Clean • Sweet Layer • Fragrances

rated 3.1(40 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* franzvonstuck on 3/22/2012 4:12:00 PM more reviews by franzvonstuck

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Another scent from Clean, that really works for me.
Maybe you have to have the body chemistry for this type of scents, because most of the Clean perfumes smell defintely not as laundry detergent or something like that and I couldnīt detect the lemony overkill some of the other reviewers described.
Anyway, this is one of the "warmer" fragrances and as the name tells, one of the sweeter fragrances from Clean.
The top is build of Ornage, grapefruit, lime and orange blossom, the heart is made of lily, rose and geranium and the base is musk.
To me, itīs just the warmer version of Clean EdT and therefore, I obviously like it.
Honestly, if I had to give up all perfume brands, but one, I would choose Clean. At least two, the Clean EdT and Sweet Layer, really, really, really smell very good and yummy on my skin.
Plus, here in Germany, the Clean Scents are not well known, so I donīt smell this perfume on every third female that passes me by. I have to order it online, because itīs not sold in any beautystore nearby .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 adltchickadee on 3/8/2011 7:36:00 PM more reviews by adltchickadee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Green    

I love Clean's Warm Cotton fragrance. This is like a sweeter, milder,more feminine version of the Warm Cotton scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SensualSusanna on 9/18/2009 12:53:00 PM more reviews by SensualSusanna

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I find this scent addictive!! I can't get enough of the sweet herbal/citrus scent that on me, smells clean and fresh -- not cloying at all. The opening notes are typical, but nonetheless, enjoyable. In fact --- to the average nose ... one might get an artifical lemon scent. However, I smell a general citrus freshness that does lack depth and character. But wait! When the middle notes opening up, this very feminine melange of sweet citrus/honey and herbal notes bloom that is addicting to my nose! A scent I knew, but that I couldn't quite place in real life. Then it hit me last night as I was deciding on my nightly cup of tea..... Clean Sweet Layer is spot on --- and smells exactly like Twinings African Honeybush, Mandarin and Orange Tea! This happens to be an herbal tea that I love drinking -- partially because of the wonderful fragrance/flavour of African honeybush --- an herb that calms the mind and quenches thirst -- and the sweet delicate fragrance/flavour of Mandarin orange. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kayelle on 1/22/2008 8:14:00 PM more reviews by Kayelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I like fresh, citrus-y fragrances a lot, so Clean was a line I had to try. Sweet Layer reminds me a little of Fresh Sugar Lemon, but Clean's scent is a little stronger and more basic. This is a fragrance that I have to use pretty sparingly, but the soapy, citrus scent is very refreshing. I know there are a lot of people who dislike this and similar fragrances because they smell a bit like some household cleaners, but I've always preferred crisp, clean scents to those that are overpoweringly flowery.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 allison7 on 11/17/2006 9:00:00 PM more reviews by allison7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this on sale from Sephora about a year ago. It's dreadful! I'd tried Clean before in-store and liked it, but when I bought the Sweet Layer, it smelled as all of the other reviews had mentioned--cloying, Lemon-Pledge, disgusting. I got a headache after wearing it and my boyfriend hated it. Not to mention it is absurdly overpriced. You would be better off with a $5 body splash from VS or BBW. I returned this! Don't buy it and don't buy the hype :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lovefragrance on 8/30/2006 5:57:00 PM more reviews by lovefragrance

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This smells similar to the description "sweet". It smells like soap with lots of "sweetness" thrown on top and maybe a good dose of "stinky" jasmine? Not a fan. Somewhat gross honestly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* djgirl1976 on 5/3/2006 11:33:00 AM more reviews by djgirl1976

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Not bad, not great. I am surprised so many people think this smells offensive. I think heavy florals and thick spicy musks are more offensive, but then again, I am a clean freak...no pun intended there...I do think the line smells a lot like being freshly showered and that is when I like this stuff most. When I am nearing the end of the day, if I have been in a smokey place, it helps me to freshen up. I will agree I was expecting more "sweet" to this one, too, and I think it is a little more on the tangy side. That aside, this and the original are the ones I like alright from the line, but I think they should have quit while they were ahead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ECMac25 on 1/22/2006 1:34:00 PM more reviews by ECMac25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

From the name I was expecting this to have a sweeter note -- like vanilla, but it's pure lemon/lime soda on me with a hint of musk. It's similar to what you would find with lighter scents like in the DEMETER fragrance line. Not unpleasant, but not what I would like to wear as a perfume.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NancyT on 11/15/2005 2:17:00 PM more reviews by NancyT

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a softer, sweeter, more lemony version of original Clean. I don't really care for most of the Clean scents, but if you like them I'd suggest giving this one a try. For me though, it's still Eau de Industrial Cleaner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Smurfette on 10/27/2005 12:37:00 PM more reviews by Smurfette

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I scored this at Sephora for $20 since it is being discontined. I love it; it reminds me of Fresh Lemon line. I find the original Clean too sharp for me, and the sweet layer softens that. It lasts a couple of hours on me. Too bad it is being discontinued.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clean products

More Fragrances products