Aveda Madder Root Conditioner

4.2

69 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Aqueous Purified Water Extracts: Rubia Tinctorum Extract, Clover Extract, Henna Extract, Sweet Almond Extract, Wild Cherry Bark Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Extract (Organically Grown), Dipalmitoylethyl Hydroxyethylmonium Methosulfate (Palm), Stearyl Alcohol (Mixed Plant), Dimethicone Copolyol (Silica), Glycerin (Coconut), Behenamidopropyl Ethyldimonium Ethosulfate (Rapeseed), Distearyldimonium Chloride (Coconut), Babassu Oil, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch, Tocopheryl Acetate, Oryzanol (Rice Bran), Stearyldimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolzed Wheat Protein, Glyceryl Stearate (Coconut), Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride (Guar Beans), Dicapryl Ether (Coconut), Cetyl Alcohol (Coconut), Cetrimonium Chloride (Mixed Plant), Cyclomethicone (Silica), Cetyl Hydroxyethylcellulose (Cellulose), Sodium Citrate (Molasses), Citric Acid (Molasses), Fragrance, Diazolidinyl Urea, Annatto (Colorant), Basic Brown 16 (Colorant), Basic Red 76 (Colorant)


on 2/6/2015 10:09:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have repurchased this again and again; holy grail for my natural red hair. I can make a tube last 6 months as I only use it 1-2 x a week; I haven't used hair color in years as this is all I need to keep my hair from fading. I'm 42- no grey or white ( yet) so I can get away with this for the time being.
I love the smell of Aveda products, and this has the same fresh plant essence scent. It doesn't weigh my hair down ( fine textured) and makes my unruly curls easy to comb through. A must for redheads, whether the shade you were born with or salon created.



on 8/23/2014 5:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So, normally my hair is a very dark brown. But I work at a Hair Salon as a receptionist, and I had one of the girls do a partial highlight of a violet-red color, and the rest of my hair is a violet-reddish-black. I absolutely LOVEE the color, but the problem is, even after just ONE wash, the red fades and continues to fade to a light coppery color. But i just want it to be that red-violet color all the time! I was thinking about giving up on being red until this conditioner was brought to my attention. I swear, it was a savior. At first I was weary, because the actual color of the conditioner was a much brighter red than my hair. So I was nervous that it would turn my hair color into a different kind of red. But, nope, it didn't! It completely brightened up the red that I already had in my hair and just after ONE use. Now I don't have to worry about my hair color fading. I put a good amount into my hair after shampooing, brushed it through, clipped my hair up in a hair clip, and left it in for 15 minutes. It truly is a great product. Definitely a must-try.


on 4/8/2014 6:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this stuff, have repurchased numerous times. Adds a color boost to my unnatural red hair. Good conditioning level too. Moisturizes but does not weigh down my fine thin hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/11/2013 10:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love this. I have red hair from a bottle so it's always in varying stages of red. This and the roux color refresh mask in fire red are great. Ill leave them in overnight. It's a cool red. I also have Ted Gibson captivating copper that I use depending on what hue my hair is going through at a particular stage haha. All 3 of these conditioners I use and abuse and I never have the red fading problem so many others lament.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/24/2013 9:07:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

If you are struggling to maintain red hair, then this is the product for you. I decided to go red in March and have tried every dye under the sun to keep it red. I bought Madder Root based on the recommendations from MUA and Amazon. 5 days ago I applied it and left it on for 15 minutes. Not only is my hair a beautiful red shade, I have gotten compliments on the color from co-workers, casual acquaintances and even random strangers.


on 5/26/2013 7:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Totally works!

I have really dark brown-black hair, strictly gold undertones with no hint of red. I'd try to dye my hair red, and I wouldn't even get a red tint in the sunlight. :/ So I tried the Madder Root Conditioner on a whim. IT WORKED! :D Within just a few uses I had gorgeously rich, red tones in my hair, resulting in a warm, dark auburn in natural light and this awesome crimson-tinted brown in direct sunlight.

MRC does smell kind of weird but that's due to the henna, I'm sure. My mom dyed her hair with henna for years and it always smelled weird too, lol. Also, it REALLY stains. EVERYTHING. Hands, tile, shower curtain, window... So please make sure you have a good tile cleaner.

Also, while the color was what I was most concerned about, it could have been more moisturizing. :/ It left my hair a bit tangled and dry.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this product! I just bought it for the first time one week ago and have noticed such a difference. I have dark hair with auburn undertones. This has made my very subtle highlights brighter, and has really warmed up the tones of red in my hair. My hair shines more beautifully in the sun than ever! It's about $18 for a tube, but you don't need a lot and you don't need to use it every day. Now that I've achieved the color I want, I will start mixing it with my regular conditioner to maintain the color. Ladies with marble showers, be careful - the porous marble will drink this stuff up and stain almost immediately. I try to squeeze all the water out of my hair before I put this on so that it doesn't splash about. Overall, amazing product. And I'm sure it will save me money since I won't need to dye my hair as often because the red won't fade! AMAZING!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/18/2013 3:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have strawberry blonde hair and was searching for something that would keep my red tones from fading. I was hesitant to use this alone because I kept reading this was a very cool toned red and my hair is more warm coppery. In the beginning I mixed this with the chamomile conditioner and I had good results but decided I wanted some more color and tried this alone. I did not find this cool toned at all and instead it enriched my warm copper tones while conditioning it at the same time. I only keep this on for 4 or 5 minutes and my hair is left shiny, detangled and not weighted down at all. I even have some very blond- white strands and was afraid that this would turn them pink but it just imparts a subtle warm red hue. I alternate with the chamomile when I feel my hair is already saturated. This is the best color depositing conditioner for frequent use I have ever used. My hair is long and fine and I feel this conditioned it without needing something extra.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 3/5/2013 11:15:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I started dying my hair when I started noticing greys around my 30th bday. I just have my stylist match my natural auburn color. Normally am not high maintenance w hair but knowing how difficult red coloring is to maintain, I was recommended this conditioner to keep color fresh longer.

This stuff works if you use it in conjunction with other color safe products. I use it w Tressa Watercolors in Molten Bronze shampoo - another color maintenance product.

Tips - leave this conditioner on for 5-7 minutes, and maybe use a shower cap. I also mix some Macadamia Nut conditioner with it, as I don't feel like it's conditioning enough for my very coarse hair. It's probably fine for normal hair!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/16/2013 9:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Warning - You may become very vain after using this product!

My hair is naturally dark blonde with auburn hints and I've always wanted to go redder. I've always been scared to dye it outright as I was afraid that even with semi-permanent dye I would never get it back to it's original colour.

So after hearing about Madder Root and reading the other reviews I thought I'd give it a go!

So far I've only used it once - after shampooing I combed it through my hair and left it for about 3-4 mins. There is strong herbally smell, which is nice. You do have to watch where the red goes as it does leave a residue in the tub but it washes away easily.

I blow-dried my hair as usual and I instantly noticed the difference. My hair is noticeably redder, even after one use! It has done exactly what I wanted it to do - it has really brought out the auburn shades and where my hair was the lightest there is now a subtle red tint. There is a beautiful sheen to my hair (I have to keep checking myself out in the mirror!!)

I would definitely recommend using this but I would be careful if your hair is naturally or dyed quite light blonde as you might have a bit of a shock! I've only rated 4/5 overall because of the price... it's a lot more than I would normally pay but for the feeling you get using it, I would say it's definitely worth treating yourself.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Aveda Products

image

Shammy Cloth

43 reviews
image

Lip Saver

103 reviews
Back to Top