Aura Cacia Sweet Almond Natural Skin Care Oil

4.3

33 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/27/2015 10:12:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

Holy wow.
This is for the ORGANIC Sweet Almond Oil by Aura Cacia.

A winter miracle!
Have been using this for a week to deal with harsh winter conditions which will not let up.
I kicked it up a notch from Grapeseed oil and it has been even more amazing for my skin. More moisture, more glow, more tone, more softness. No breakouts.
Miracle in a bottle.

To control the amount:
Do not remove the tin liner. Puncture the tin liner with a small hole using the tip of a knife or scissors in the middle of the liner.
You could also purchase a dark pump bottle dispenser.


I use this oil to remove my make up, cleanse and to moisturize.
3 products in one.
What could be more natural, more perfect, more simple, more gentle and more loving to myself and the planet?
Nothing.
I think this is the darn best beauty product EVER!
And I really feel pampered with my routine - a mini spa treatment morn and night,

MAKE UP REMOVER & CLEANSER
(no cotton wool/pad/wipe... just using my finger tips)
Just a half a dime's size in the palm of my hand , a teeny tiny squirt, massaging GENTLY all over my face in upward motion, including gently sweeping the eyelids, for about 1 min.
Rinse well with very hot water.
Use a clean, facecloth soaked in hot water and wring it out.
Press the wash cloth flat all over the face to let it absorb excess oil for about 30 seconds. Then use a corner of the washcloth to exfoliate in little circles all over the face to remove any left over make up and the oil - again gently. The loops of the cotton cloth will exfoliate. You could use a small buff or loofa to do the exfoliating as well but since you have the facecloth handy, I just use the facecloth.

Then I take another small amount of oil in the palm of my hand and add ONE drop of essential oil
(in the morning it is organic lavender , in the eve it is organic tea tree - both have acne fighting properties. The lavender is calming and wonderful smelling for the day, tea tree is super cleansing and bit medicinal smelling so better for night).
Then I do one more face massage all over my face (this time avoiding eyes and neck and chest because of the added essential oil), gently massaging into my skin for another face massage.

-> Let it sit for a couple minutes to let those essential oils fight any bacteria and to let the carrier almond oil moisturize nice and deeply.

In the morn, I will then pop into the shower and let the water rinse it all off - one more wipe with the facecloth.
At night, I take the washcloth again and run it under hot water. Rinse it out well. Now use the other clean side of the cloth and again place it flat over the whole face pressing it against the skin to remove any excess oil.

MOISTURIZER
Night
Add a tiny bit to neck and chest to add moisture by LIGHTLY PATTING in.

Morn
I get out of the shower and I immediately spray my legs and arms, knees with the oil from a spray bottle (no lavender or tea tree - straight sweet almond oil) and rub it into wet skin. The water helps distribute the oil.
I add a touch to my neck and chest (including nipples) also for moisture.

OHH SOOO SOFT SKIN!!!!
Every part of me is wonderfully supple and soft and shiny.
Wish I would have found this 20 years ago...
Glad I did now and I hope it will repair damage with daily use.

Not sure how it will work in hot sticky summer, perhaps it will just be a my moisturizer instead of my cleanser as well or maybe I'll go back to grapeseed oil which is lighter.

I have not been THIS happy and excited about my skin's HEALTH & LOOK in about a year. Incredible!!!

I use a clay mask 1 x a week (Ancient Minerals by Cocoon Apothecary)
1 use glycolic or BHA pad 1 x a week for blackheads and express cell turn over whole face (First Aid Beauty Facial Radiance Pads).


NOTE: I have tried Oil Cleansing Method (OCM) in the past a few times with disastrous results (major oil slick and major breakouts). It appealed to me for the simplicity, cost, non-toxic and eco friendly aspects. I knew deep down this was what I was looking for but so sad it did not work for me.
PLEASE don't give up on OCM.
The trick is to use VERY LITTLE oil and find the RIGHT COMBO.
Be patient.
Be kind to yourself and the planet.
:-)

Will update.

UPDATE MARCH 30 2015
:-)
This is still working very well for me.
I now have fallen in love with Clary Sage essential oil and use that 3 x a week instead of lavender or tea tree, which I use those the other days.
OCM works for me.
My skin is so soft, clear and radiant.










on 2/17/2014 2:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I use this sweet almond oil at night instead of eye cream. It's moisturizing but not greasy. It has made my lashes fuller and less brittle. The skin under my eyes looks so much healthier since using this. All you need is a few drops, I definitely recommend you give this oil a try.


on 1/28/2014 10:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Awesome for winters dry eyes and skin!

Pros: it's light no smell it moisturizers cheap if you buy the regular one at whole foods not organic) pretty good deal for $6

Cons: don't use on t zone because it'll cause blackheads

I use all over my face and neck except my nose every night . In the day I use moisturizing cream. One pump is more than enough for the face so it'll last forever or at least all winter in nyc.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/30/2012 5:20:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I like this a lot. I used plain sweet almond oil without added vitamin E for some time. I could not find it locally when I was out so I got this. Its not the same at all so if your skin isn't truly all that dry or you've never tried sweet almond oil alone first, this may be too rich for you.

The viscosity of this is much thicker which is the most obvious difference. SAO on its own is a rather thin oil. Thicker than jojoba, thinner than EVOO but vit E changes the composition of the oil too. I felt like SAO isn't enough on its own for my very, very dry skin, I used it under other products. This is thick enough, moisturizing enough on its own.

But I like the plain version for removing makeup more because when this gets in my very dry eyes I find it quite irritating.

That said I like this a lot. I use this as a buffer under my AHA cream. I use this daily in some capacity and will repurchase when I use it up as it causes me no irritation and adds moisture.

I would love the bottle, you squeeze it but would prefer if I could control the amt. Each squeeze let's out the same amt each time, about a tsp, which can be wasteful for some. I make sure to apply the excess to my neck, hands and hair, so as not to waste any. I plan to get a smaller squeeze bottle to decant this into for more control. Its hygenic but again, let's out a bit much for my needs.

For very dry skin this SAO with vit E is very good stuff. Its a hybrid not a watered down SAO as stated on the label. I'm not sure why anyone would say this isn't high quality because its not pure SAO. Its clearly labeled as to what it is and we have to be carfeul consumers. The good news is for those who like SAO but at times due to very dry skin, want/need something heftier, this is a great option.
One last thing, many oils can be used under makeup (no spf here so save for night). After applying let sink in a bit then rinse your face well. Enough will be retained to wear under base makeup but not be an oily mess. However even with the added vit E there isn't a greasy feel, it absorbs quite well at least on my dry skin.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/12/2012 4:24:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is one of my HG products, as when I apply it after getting out of the shower, it really absorbs and I don't have dry skin, especially in the winter. I'm actually on my second bottle of this, and plan to repurchase again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/26/2012 1:02:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Totally agree with previous reviewer.


I got this as a freebie with an Aura Cacia purchase and I have been blown away.


The same week I bought 8 oz of Kiehl's "Superbly Restorative Argan Oil" @ 42 bucks and it wasn't even half of what this product is.


It's a little heavy to put on, but I love that there is no fragrance (no almond fragrance, it's just the name of the oil), but if you want to add and essential oil for fragrance you can.


Very restorative. My skin is like a baby's back side .... great for the neck, chest, all over the body (must try on lashes, great idea).


Price point .... ridiculously affordable.


Definite repurchase, and will be trying more in the Aura Cacia line.


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2012 3:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

*Snicker* Drugstore eye makeup removers... "Snicker*
Hmm? What? Oh, don't mind me. I was just giggling over the idea of spending my hard earned money on cosmetic eye makeup removers instead of using this little beauty. I adore this sweet almond oil! Not only does it makes the most fantastic, gentle, safe eye makeup remover, but it's cheap to boot! I spent about $5.99 on mine at Whole Foods, which is alot better than spending ten dollars on the Neutrogena eye makeup remover I used to use before Aura Cacia. I just get a little on a cotton ball, swipe a few times, and voila! Makeup's gone! It is a tad bit oily, so I just wet the other side of the cotton ball and wipe my eyes a bit to remove excess oil.
Oh, and can you believe that since I started using this sweet almond oil, my lashes have grown longer and thicker? It might be due to the Vitamin E that Aura Cacia puts in their oils, but I can assume that it's due to almond oil's conditioning benefits as well. Hey, eyelashes and eyebrows are hair too, why not condition them to keep them healthy?
I also use this particular oil as a conditioning treatment pre-poo on clarifying days. I rub some oil (sometimes I put a little bit in a bowl and heat it up int he microwave) through my dry hair, sleep on it, wake up in the morning, shampoo and condition, and bam! Softer, shinier hair.
I love this little miracle. It's available, affordable, lasts a while, and is overall one of the best decisions I've ever made for my beauty routine.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 12/7/2010 10:12:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just bought a new bottle of this after I don't know how long - maybe more than a year!! and I wonder how I lived without it all this time. I used to never NOT have it, then for a while I was using some of that Burts Bees Apricot Baby Oil - it was being discontinued at a local store and the price was so low I bought 4 or 5 bottles, storing them in the fridge so they wouldn't get rancid...but the BB apricot oil is just too heavy compared to this sweet almond oil.

Best oil there is. Light, not heavy or sticky or cloying at all. Sinks right in. Great for everything, from removing makeup to oil cleansing to moisturizing to shaving to hair conditioning - my ex had thick curly dark hair, and after showering would run it thru his hair as a leave in, his hair looked so shiny and felt so soft that I didn't mind him wasting stuff.

I especially love putting this on wet skin right after showering. Some oils are too heavy, and I feel like my skin is suffocating if I use as an all over moisturizer...but not with this. It absorbs quickly and just leaves you feeling soft and smooth.

I also experimented with adding essential oils, such as lavender, and trying to use as a perfume oil. I believe the essential oil I used for this, lavender, was not a good enough quality and the scent didn't last...but with a better essential oil, the almond oil would probably be great as a carrier oil. Buy at Whole Foods or most health stores. Worth every penny!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/23/2010 10:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I usually put a little of this on damp skin and then apply my normal moisturizer. I've noticed that it makes me look more awake, reduces the appearance of my under-eye circles and little lines, evens out my skin tone, softens my skin, and conditions my lashes. Maybe I'm just imagining it, but I feel like when I put this on my lips it plumps them up a little bit. I also use it on my hands and cuticles, and it makes an instant difference. Recently I got a rash from using too much Jojoba oil (stupid mistake), and every lotion I tried to put on the rash burned like crazy. This oil soothed and healed.

That being said, the package is really weird. No matter how gently I try to squeeze out a little bit, but the bottle wants to dispense the exact same quarter-sized amount every single time. It might be kind of cool if it weren't so annoying.

In any case, I highly recommend!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/7/2010 2:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

i love this oil! i put it on my face at night before i go to bed (just a drop or two, &i'm not acne prone so i dont know how well it works for acne prone skin) and i wake up in the morning to glowing, fresh skin. i love love love the way my skin looks with this oil. the only thing i cant stand is the packaging. you squeeze it a tiny bit and a giant flood comes pouring out the stupid squeeze top. oh well, small price to pay. i'm gonna try this on my hair and see how it works out. did i mention i love this stuff?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Body Skincare Products


All Products
708 Reviews
Healing Cream
313 Reviews


Top Rated Aura Cacia Products

image

Grapeseed Oil

85 reviews
Back to Top