Elizabeth Arden • Red Door • Fragrances

rated 2.8(230 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.40%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 9/11/2014 10:31:00 AM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Sheepishly, I confess that I used to HATE this fragrance and find it terribly sickening and almost vulgar in its bombastic florals and honey-weighted gravitas. The fact that "mature" women with impaired senses of smell seemed to snap up all the bottles at Marshalls every time they came out, wasn't helping much. And $15 for a one-ounce bottle? How elegant could it be at that flea-market price?

Then, one day, I noticed that if I applied just a bit of EDT to each wrist, then laid down to sleep, a really stunning aura of velvety red roses began to waft above my head. And I liked it-- but I still couldn't imagine wearing more than a dab.

Over many weeks, I noticed that of all my fragrances, RD was the one I wanted on my wrists as I fell asleep. It was just so voluptously rosy, yet more spicy and dry than straight-on rosebombs like Tea Rose or Paris. Then one night, I decided to bite the bullet and test this out as an actual "personal fragrance" for work (I work nights). I tried just a half-spray on my decollete, before I left for work. I felt a little dizzy at first, wondering if I'd made a mistake. But within minutes, the initial blast died down and I smelled absolutely, gob-smackingly gorgeous to myself. The next morning, my son's teacher noticed the remnants of my RD and said, "You smell GREAT!" My 4-year-old son concurred and demanded to wear it himself!

So here's where I admit that I've gone out and bought a parfum mini, the body powder, and the shower gel. This is good, good stuff! It takes a little getting used to-- it deserves its rep in "Guide to Perfumes" as a "handsome bludgeoner" and "last of the big-boned '80s perfumes." But now I've adopted it as my own and show no signs of stopping this sick obsession. If I'm an old lady, so be it! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 offender on 8/30/2014 7:36:00 PM more reviews by offender

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok I confess I love RED DOOR. My close friend wore it in college in the early 90's, and I loved it on her. Well this summer, I decided to go on the hunt for a new signature scent. I smell Red Door, and the memories flood back. So I am currently in love. I found it at TJ MAXX for under 20 $....
Yet to be honest, I have only received one compliment...but I don't care it smells beautiful to me! I feel lady-like and polished. So wear it I will!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shadedmaryy on 6/19/2014 5:05:00 PM more reviews by shadedmaryy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

this is pretty in a bottle. I had this one years ago and loved it. Red Door is a youthful fragrance, but I've moved on, don't think I would buy it again but if it was presented to me as a gift I'm sure I would wear it a lot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cockapoo on 6/9/2014 4:20:00 PM more reviews by Cockapoo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The reformulated edt is too strong and chemical-smelling for me, but I love the original scent--I find that using the shower gel in my bath satisfies my need for a Red Door 'fix'. :)
Mmm...warm and lovely!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 snkatha on 5/28/2014 11:46:00 AM more reviews by snkatha

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Black    

There's no perfume I loathe with as much fervor as I do Red door.scent they say is subjective so for any red door fans I apologize but I think this stinks. It's cloying, has eye watering sillage & it took two full force scrubbings to GET OFF ME!!! So yeah, I hate this perfume

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Laceymacpherson on 1/16/2014 1:40:00 AM more reviews by Laceymacpherson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This isn't something I would personally wear,but its a classic. It's to me,a power suit in a perfume. I hope that makes sense to others haha. This was the first perfume I remember seeing in a store and always smelling in the air at sears. a lady working in a shop once (who was helping my dad) I remember smelling this delightful sent and asking if it was this she was wearing. Lol,in 1996. I was 7,haha.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ncashen on 1/12/2014 1:00:00 PM more reviews by ncashen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This award-winning fragrance is such a classic floral by Elizabeth Arden. I like the concept and the bottle. I can appreciate the carefully crafted blend of ylang yang, rose, jasmine, orange blossom and the the rest of the bouquet that blossoms out of this fragrance.

I am highly sensitive to certain florals. Since Red Door is bursting with quite a variety of them right through its pyramid, I can't wear it.

It's heady with good staying power and silage. I can handle some rose and jasmine, but just not this much huddled together with freesia, lily, etc. I mean, you're really getting the whole flower shop with this one. I never do get to the sandalwood and vetiver in the base.

I don't subscribed to the "old lady" or "grandma" classification of any fragrance. I have read comments like that about Red Door. There are perfumes that were originally formulated prior to 1900 (look up Jicky Guerlain for women), and they're still wonderful today for people of any age. Red Door was created in 1989.

It's a beauty on paper, but it's not for me.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 laurenmf on 1/12/2014 11:10:00 AM more reviews by laurenmf

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This perfume floats around me like a warm, comforting cloud! I love tuberose and I get a lot of it in this perfume. Everyone else seems to think it smells serious or "old" (how does a perfume smell old? Old is an value of time, not a smell), but I think it smells amazing! I could wear this anytime of the year, although I have only used it in cold weather. I have so many perfumes that I don't wear this all the time, but it is in serious rotation. Very beautiful!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RedLipsBlackHair on 1/12/2014 3:33:00 AM more reviews by RedLipsBlackHair

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I adore Red Door. Every time I use this I smell the bottle first, say omg I love this, then spray. I just love it so much. It smells vintage, like I like so to me this type of fragrance is just right. A timeless classic in my opinion. Great lasting power, too. One spray and I'm good-to-go.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Morganna777 on 12/29/2013 12:09:00 PM more reviews by Morganna777

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Other    

I edited my review, I am on the fence with this one, sometimes I think it smells cheap and chemical , other times it smells ok. my nose has been spoiled perhaps by Madini oils.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Elizabeth Arden products

More Fragrances products