since it is helping a little with acne marks that it is exfoliating my skin in a good way and would probably help with wrinkles and or age spots. The price isnít bad and I like the packaging since you can just squirt it out of the bottle instead of sticking my finger in there. I would and have recommended this product to a friend.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Heath32 on 3/20/2013 2:16:00 PM more reviews by Heath32

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this product almost a year ago because I had heard it helps get rid of blackheads and whiteheads, of which I have a generous amount. The first few times I used it, it stung a little, but didn't irritate or dry out my skin. I used it faithfully two times a day but didn't notice it making a huge difference. However, when I received the Olay Pro-x face brush for Christmas and started using that in conjunction, I noticed that my skin improved in look. I still had blackheads and whiteheads, but they were much reduced and smaller, probably because the brush got rid of dead skin cells and enabled the gel to sink in and be more effective. What really clinched it for me was when I lost the gel, and my skin freaked out. I have more whiteheads, the blackheads on my face are larger and some have even become raised, and I also have more pimples. I'm buying another bottle of this stuff asap; I didn't realize how much it was doing for my skin until I stopped using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Ravenn on 3/9/2013 6:29:00 AM more reviews by Ravenn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is either too mild for me or it just doesn't work. They also seem to have changed the packaging because I got a clear tube of the gel, which I don't like because light can reduce the efficacy of the product. Would not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jennsilentcrow on 7/6/2012 9:15:00 PM more reviews by jennsilentcrow

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

wake up clearer, smaller pores, no redness. Love it. I see results immediately. for real.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 AleneM on 6/17/2012 6:14:00 PM more reviews by AleneM

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't see any results from this. It also felt uncomfortable on my skin, which tends toward the oily side.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pshourie on 6/7/2012 5:45:00 AM more reviews by pshourie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Horrible horrible product..was trying to make it work for a minor breakout I had because of using a Wrong shampoo but this only made things worse!I never NEVER get clogged pores but this made my skin so sticky and the most horrible breakout of mylife.I discontinued using it 4 weeks back but still I breakout!Need help to undo the damage!!Steer clear if u think this is for acne!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alpha Hydrox products

More Treatments products