Elizabeth Arden • Red Door • Fragrances

rated 2.8(234 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.41%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 4Everlasting on 12/19/2014 1:01:00 AM more reviews by 4Everlasting

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my signature scent. Which might seem strange since I'm only 19. The scent just appeals to me so much, the layers and notes. (Sandalwood, Freesia, Lilly of the Valley, Moroccan Orange, Honey and Jasmine). I also love how strong the scent is because it means I don't need to use a lot. 2 sprays is all I need to get the desired strength I like. So the whole bottle lasts me a very long time. The scent lasts ages too, even with just 2 sprays. It stays on me for 8 hours on average, so through all important events of my day. I've been told that this scent is meant for more "mature persons," however I love this scent and it works on me.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 12/6/2014 2:42:00 PM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Poor Red Door and its reputation. It's cheap. It's geriatric. It's cloying. It's hideous. Roses and pee, orchids and puke.

And I actually thought that, too-- even after buying a bottle, for $10 at Marshalls (see? cheap!). Frankly
I just loved the bottle itself (the new one that is translucent red heavy glass, and looks like a door). When I would spray this on, trying to see if I liked any part of the composition, I'd feel claustrophobic and ill. I ended up with the bottle in my car as an air freshener.

Then I noticed that both I and others LOVED the smell of my car! It was a deep, luscious and spiced red rose, with an incense-like base. I finally figured out that I could get my body to smell that way by exercising extreme caution with the sprayer (1/2 squirt of the EDT in my navel only, followed by 20
minutes of sillage dry down before passing judgment). I loved it worn that way! There was even a soapy freshness to its dry down. And I liked the scent well enough to hunt down a vintage bottle on eBay, from 1989. Which smells significantly smoother and less harsh, since it predates the reformulation era-- highly recommend the vintage.


RD is the last of the bombastic, big-boned scents of the '80s, as Luca Turin noted in "Guide to Perfumes," and he also gave it a respectable 3 stars for being a "handsome oriental rose."


I noticed on the label of that vintage EDT that it contained 25 percent essential oil-- the concentration in most pure parfums! I guess Liz Arden likes to give us value for our dollar, but it's that intense concentration that I think contributes to negative reviews of this lush, womanly, gorgeous scent. You CANNOT overspray. I don't even think this stuff should have an atomizer. You CANNOT apply this close to your face. You will want to claw your nose off. But, give Red Door a discreet application, and you may end up loving and appreciating its unique, velvety signature. Meow!

Note: vintage bottles have the words "Red Door" printed in white on the front.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mushroom8118 on 11/7/2014 4:23:00 AM more reviews by mushroom8118

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Just like Chanel No.5, this is definitely a classic powerhouse. My way of describing it ~Proceed with caution & use sparingly~...too much it'll give you a headache for sure. My mom and I share a bottle. I'm in a love hate relationship with this one. I've had both positive and negative views/ comments whenever I wear this one. Anyhow, I treat it as one of my elegant and sensuous lady perfume :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MsDebbie on 11/6/2014 11:59:00 PM more reviews by MsDebbie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a classic feminine fragrance which I swear smells differently on all who wear it! It's very pretty and has a wonderful floral, yet alluring... almost sultry scent when I note it on others. For me, not so much :( Weird. Wish I could wear it, but I can't.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 9/17/2014 12:38:00 PM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Yick!!! So old-lady smelling - way too strong and old-school for me. Don't like this one. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 offender on 8/30/2014 7:36:00 PM more reviews by offender

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok I confess I love RED DOOR. My close friend wore it in college in the early 90's, and I loved it on her. Well this summer, I decided to go on the hunt for a new signature scent. I smell Red Door, and the memories flood back. So I am currently in love. I found it at TJ MAXX for under 20 $....
Yet to be honest, I have only received one compliment...but I don't care it smells beautiful to me! I feel lady-like and polished. So wear it I will!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shadedmaryy on 6/19/2014 5:05:00 PM more reviews by shadedmaryy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

this is pretty in a bottle. I had this one years ago and loved it. Red Door is a youthful fragrance, but I've moved on, don't think I would buy it again but if it was presented to me as a gift I'm sure I would wear it a lot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cockapoo on 6/9/2014 4:20:00 PM more reviews by Cockapoo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The reformulated edt is too strong and chemical-smelling for me, but I love the original scent--I find that using the shower gel in my bath satisfies my need for a Red Door 'fix'. :)
Mmm...warm and lovely!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 snkatha on 5/28/2014 11:46:00 AM more reviews by snkatha

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Black    

There's no perfume I loathe with as much fervor as I do Red door.scent they say is subjective so for any red door fans I apologize but I think this stinks. It's cloying, has eye watering sillage & it took two full force scrubbings to GET OFF ME!!! So yeah, I hate this perfume

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Laceymacpherson on 1/16/2014 1:40:00 AM more reviews by Laceymacpherson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This isn't something I would personally wear,but its a classic. It's to me,a power suit in a perfume. I hope that makes sense to others haha. This was the first perfume I remember seeing in a store and always smelling in the air at sears. a lady working in a shop once (who was helping my dad) I remember smelling this delightful sent and asking if it was this she was wearing. Lol,in 1996. I was 7,haha.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Elizabeth Arden products

More Fragrances products