Garnier Nutrisse Permanent Creme Hair Color

3.9

907 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Just used this product today in medium natural brown. I don't typically have good luck with this brand of hair dye but I figured I would give it a shot. I have had my hair red for a while and had decided to go back to a more natural colour. Given that I was working with a red dye base, I figured there would be some red showing through. I was however hoping that the "natural" part would help to cancel some of the red out. Sadly, it did not and I now have darker red/auburn hair. Not a huge deal as I can just use an ash coloured dye in the next little bit. All in all, it's an okay dye but the smell is quite harsh. The formula is thick enough not to drip and applies easily.



on 6/25/2015 8:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I use extra light natural blonde or chamomile. Before using this color, I had highlighted hair with an inch of light ash brown roots. After leaving this color on for an hour, my roots and my highlights lightened and my hair turned to a more uniform blonde look. My only issue with this product is that this color did pull out the gold tones in my roots and the darkest pieces of my hair (from past lowlights) turned orange. I did fix this with a purple shampoo though. This is the best home color kit I have used so far and I will be touching up with this product!


on 6/20/2015 4:50:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I use the colour available in Canada closest to my natural hair--#30, Intense Dark Brown. I don't colour my whole head, just a couple of grey patches that have decided to randomly sprout up on my head, so I never use the full bottle at once.

WARNING--do this at your peril; I'm just telling you what I do, but it's off-label so exercise caution. The proportions that work best for me are closer to 1:1 dye and developer than what the instructions say--with slightly less dye than developer.

In these proportions, left on for 25 minutes, this stuff is PERFECT for me. It doesn't damage my hair (I really like the conditioner that comes with it), it doesn't smell really gross, and it covers my grey completely. I'd say when I only use sulfate free shampoo, it doesn't fade until at least a month has gone by, and by that time it's grown out enough that I need to do it again anyway.

I also love that it's so low-mess. I guess it could be because I'm not applying it all over my head, but when I put it on it stays put and does not drip. (I mix it up, then apply with a toothbrush to the grey patches). I've been using this stuff for about 6 months and it's very good. I'll be repurchasing.


on 3/2/2015 10:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I picked the Jet Black Color because I wanted Jet Black hair , since my hair is naturally black it doesn't take much . They recently Came out with A "reflective Dark " hair color , they claim the Blue black would be reflective and it's not . It's terrible , the blAck hair dye is dark brown and light brown in some places , terrible pigmentation , will not be purchasing this line again

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

not as drying as the other dyes even though the color is not as vibrant


on 2/6/2015 12:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Is it just with us brunettes? Or us "going grey" women?

My dark brown hair has salt and pepper roots near my forehead and crown. I used this Garnier Nutrisse Permanent as directed because CVS was out of L'Oreal Excellence, (which, honestly, colors much, much darker than pictured or described...and they are aware of it. But if I go 2 shades lighter than recommended, it's spot on fantabulous!), or even a decent color Clairol.

Never using this product again! Although I chose "dark ash brown", my 1.5 inch roots came out blackish blue...emphasis on blue, (although not a light blue as I read of others here with greyish roots). I was mortified. Even my husband, who notices nothing, did a double take.

Rather than subject my hair to immediate multiple dish liquid and baking soda stripping, I wore a wig for a week. But a week later, Garnier has nearly all washed out, and the greyish roots are back just as though I'd never colored them. So much for "Permanent". I guess that's the one good lie about Garnier. By contrast, I've have other dye jobs you couldn't budge with dynamite.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/31/2015 11:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have been dyeing my hair since I was 12 years old, due to a white birthmark on the crown of my head. My hair grows with small patches of white hair in that one spot, and it isn't a flattering look like Stacy London. It's more like a random spot of salt and pepper hair. My mom was a hairdresser is the past so she always dyed my roots and has been very careful not to damage my hair. No one ever suspects I dye my hair. My natural hair is dark brown, so I've been dying it that for years. I always used Revlon Colorsilk or Clairol because it was cheap and got the job done and I was never disappointed. It wasn't until I went to the store and they had ran out of Revlon and Clairol that I picked up Garnier. Let me just say, I'm not going back! I didn't realize until after using Garnier how flat my hair color looked before and how much the brands I was using lacked dimensional color. I picked up the Dark Brown 40 color creme and I have gotten so many compliments! In the sun, my hair has a pretty golden tint, which I've never had before. It looks so natural, people alway say "I wish I had your hair color!" I always tell them they can go buy it! It's more pricey but definitely worth it. I'll never go back to those flat and dull shades again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/28/2015 9:48:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Just so you know, the color 82 called Champage Blond has been totally changed! They do have a new picture and same color number BUT the formula is horrible! It does not cover the gray and the color has a yucky weird flat tone to it now. It also does not work for more than a month or so. I am so disappointed in the company. This color used to be great. I am researching new brands. Nothing else in Nutrisse matches the "old 82 Champagne Blond".

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/9/2015 3:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Besides Clairol Natural Instincts, this is the best hair dye at the drugstore. I've tried several of the shades, and each time I'm left with beautiful color, and extremely soft, shiny hair.


on 11/13/2014 11:47:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have black hair and need a root-touch up every month as my hair grows 1 inch/month. Root touch ups are $100/month at the salon, which is an astounding $1200/year, I need a cheaper and more reasonable alternative! (I also HATE sitting in the salon chair these days. I'm getting old ;)

I have only dyed my own hair once and it was a disaster. (I used L'Oreal Creme Gloss. Sucks. It is "semi-permanent" but it never washed out and the colour turned out much darker than the box.)I bought Nutrisse #53 Medium Golden Brown as I was scared that the colour would appear much darker than the box. Note: This haircolour DOES colour black hair to a lighter shade!!

Application was super easy. Thick creme, does not run, development time was 25 minutes. It didn't cover up my roots entirely. I think I will try one shade darker next time and use the product on my hair more liberally. That being said, the results are passable. It's a bit of an experiment, dyeing your own hair. Will update when I try the next shade darker.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top