Matrix Biolage Ultra Hydrating Conditioning Balm

4.2

178 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

INGREDIENTS Water/Aqua, Cetearyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium Chloride Glycerin, Amodimethicone, Cetyl Esters, Lanolin, Fragrance, Methylparaben, Cetrimonium Chloride, Tricontanyl PVP, Chlorhexidine Dihydrochloride, Propylene Glycol, Polysorbate 20, Shea Butter (Butyrospermum Parkii) Fruit, Algae Extract/Algae, Safe Leaf Extract/Salvia Officinalis, Pollen Extract, Saponaria Officinalis Extract/Saponaria Officinalis, Silk Amino Acid, Wheat Germ Oil, Wheat Germ Oil/Triticum Vulgare, Lemongrass Extract/Cymbopogon Schoenanthus


on 2/19/2015 7:07:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a spin-off of the regular tried and true biolage conditioning balm, and if youre not careful you could easily buy the wrong one because the labels are almost exactly the same.

So the makers took a great rare recipe for success and ruined it by adding silicones to an otherwise perfect conditioner and shampoo with this ULTRA line. Its really false advertising in a big way because the original is the actual ultra-hydrating of the two. This one just gives your hair the initial band-aid effect of silicone slickness, but its not good for actual, real moisturizing at all. Basically the original's effects are real and lasting (meaning, for example, if you want to grow out your hair the original will one will encourage that because the formula really nourishes your hair and keeps it strong, and moisturized) while the ULTRA's effects are completely smoke and mirrors, and you will need to trim new split ends much much sooner, because the silicones will be drying out your hair, and causing it to become brittle.

As many here know, silicones are in most shampoo and conditioners nowadays... Why? Because AT FIRST they give the illusion of more moisture and better conditioning through the "slip" which is very noticeable after use with these types of conditioners. It may also, in the beginning stages of use, give your hair a bunch of shine. The problem with silicones is many: First of all it will, in a short amount of time, suck the moisture right out of your hair and make it dry and brittle and causing your ends to split (making you think you have dry hair, so you go out and get more silicone laden conditioner, and on and on it goes). Second, it will build up on your hair like layer upon layer of microscopic plastic wrap. Third, its not really conditioning at all. Its only the illusion of conditioning! That illusion may last even into a few weeks, but it wont last forever, and as for me, my hair actually gets damaged and needs to be cut when I go on a silicone binge. Your hair may be tougher than mine, but consider yourselves warned.

The Ultra line is awful... Its no better than most other silicone drenched hair products. Dont buy this one thinking its the same or, god forbid, better than the original version. It most certainly is not. Take it from someone who's been using the original for 20 years, and who has tried countless products with cones in them, including this product. At 40 years old I know now what cones do to hair.
You can read my review of the regular cone-free, protein-free BIOLAGE CONDITIONING BALM if you like. I highly recommend that one, and ive been using it almost exclusively for 20 years. Its absolutely amazing. (look in my photos to see pictures of my hair)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 10/17/2013 6:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I usually buy the conditioning balm and when I saw this in the store I thought...like the name says ...ultra conditioning :) Wrong...it's watery, not conditioning at all and left my hair hard to comb thru and tangled...Finished the jar but won't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/28/2013 2:59:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have used the regular Conditioning Balm forever, it's the product I always go back to. My hair is bra length thick, curly, frizzes easily, tangley, colored but very healthy. I have to use a thick conditioner or else I can't brush or comb through my hair. My daughter has all my hair issues except hers is straight, unprocessed and to her butt. I purchased this product 4 days ago and absolutely hate it. This in no way compares to Conditioning balm. This formula is thinner, does not hydrate and I'm left with hair that feels like I didn't use conditioner at all. I will be giving this product to someone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/1/2013 10:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Description of my hair: Thick, coarse, curly and wavy, heat damaged.

I got a very terrible haircut a few years back and straightened my hair more often because it would frizz up if I wouldn't. It was also bleached in some spots and dyed which added insult to injury. My hair did not grow at all, I was frustrated using joico Kpac and anything else conditioning did not help. My great aunt who is a hair dresser recommended this to me and I decided to try it out. I have tried Matrix products but never the Biolage line. Well, I used this once a week in my hair after I used shampoo and left it in for an hour or so. After I washed it out and let it air dry and I swear in one use my hair was SOFT again and didn't feel brittle like it usually did. I constantly did this routine and also washing my hair only once or twice a week and my hair started to grow FINALLY! I am so grateful for this conditioner because it does not weigh down my hair at all, it smells amazing, it improves the quality of your hair and helps it grow. It is a little bit on the pricy side but it being in a tub makes it easier to control how much you use (which isn't very much since it's soo creamy). I recommend this to anyone and everyone whenever they ask for something to help damaged and brittle hair because now I have gorgeous hair that people compliment on all the time. :) Thank you Biolage <3


on 6/7/2013 11:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I recently started dying my naturally very dark hair blonde. Not to be surprised my hair started drying and my ends became brittle. This conditioner really has helped repair and keep my hair soft and supple.


on 3/11/2013 11:04:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

My hair is extremely thick, coarse, dry, color-treated, and heat-styled, so I ask a lot out of my hair products. I have used Biolage products in the past, and have always had good luck, so when I recently had my hair colored & highlighted, I picked up this balm, along with the colortherapie shampoo. Price was inexpensive for a salon brand: around $17 for a 10 oz tube regular price, and I got it on sale for $11. The balm has that typical light floral "Biolage" scent, which I personally love. The conditioner isn't super thick or waxy, it has a fairly thick consistency and a little goes a long way. I use about a quarter-sized amount for my hair (chin-length bob but extremely thick), and let it sit while I finish my shower, then rinse. My hair is soft, sleek, frizz-free, and hydrated. No feelings of being coated or weighed down, either. For my hair type, this is a definite HG product. My hair is color-treated and highlighted, and this didn't harm or fade my color at all. I am extremely pleased with this, and I will definitely repurchase when I run out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My HG. I love this product! I use every single day. It moisturizes my hair without weighing it down. Also smells amazing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/2/2012 12:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I'm really disappointed with this product. I decided to start caring about my hair after a few monthly hair cuts weren't keeping up with the splits. I decided to skip over the 'cheap, ineffective' products and go straight to the pricey salon treatments. At over $23 a jar, it just has to work. Biolage has such a great reputation!

I brought it home and instantly knew it was a flop. There is a waxy, stickiness that's apparent on application. It doesn't really weigh my hair down, but it doesn't moisturize either. Massive disappointment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/10/2012 5:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I purchased the Biolage Ultra conditioning balm as a part of a great BOGO deal.

I enjoy the Biolage fragrance, which is light and smooth. The scent does not linger all that much. I found the ultra condition balm left my hair very waxy and it did not take away any frizz. The tube is standard packaging the price is okay - no more than $22.00 canadian for a salon brand and often part of sales and offers. When sales and such are factored into purchasing some drugstore brands cost just as much.

I liked the Biolage Hydrating balm much better than the Ultra balm. If anyone finds that the Ultra balm leaves their hair coated and waxy, give the regular balm a try.


on 8/5/2012 2:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

this is my HG conditioner/mask! i wash my hair every other day now, thanks to dry shampoos! and this stuff works amazingly well to make my hair soooo soft and yet doesnt weigh it down. i go crazy when im 50% through the tub and will quick repurchase!


Top Rated Matrix Products

Back to Top