Merle Norman Total Finish Compact Makeup

3.8

56 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/11/2015 8:43:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Omg this was my HG foundation when I did beauty pageants!!! It has such great coverage and lasts a lonnng time! If only there was a Merle Norman store near me!



on 2/25/2015 2:36:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

My skin is changing and starting to get just a bit dry, especially now in the winter months. I have been looking for a foundation that still makes me look completely natural, doesn't settle into pores or lines, doesn't break me out, and of course the color! The color is what kept me from finding that perfect foundation. I have been on a quest for about 2 months looking for one with all those attributes. I have tried so many different brands in Sephora and the department store's make up counters (and yes I have tried mineral powders bought online). One of them that I tried was Elizabeth Arden. I absolutely love their cream along with their ceramide foundations, but none, absolutely none of their colors matched me or even close. I am between light to slightly medium and tried everything. On a whim I thought I'd just run into a Merle Norman store just to say I tried everything, but not expecting much. When I was 18 I went into one to get a makeover and bought a bunch of their makeup (that I did really like) and then just wore mascara for years and years after that. So I walked up to the sales lady, told her what kind of skin I had, she had me try on the Total Finish in Alabaster Beige, and BINGO this was it! I adore this foundation especially the color, it's a neutral and many of the sales people wear that same shade, it's that good. I did not buy it right away as I had to take it home, sample it for any break outs, the color in all different types of lighting, the look, etc... It has passed with flying colors with everything I have been looking for in the search for my perfect foundation, and I am so thrilled I have finally (after what seems like a never-ending quest) found it! I apply with a dupe Beauty Blender (Real Techniques found in Walmart) and it can be a light through a heavy coverage foundation. I hope this review might help others and also be successful in finding their match!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

very good product


on 10/2/2014 8:33:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I used this product a long time ago. Then, I start using bare minerals until I started getting fine lines under my eyes. Bare minerals settled into the fine lines really badly...and I tried every primer in the world and it didn't help. I also am a student nurse, and when I had to wear a mask,the makeup would come off in the mask and look so bad, I would have to wash my face. So, I decided to try merle Norman again, and I love it. It doesn't settle in the lines, come off when I have to wear a mask, and it covers well with little product. One thing I would say, is if you have oily skin, or if it tends to get oily at the end of the day, I would NOT use this makeup. I think it works best if you have skin more on the dry side. Also, if your prone to break-outs, I wouldn't use it either...even though I have never broken out as a result of this product. But, if you have issues with mineral powder foundations settling into lines and dry skin, I would definitely try it. The store I went to had a very helpful salesperson and she matched me to the perfect color. It never looks pink or orange and lasts all day.


on 8/17/2014 7:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

i haven't written a review in a while but i had to write one on here to express my dissatisfaction of this product. it made my face oily after an hour of use. it looked like a mask. and i had breakouts the very first day of wearing it and my skin was completely clear before trying it for the first time. my face had been clear for weeks until i put this horrid makeup on. plus i had to scrub my face 3 times to get it to come all off! and the owner of merle norman where i live was very rude. she let me try a few products. and expected me to buy all the products i tried right off the bat when i explained to her i had never tried merle norman before. i told her i didn't want to buy 90 dollars worth of makeup i just wanted to buy one product so i could see if it broke me out. she then proceeded to tell me that since i tried a few products, (ones she suggested i try) i had to pay $15. i was like wow, i didn't know i had to pay to try the makeup... i had a horrible shopping experience and the makeup was horrible. i will not be using merle norman. and the color she gave me, was completely the wrong shade. i will be going to belks, where they actually have better customer service, more variety, more shades, ect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/5/2013 7:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I wore this for years and years until I switched to MAC studio fix. I'm still trying to find a foundation that has the coverage of this one. PROS: Perfect coverage, smooth, flawless application, you get a lot of product for your money. CONS: highly transferable, can look caked on, settles in creases and ages you throughout the day, does not photograph well, not a lot of colors offered. I switched to MAC studio fix which is much less product for $6 more dollars ($27), the color of it is perfect, it photographs well, does not cake, but the coverage is just ok. My husband likes it much better than Merle Norman bc it looks more natural.


on 5/29/2013 8:34:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This product provides great coverage and goes on smooth. I always wet the applicator...a dry applicator makes the product too thick (at least for me). The color blends well with my skin, and sits well on my skin as well. I've had problems recently with liquid foundations not working well with my skin as it has aged but this foundation is just perfect!!!


on 5/4/2013 4:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this product! I've been using this for years and my mom has used it even longer. The colors are tricky and I agree there is an orange undertone to some of the colors. Porcelain and ivory work well for me without orange. I admit that I do not like this as well in humid weather because it feels too heavy but if you want coverage you will not find a better product. I have tried them all. I like the cream foundations and I like the portability. I must admit I have a big supply and have not experienced the new packaging yet. The old packaging is worth the price it lasts forever as alittle of this stuff goes a long way.


on 4/12/2013 10:01:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

EDIT - 07.09.13 - I have tried this a couple of times since writing this review as I cannot return it and everything I wrote below still applies. I have tried different applications and setting spray. This is still the poots for me.

I don't know what has happened to Merle Norman. I used to love their color match. Lately everything seems to pull pink or so neutral it washes me out. I explained my skin in great detail to the SA. Explained I like full coverage and need my makeup to stay put. This is what she recommended.

This is the worst foundation I have tried in a long time. Applies beautifully. Within 10 minutes it starts to break down on my face and sank into my pores. I am not a lumberjack or landscaper, I work in an office and by 10am my hair was sticking to my face. By the end of the day I was a greasy, spotty mess. I tried this over a week with different primers, moisturizers, setting powders, etc. to no avail. It transferred to everything and completely wore off where my sunglasses touched my face. The final straw was a nasty breakout. To top it off the owner of the store is hassling me about returning this.

I am officially done with Merle Norman. There are so many good options these days and much better values. Although they do have lovely color products, they are overpriced. There are a ton of places such as Dillard's and Sephora that give you samples, coupons, lots of freebies, and more than one person manning the store.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 2/11/2013 5:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this product. It gives the best coverage of any foundation I've ever used. Covers alot of skin discolorations. Last's all day also.


Back to Top