Pantene Sheer Volume Conditioner

3.5

48 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Stearyl Alcohol, Quaternium-18, Fragrance, Bis-Aminopropyl Dimethicone, Benzyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Hydroxypropyl Guar, Oleyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Citric Acid, EDTA, Polysorbate 60, Panthenol, Panthenyl Ethyl Ether, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone.


on 5/18/2015 2:03:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Like another reviewer, my bottle is clear and not white.

This review is for the shampoo and conditioner in the Sheer Volume line from Pantene. I'm doing a review for both in the same time since I always use the shampoo and conditioner from the same brand and same kind.

I was surprised by this product, in a good way, It made my hair soft and bouncy and shiny, and easy to comb. The smell is nice too, typical Pantene smell which I happen to like so no worries for that.

It's also pretty cheap, so I might buy it again if I'm tight in cash but still need something nice.



on 1/23/2015 1:01:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have fine, thin hair and I have to say this worked great on my hair. Nice amount of volume, my hair felt soft, no build up and I like the scent.


on 8/7/2014 11:25:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have fine, dry hair and this does add volume to my hair. It has the typical overpowering Pantene type scent which I am not a fan of. Leaves my hair detangled, smooth and definitely volumizes my hair.


on 8/22/2013 6:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My absolute favourite conditioner, I always come back to it when I can afford. Does exactly what it says, hair becomes full of volume and silky smooth

Pros: fantastic volume conditioner.
Cons: a little pricey if you have long hair and want both the shampoo and conditioner. I know the bottles don't last longer then 2 weeks max on my hair.


on 2/6/2012 12:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

So I went home from school this weekend, and behold my luck...I forget my shampoo and conditioner. Not wanting to drive 3 hours back to retrieve the bottles, I tore through my linen closet and found two sample sized bottles of shampoo and conditioner of this brand. Ugh. The shampoo was bad (already reviewed that) and the conditioner ceased to do ANYTHING. I put a larger than average amount in my palm, and it only spread through half of my hair. I basically used the entire bottle and it STILL didn't cover all my hair. When I rinsed it out, my hair didn't feel all silky smooth like it normally does after conditioning. It just felt dirty. When it came time to blow dry, my hair was a dried out, poofy mess. Never using this again!


on 11/6/2011 3:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

another pantene product that i love but discontinued in my country. this thing really did made my hair BIG and POOFY. i love it, ppl envied myhair and i ddnt need any styling for it! :D


on 11/12/2010 11:09:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I know it's discontinued, but I was clearing out my endless supply of half-used bottles and came upon this. I love the smell of classic Pantene products. I used this with another discontinued Pantene shampoo (Breakage Defense) and my curls were gorgeous! They were so shiny and they laid nicely. They're both used up now, but I was surprised at the results I got.


on 11/10/2009 1:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I don't really like it - my hair feels coated & tangled after using it. Also, I don't see much in the way of volume. For example, using a volumizing shampoo + applying my regular conditioner from about the ears down gives better results than this stuff.


on 6/19/2009 4:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Wow! I am amazed how well this product works. I usually use only salon products, pureology, enjoy, and fekkai are my favorites. On a recent visit to my sisters I tried this conditioner and amazingly my hair was shiny, manageable, light and flowy, and styled so well. For the price of this product it works amazing. However, I have only used it a few times, and from the reviews it seems that it builds up after a while, so I will be alternating every other wash with a salon conditioner. It also did not strip my hair color. Great conditioner for the price!


on 3/31/2009 1:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product (along with the shampoo) works amazingly at first but later left my hair heavy with buildup. So I guess if you are using this shampoo you should try to take regular breaks between continued usage AND intersperse with a clarifying shampoo.


Another concern that I have with Pantene in general is that it may cause hair loss. When I lived in Scandinavia this was pulled off the shelves for precisely this reason. However, the fact that it is still a popular brand in the rest of the world may mean that it only causes hair loss to those with very fair hair and pigmentation. A few years ago I began to use Pantene shampoo and conditioner exclusively and my hair is definitely thinner than it was before that. I'm not balding or near there, but there is significant reduction in volume and everytime I combed my hair an unusual number of strands would fall out. I'm not sure if this was due to the use of Pantene products alone, because for the past 2 to 3 years I have been straightening my hair with my GHD around 5 times a week. However, I can say that now that I have stopped using Pantene exclusively (while still using GHD 2-3 times per week), I don't get the same amount of hair loss when I comb my hair. I will not be repurchasing this in the foreseeable future.




Top Rated Pantene Products

Back to Top