Elizabeth Arden • Red Door • Fragrances

rated 2.8(235 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.40%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 1/15/2015 2:00:00 AM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

For years I've owned various bottles of Red Door, mainly because I like the bottles. Especially the newest design, an adorable translucent-red glass door.

RD is always dirt cheap at Marshalls, and I've always found it nearly unwearable, except a tiny drop only on my wrists when no one else is around to complain. I've always admired RD's honeyed, handsome rose- and violet-laden signature, but that signature has always felt buried somehow by the extremely piercing chemically topnotes that never quite fade. I've smelled RD on women with no taste who wear way too much of it, and it's just a saccharine godawful mess.

So, one day just for fun, I found a vintage bottle of EDT on eBay. I was aware the fragrance had undergone at least a couple reformulations since 1989, and per some of my favorite beauty blogs, each reformulation made the scent harsher and cheaper-smelling. The original bottles had the words "Red Door" printed across the bottle, and came in a box shaped like a door (not just with a door logo on it). As I opened the vintage box, I wondered whether it would be even stronger and more pungent than the newer stuff.

Well, what a surprise! There is a HUGE difference, but not in the way I expected. The vintage RD is infinitely more wearable and nose-friendly. It's closer to the skin, less overpowering, and utterly lovely, with none of the gross disinfectant-like smell I'd encountered in my other bottles. It's a gorgeous, deep, yet easy-to-wear floriental. The violet, woods, and honey really shine through. Everyone in my family loves it on me.
Definitely worth trying the vintage before you make up your mind about Red Door! When I smell it, I understand how many women made it their signature.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bagonzalez9 on 12/23/2014 1:04:00 AM more reviews by bagonzalez9

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I cant stand this!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 4Everlasting on 12/19/2014 1:01:00 AM more reviews by 4Everlasting

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my signature scent. Which might seem strange since I'm only 19. The scent just appeals to me so much, the layers and notes. (Sandalwood, Freesia, Lilly of the Valley, Moroccan Orange, Honey and Jasmine). I also love how strong the scent is because it means I don't need to use a lot. 2 sprays is all I need to get the desired strength I like. So the whole bottle lasts me a very long time. The scent lasts ages too, even with just 2 sprays. It stays on me for 8 hours on average, so through all important events of my day. I've been told that this scent is meant for more "mature persons," however I love this scent and it works on me.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mushroom8118 on 11/7/2014 4:23:00 AM more reviews by mushroom8118

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Just like Chanel No.5, this is definitely a classic powerhouse. My way of describing it ~Proceed with caution & use sparingly~...too much it'll give you a headache for sure. My mom and I share a bottle. I'm in a love hate relationship with this one. I've had both positive and negative views/ comments whenever I wear this one. Anyhow, I treat it as one of my elegant and sensuous lady perfume :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MsDebbie on 11/6/2014 11:59:00 PM more reviews by MsDebbie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a classic feminine fragrance which I swear smells differently on all who wear it! It's very pretty and has a wonderful floral, yet alluring... almost sultry scent when I note it on others. For me, not so much :( Weird. Wish I could wear it, but I can't.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 9/17/2014 12:38:00 PM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Yick!!! So old-lady smelling - way too strong and old-school for me. Don't like this one. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 offender on 8/30/2014 7:36:00 PM more reviews by offender

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok I confess I love RED DOOR. My close friend wore it in college in the early 90's, and I loved it on her. Well this summer, I decided to go on the hunt for a new signature scent. I smell Red Door, and the memories flood back. So I am currently in love. I found it at TJ MAXX for under 20 $....
Yet to be honest, I have only received one compliment...but I don't care it smells beautiful to me! I feel lady-like and polished. So wear it I will!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shadedmaryy on 6/19/2014 5:05:00 PM more reviews by shadedmaryy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

this is pretty in a bottle. I had this one years ago and loved it. Red Door is a youthful fragrance, but I've moved on, don't think I would buy it again but if it was presented to me as a gift I'm sure I would wear it a lot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cockapoo on 6/9/2014 4:20:00 PM more reviews by Cockapoo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The reformulated edt is too strong and chemical-smelling for me, but I love the original scent--I find that using the shower gel in my bath satisfies my need for a Red Door 'fix'. :)
Mmm...warm and lovely!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 snkatha on 5/28/2014 11:46:00 AM more reviews by snkatha

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Black    

There's no perfume I loathe with as much fervor as I do Red door.scent they say is subjective so for any red door fans I apologize but I think this stinks. It's cloying, has eye watering sillage & it took two full force scrubbings to GET OFF ME!!! So yeah, I hate this perfume

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Elizabeth Arden products

More Fragrances products