Elizabeth Arden • Red Door • Fragrances

rated 2.8(233 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.40%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 mushroom8118 on 11/7/2014 4:23:00 AM more reviews by mushroom8118

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Just like Chanel No.5, this is definitely a classic powerhouse. My way of describing it ~Proceed with caution & use sparingly~...too much it'll give you a headache for sure. My mom and I share a bottle. I'm in a love hate relationship with this one. I've had both positive and negative views/ comments whenever I wear this one. Anyhow, I treat it as one of my elegant and sensuous lady perfume :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MsDebbie on 11/6/2014 11:59:00 PM more reviews by MsDebbie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a classic feminine fragrance which I swear smells differently on all who wear it! It's very pretty and has a wonderful floral, yet alluring... almost sultry scent when I note it on others. For me, not so much :( Weird. Wish I could wear it, but I can't.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 10/26/2014 11:09:00 PM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I love the concept of this. I'm all for big, voluptuous vintage frags that take no prisoners and offer no apologies for being distinctive. The new bottle is really adorable, too, a ruby-red translucent "door."
It's an improvement on the old one, with its ultra-cheapo plastic cap and sprayer.

But. After years of hoarding small bottles of parfum and EDT and trying, on brave days, to wear this... I just can't. It makes me sick in any concentration and any amount. The red rose note in Red Door is the only pretty part, and maybe what kept me going for a while. Unfortunately, on my skin it's just suffocated by the other notes, which I can only describe as saccharine, toxically artificial, and urinaceous, by turns. The new formulation, in the door-shaped bottle, manages to smell even more chemical and overpowering on me.

Recently I again tried dabbing a tiny drop of RD on my wrist, trying to see if I could at last liberate that lush ripe rose from its cloying overwrap. As long as I kept my wrist far from my face, I was doing all right... Until I entered an art-supply store frequented by teachers, and was passed in the aisle by an older woman, clearly a chain-smoker and wearing gaudy and unflattering makeup.

Beneath the smoke there was a sweet, thick, obvious trail of Red Door, which wasn't doing any magic with her skin chemistry,
either. In fact-- far from elevating and glamorizing her-- it made her seem cheap and tasteless. She may not have been. She may have been a lovely woman with great accomplishments and self-esteem. But my point remains: if Red Door was projecting those things about her, it was doing the same for me.

And like that-- as happened with Youth-Dew and White Diamonds-- I was forced to accept that my initial opinion of Red Door all those years ago, was correct: "This smells terrible on me."

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 9/17/2014 12:38:00 PM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Yick!!! So old-lady smelling - way too strong and old-school for me. Don't like this one. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 offender on 8/30/2014 7:36:00 PM more reviews by offender

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok I confess I love RED DOOR. My close friend wore it in college in the early 90's, and I loved it on her. Well this summer, I decided to go on the hunt for a new signature scent. I smell Red Door, and the memories flood back. So I am currently in love. I found it at TJ MAXX for under 20 $....
Yet to be honest, I have only received one compliment...but I don't care it smells beautiful to me! I feel lady-like and polished. So wear it I will!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shadedmaryy on 6/19/2014 5:05:00 PM more reviews by shadedmaryy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

this is pretty in a bottle. I had this one years ago and loved it. Red Door is a youthful fragrance, but I've moved on, don't think I would buy it again but if it was presented to me as a gift I'm sure I would wear it a lot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cockapoo on 6/9/2014 4:20:00 PM more reviews by Cockapoo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The reformulated edt is too strong and chemical-smelling for me, but I love the original scent--I find that using the shower gel in my bath satisfies my need for a Red Door 'fix'. :)
Mmm...warm and lovely!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 snkatha on 5/28/2014 11:46:00 AM more reviews by snkatha

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Black    

There's no perfume I loathe with as much fervor as I do Red door.scent they say is subjective so for any red door fans I apologize but I think this stinks. It's cloying, has eye watering sillage & it took two full force scrubbings to GET OFF ME!!! So yeah, I hate this perfume

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Laceymacpherson on 1/16/2014 1:40:00 AM more reviews by Laceymacpherson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This isn't something I would personally wear,but its a classic. It's to me,a power suit in a perfume. I hope that makes sense to others haha. This was the first perfume I remember seeing in a store and always smelling in the air at sears. a lady working in a shop once (who was helping my dad) I remember smelling this delightful sent and asking if it was this she was wearing. Lol,in 1996. I was 7,haha.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ncashen on 1/12/2014 1:00:00 PM more reviews by ncashen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This award-winning fragrance is such a classic floral by Elizabeth Arden. I like the concept and the bottle. I can appreciate the carefully crafted blend of ylang yang, rose, jasmine, orange blossom and the the rest of the bouquet that blossoms out of this fragrance.

I am highly sensitive to certain florals. Since Red Door is bursting with quite a variety of them right through its pyramid, I can't wear it.

It's heady with good staying power and silage. I can handle some rose and jasmine, but just not this much huddled together with freesia, lily, etc. I mean, you're really getting the whole flower shop with this one. I never do get to the sandalwood and vetiver in the base.

I don't subscribed to the "old lady" or "grandma" classification of any fragrance. I have read comments like that about Red Door. There are perfumes that were originally formulated prior to 1900 (look up Jicky Guerlain for women), and they're still wonderful today for people of any age. Red Door was created in 1989.

It's a beauty on paper, but it's not for me.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Elizabeth Arden products

More Fragrances products