NARS • Arctic Duo • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(26 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 misoluckie on 2/5/2011 6:02:00 AM more reviews by misoluckie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This's the begining of my nars eyeshadow obsession. Since Nars eyeshadow is on the super pricey side, so I buy only unique shades from Nars. This eyeshadow on the pan is a combo of mahogany red and shimmery steal-greyish color which doesn't seem wearable at all. But I glad I give it a try because this eyeshadow does comliment my brown eyes very well. The red doesn't look that scary on the skin it turn out to be a mahogany brown with a tiny bit of red tint. And the steal blue side is a super cute color. the 2 colors complement each other really well. They are pigmented and long lasting and very wearable. I can use it everyday w/o looking too harsh. I really really love this product like never did to any other. And I'd definitely buy again if I can finish this pan because a little could go along the way.

PS. I don't like Nars packaging at all. It turn dirty easily and very hard to clean.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shamuball on 5/20/2010 10:22:00 PM more reviews by shamuball

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i almost swapped this away in a purging binge, but luckily i tried it again. i love dramatic shades; these two come out as a deep granite + plum on me (NC25). it's easy to overapply if you load too much powder on your brush, so use a light hand. if i'm careful, i can wear it to work, no prob. on top of primer, lasts all day. LOVE!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AngelOnFire on 2/3/2010 11:13:00 AM more reviews by AngelOnFire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Arctic is my 4th NARS eyeshadow duo, but the first one I'm writing a review about. Why? Because I made up my mind about it the first time I wore it. It was difficult for me to justify the purchase since I have Underworld, and the gray shade of Arctic seems to be very close to Underworld's lighter shade in the pan, but it is a hint darker when swatched. So, effectively I got it because of the burgundy meets garnet shade.


Even though the duo seems less than conventional, both are very wearable together. It looks stunning with the shimmering gray on the eyelid and the garnet in the crease. The way the shades contrast with each other make the look sophisticated and unique. I can imagine wearing it both everyday to work and on dates, unlike other NARS duos (looking at you, Caravaggio!). It also makes me curious how both dark shades of Arctic and Underworld would play together. Steel blue and garnet must be interesting to look at.


The texture of the duo is definitely one of the better ones. Both shades are identical in feel; they are soft, but not enough to get brittle and crumbly (one complaint I have about the darker shade of Underworld). I don't have oily eyelids, and I can go without the eyeshadows creasing on me. I don't use bases or primers such as UDPP either.


This is definitely one of the most underrated eyeshadow duos in NARS' arsenal. Sophisticated, classy, sexy. One of my best buys from the NARS collection so far.


PS: For a few pictures, please click 'continue'







2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 10/10/2009 9:00:00 PM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

All in all, this is a fairly good duo from NARS. Although the one thing I really dislike about NARS duos is the colors rarely seem complimentary, and they put some odd colors together, this being the case with this duo. One color is a medium metallic grey/silver, the other shade is a medium to deep wine/burgundy. Both shades have shimmer to them and are incredibly pigmented and apply smoothly. However I would never in a million years wear these two shades together, but they're wonderful paired with other shadows separately. Both colors are truly beautiful on my brown eyes!! Definitely one of the betters NARS duos in my stash!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dottidolli on 7/7/2009 11:34:00 PM more reviews by dottidolli

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I got this for 8 bucks at C.O. Bigelow. I love how the two colors work together magically because I was hesitant about them in the same duo. Extremely pigmented.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amyzang on 6/16/2008 8:11:00 PM more reviews by amyzang

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very unique duo. I dont know why it is called arctic. To me, it is arctic in the darkness with mysterious aurora in the sky. The silvery greyish blue is called gunmetal gray, is one of the most ethereal colors I have ever seen. I actually like to pair it with a dark blue color, such as MAC contrast. The shimmery garnet color is super pigmented and serves as excellent eye liner.
All in all, very unique color combination.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* keahi on 2/18/2007 1:59:00 PM more reviews by keahi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

In my opinion, the Arctic duo is the feather in Francois' cap. Nothing creates a sultry smoky eye like this does. Strangely enough, the oddfellow pair of colors work miracles together on my dark brown eyes. I use the silvered grey on my lid with the burgundy in the outer V. The grey casts a cold, intriguing note in the center of my eyes and the burgundy warms it up. I could notice how the arrangement of colors creates a sort of optical illusion--changing the way you focus on the eyes and making my eyes look larger and more almond shaped to the observer (me, in the mirror). Add a highlight in the inner corners and the result is sexy, sexy, sexy. This makes me look like a fox if I may humbly say so. If I want to amp up the drama and sex appeal I reach for Arctic. I can't always endorse Nars' shadows, especially his duos. Seems like more often than not, one shade is good and one is sucky, but in Arctic, both shades are divinely pigmented and smooth. Secret weapon status this one.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jiney17 on 3/24/2006 1:08:00 PM more reviews by jiney17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is definitely an oddball color combination--steely blue-toned silver and deep, burgundy-berry. The texture is wonderfully soft and velvety (better than some other NARS shadows I've tried) and the pigmentation is deep and rich. The silver-grey color is shimmery while the burgundy is matte, and both are sheerer upon initial application (especially if one uses a brush) than one would expect, but can be very easily built-up to the desired intensity.



I found it very easy (a bit too easy) to do a dramatic eye with this (silver on lid, burgundy in crease and lower lid or vise-versa) as the striking color juxtaposition and vibrancy make that quite easy to do. I found it harder to do something subtler than that. The burgundy alone makes for a beautiful liner (if you can pull off reddish eye makeup), and I've found that this duo makes an weird, subtly complex, non-color when you blend the colors together. It's not an everyday sorta look, and someone with the wrong coloring (or even someone on an off day) will look bruised with this duo. I have mixed feelings about it, much like the rest of you--the quality is great, and the colors are beautiful, but it's not a very versatile duo for me. For the price, I think it's not really worth getting unless you know it'll be terrifically flattering on you.



(I'll add that a cheap, low-end approximation of this duo would be Milani's Mercury+Silver Bullet and Marooned).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LauraChantel on 1/3/2006 3:17:00 AM more reviews by LauraChantel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

About me: NC 25, Neutral/Warm, Green Eyed Brunette.

Arctic is a sexy combination ;) I save this for evening events and they make my eyes sparkle and smolder. I like to pair this with a fluidline e/l *dipdown*, highlight my inner corners with retrospeck or similar plus a few coats of hypnose and I am one sexy kitty. meeeoww

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lolly5377 on 5/9/2005 3:35:00 PM more reviews by lolly5377

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

When I bought this duo, I expected it to be something I would wear only a few times, at night, when I was all glammed up. But the colors in this are much more subtle than I expected. When applied, I find them to be much less dramatic than they are in the pan. But this is a great thing! The lighter shade, a medium blue-gray shimmer, looks less frosty on the lid than it did in the pan. The burgundy goes on as a medium brownish-pink plum. I used a light hand and found that this duo could easily be worn during the day--and I'm pale. (Laura Mercier Blush Ivory foundation) They're among the most flattering colors I own. Do not judge this one at first glance! I wore it with the NARS Kaliste eye pencil and navy mascara, and it really makes my green eyes even greener. One of NARS's best.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Eye Shadow products