Liz Claiborne • Spark • Fragrances

rated 3.6(56 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chiodancrgrl23 on 1/19/2014 8:46:00 PM more reviews by chiodancrgrl23

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This reminds me of Shalimar with a lighter lemon note and less strength. It also has a more prominent woodlike note. I only smell an extremely slight caramel.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 7/23/2013 7:30:00 PM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

A powdery, carmelized perfume that I enjoy, Spark is. Definitely worth picking up if you can find it and you enjoy simple gourmand fragrances that bring you back to pleasant sweetness without the overly cloying sugary scent of some on the market.
I think of holidays and cuddles when I wear this one. It's a vanilla goodness. And I'm not that kind of cutesy woman at all. But I really like this scent.
It's a "what smells good?" when you walk in the room perfume that people ask about, it's a safe fragrance that you can wear to the office, really, you can wear anywhere without offending anyone. It's just a safe perfume in the world of seductive perfumes that can mesmerize or alienate others.
For me, it's the caramel and cinnamon with the cedar to balance to start, then it goes all soft and powdery but I do get a vanilla feel, which actually, for a lot of people, can be quite a weapon, too. After all, isn't food the way to some people's heart? Perhaps that's why gourmand scents are so popular. They make people happy, they evoke pleasant memories.
Wait a bit and spices come out to play that remind me of chai tea.
There aren't many notes in this perfume, but somehow they blend to make a warm, inviting, and cozy blanket to wrap yourself with with a smile.
I can awaken still enjoying it, so its longevity is excellent and its sillage extends around me. I really enjoy Spark for the times I just want to be cozy, comfy and without any pretense. When I just want to be me with pleasant smiles.
Fragrance Notes: Caramel, Rose, Orchid, Cinnamon, Musk, Cedar.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* awesomeness2 on 11/26/2011 6:06:00 PM more reviews by awesomeness2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Spark? What Spark? I was expecting much more excitement & electricity out of a perfume called Spark. Instead, I got something that is appropriate for grocery shopping & baking. Ho hum.


I like the cinnamon in this, but it is a very mild mannered, close to the skin fragrance that doesn't last long.


Spark's first spray is all alcohol, very cheap smelling, like dime store cologne. Then cinnamon - a flicker of spunk on top. After that, a mellow cinnamon, not perky or sharp. Spark is dark, and it develops an incense quality on me. It's not at all sweet, relative to current frags. Overall, Spark is nice, mild & understated but synthetic. Not long lasting, imo. Wears close to the skin.


Spark has been compared to CK Obsession and Givenchy Organza Indecence. Maybe in the parfum version, but certainly not in EDP imo. Not at all. I picked up a mini EDP. I was very close to blind buying the 1/2 oz parfum at $30. So glad that I didn't.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cerulfox on 10/18/2011 3:23:00 PM more reviews by cerulfox

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

For a perfume I found at Goodwill for $3, this isn't that bad. It's -strong-, so not for the faint of nose. While the boozy, spicy vanilla-musk that flares out of the bottle can be quite strident and slightly plasticky, with measured (read: LIGHT) application Spark can be quite cozy and comforting. I prefer the smell of it on clothing/linens and as a room spray over the smell of it on my skin, though. If Chanel Coromandel is cozy like a favorite cashmere sweater, then Spark is cozy like an old over-sized t-shirt lifted from an old lover. I'll keep it, but wouldn't buy it again, and especially not at full price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JenJenofAz on 12/27/2010 9:44:00 PM more reviews by JenJenofAz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I can see the similarities to Obsession.......Kinda. This is more of a sweet and bubbly vanilla. I think of Michael Kors..............Even Glow by J.Lo, a bit. I didn't do well with Obsession. It just stank on me, but I really like Spark(as I do Michael Kors and even Glow by J.Lo). I usually detest most Liz Claiborne perfumes, so I was a bit surprised that I would like this, but I think this is one of the best of the whole bunch. Can't find it anywhere but online(beautyboutique.com). And it is affordable. I also think it is a bit masculine, but certainly NOT manly! I wouldn't want any man wearing this!
I also recall Guess from the 90's as I had once wore it. That is most similar to Spark than Obsession. And it was even nicer than Obsession!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 9154mf on 9/29/2010 12:41:00 AM more reviews by 9154mf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This was a deeper vanilla than I normally like but I do like it, the subtle oriental-ness of it. The drydown became a bit musty though, I was hoping it would stay strong and clear and more caramelly like the first few minutes. Oh well! There are many other vanillas out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aqua76239 on 8/4/2010 9:48:00 PM more reviews by aqua76239

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I think this is a major improvement on some of LC other fragrances but is it wondeful? I'd say you have to decide for youself. Notes from Fragrantica: honey, caramel, rose, champagne, cinnamon. As soon as I smelled it, i thought it was familiar. IMO, its resembles BBW Sensual Amber. Spark is sweet, rich, ambery(even though amber is not listed in the notes but that's what i smell) and decadent fragrance. I don't love it(i prefer more vanilla) but i like it. Its a long lasting fragrance which is one of my requirments and definately for sensual self assured woman, not young ditzy girl.
One thing that i find really awful is the bottle. I have to say that I've seen Spark in stores before but never bothered to try it because bottle is so ugly and cheap looking. I'm going to put mine in a nice one(which to me just makes it more enjoyable, i'm weird like that)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Brina17 on 7/14/2010 11:25:00 PM more reviews by Brina17

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I first encountered this scent years ago on a card with an ad in an O magazine. It was love at first smell. It had a cinnamon smell yet it was a sexy I waited for it to hit the stores. Living near a Liz Claiborne outlet, it finally reach the shelves. Everytime I wore this on a date, the gentleman gives me compliments. That lets me know it's the right scent for me. It's too sexy to wear to work! I don't want that kind of attention there.

Perfumes are very personal. One might smell good on one, will smell terrible on another. Plus how much you put on matters as well. I put on just enough for you to notice if you are a 12 inches away. I don't want to irritate folks who are sensitive. Spark is great stuff for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JuicyGumdrops on 7/14/2009 8:49:00 PM more reviews by JuicyGumdrops

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i got this as a gift too,came as a set of two one medium and a large i really love the scent of this it's not to harsh or too light and it last for a really long time. thank goodness i have enough to last a whiles

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dmarie1 on 3/16/2009 9:18:00 PM more reviews by Dmarie1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this last July and liked it sooooo much I was actually trying to wear this in the heat of the summer! It was too warm a fragrance but it is sensual,sexy and warm and caramel and cinnamon and just plain good!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Liz Claiborne products

More Fragrances products