Clean • Clean • Fragrances

rated 2.6(292 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.33%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 LexiClarice on 9/29/2014 2:40:00 PM more reviews by LexiClarice

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Smells like Dove soap with a hint of sugar. Does indeed smell "Clean". Great for just hopping out of the shower and getting on the move. It's not something I'd wear on a date with the hubby, but something I'd toss on when I'm in a rush. Would I buy it again after it runs out? No, but it's nice to have around and will be rarely worn so it should last a good while.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aleung88 on 1/13/2014 4:53:00 PM more reviews by aleung88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The first time I smelled this was in 2004, and InStyle had one of those perfume ads with the sniff-strip. I was lying in my mom's room and flipping through it, and bam! This scent hits me and I've never been able to get over it.

Fast forward 10 years now and it's still my all-time favourite. I've got about 8 empties sitting at home, and still going strong on the love. Maybe it's how it reacts to my skin, but the initial spray is (agreed) overpowering and Lysol-like. But given 10 minutes, it morphs into this light, delicious, lemony-fresh soap smell. I have endless compliments everytime I wear it. I've had creepy experiences of random strangers sniffing at me. And best of all...Ive become associated with the scent. My friends will be walking in a mall, suddenly catch a whiff of Clean, and think that I'm there too.

So the catch22 here is that while I'm completely in love with it, and love being unique in this scent, it concerns me that so few others love it like this! I'm constantly stricken with the worry that they're going to stop making it!!! I hope they never do - this is my signature scent, and it's been 10 years of love for it.

My one gripe is the packaging - whenever I travel with it, and I do often, I lose about a 10th of the perfume to cabin pressure or something. Ugh. They never updated the packaging! My only remedy is to wrap a beloved scarf around the bottle, so at least the leakage does something useful!

**EDIT** And if anyone who tried it, and hated it, and wants to get rid of it...talk to me, I have no problems picking up a spare bottle :) But word of warning to everyone too.. I once made the mistake of getting Clean from those perfumeria or perfume mania outlet places...NOT THE SAME. They changed the formula there! Pure Sephora or Holt Renfrew buy for me

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 1/4/2014 4:50:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Holy crap, I am so sorry I ever bought this. It was so expensive for what it is. $70 bucks for a crappy fragrance that was not special. At first I thought I would love it, its clean smelling and not going to overwhelm. It smells like something fake. Hard to describe but its not a "clean" smell to me. It smells a lot like one of those chemical soaps from the restrooms. I don't think that is something to aspire to.

I have tons of fragrances and have tried tons in the last 25 years and this is a total dud. WAY overpriced and chemically. Unless you wanna smell like you walked out of the department store restrooms then go for it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lrigtnahpele on 1/27/2013 2:34:00 AM more reviews by lrigtnahpele

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This stuff smells like ramune. Love the smell, doesn't take a lot for it to last all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brudeza on 12/27/2012 3:52:00 PM more reviews by brudeza

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this fragrance. Bought last month, it is pricey for me and for an everyday perfume. I wanted something mild for work. This is critrus does not last long though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 leahkayjay418 on 10/23/2012 4:39:00 PM more reviews by leahkayjay418

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I got a sample of this from Sephora, and it's okay. I don't smell anything like wet dog or any other sort of unpleasantness. It smells - clean. Soapy with little hints of a very light musk, a delicate floral, and a bit of citronella, but mostly it smells like bubbles. When I put it on, it smelled as though I had spilled a bottle of bubble solution on my skin. If that very clean, very soapy smell is what you're looking for, look no farther. But for me, this is definitely a try before you buy - the scent is incredibly simple and, even to lovers of clean smells, may be underwhelming.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* marhope78 on 10/6/2012 1:18:00 PM more reviews by marhope78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't understand all the bad reviews here. Yes, this smells a little lemony at first but it quickly settles into such a fresh, clean, beautiful, feminine scent. I love it!! It just smells like sunshine to me and not too much like soap as others have stated. I wear this during any season, whenever the mood strikes (which is often). Probably best for day wear because it's not necessarily a "sexy evening out" kind of scent, but great for everyday use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nekura on 11/30/2011 9:00:00 PM more reviews by Nekura

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I feel like CLEAN reformulated their 'signature' scent at some point... I've read hit/miss reviews on this however I recently bought a bottle from TJmaxx with a slightly different (even more boring/bland bottle with no white sticker, just a text printed on it) than what Sephora sells currently but in a larger 2.14oz for about 10 bucks.


For the older bottles of this fragrance I actually don't really detect anything lemony or overly citrus. It really smells like their basic description - some kind of soap. There is a citrus note and it's quite faint but it's not an offensive smell on my skin or clothes as it's just a basic smell that kind of reminds me of clean clothes or the local laundromat dryer section. It's quite warm and actually unique in a way as it's not a common "perfume" scent but at the same time the smell isn't actually anything special or something people would notice because it's kind of a very common type of fresh smell. This scent is good for hot days, low-key days, work, or someone who is looking for a basic simple scent because they're sensitive to florals/gourmands/etc. The price is kind of ridiculous though for what it is though at retail, I feel like you'd get a similar effect if you rub your wrists and neck with a dryer sheet! That's not a bad thing but for $69+ a 2.14pz bottle.. Sadly I would not buy it again unless I see it at a discount price! For 10 bucks why not! but $70! no thanks! Luckily I've been seeing these things pop up in Marshall's/TJmaxx a lot. Try there first! The older versions smell much better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Argogirl on 11/2/2011 7:19:00 PM more reviews by Argogirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really don't understand all the hateration with this scent - yes it's going to smell CLEAN and to some people that is lemony and some people that is dryer sheet and some people that is soap. Since when was smelling simply clean a crime? Since when is the smell of soap 'offensive'? Why would people want to smell like soap you ask? When they don't want to smell like sexy musk or girlie flowers or sweet cupcake vanilla. In essence, this is IMO the perfect "career" perfume. You want to smell professional yet 'good' but not offend or seduce or entice or make hungry - you want to stand alone and not let your perfume speak for you. I'm a teacher and it's just perfect. I usually wear Clean Ultimate or Pure Grace and sometimes just CLEAN original, esp. on Interview Night. I can see a real estate agent in NYC wearing Clean, I can see dental hygienists, teachers, receptionists, accountants, etc. all wearing CLEAN, as when you work with people day to day you don't want to turn off and offend -- and I can't imagine who would be turned off by a clean smell. (??) Girls night, date night, parties, social affairs I wear something else -- but not because CLEAN would be inappropriate -- there are just more exciting choices I would rather rock on those occasions. Formal affairs, clubbing, is the time you bust out the sexy and sweet. But CLEAN would absolutely be ok as well.

If CLEAN is too strong for you, CLEAN Ultimate has a little more depth, character, musk and sexiness -- but still smells clean. That may be the one for you if Original comes on too strong...and for the love of God, in both cases wait for the dry down!!! Geesh!

It's also great for lazy days and cuddling.:) But it's the quissential work fragrance. I just don't understand why an attorney would want to smell like she is fist-pumping -- or why a doctor would want to smell like flowers. Or why at a funeral you would want to smell like vanillas and candy. All I'm saying is, there is a time and place for everything, and trust me, CLEAN (or clean smelling fragrances -- like Pure Grace, Sea Island Cotton from B&BW, etc.) all have a relevant place in a woman's fragrance collection, as it is not always appropriate to "make a statement" with your cologne but rather, you make the statement while you simply just smell clean and fresh. Period.

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tricyclesinskirts on 10/25/2011 4:08:00 AM more reviews by tricyclesinskirts

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Not for obnoxious, angel/gucci/juicy/attention-types...clean is just as advertised, y'all, and i'm not sure why sure you'd expect much more. If you do, however, there's an entire line devoted to the hatred of perfume (CB I hate perfume--he did a line for Demeter--)and would like to explore other "clean" options" outside this brand. Anyway, this is a lovely scent for those of us who enjoy smelling like laundry, and believe it or not, we do exist--and aren't boring.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clean products

More Fragrances products