Philosophy guru (world-class hot salt, tub and shower scrub)

4.5

43 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/28/2008 10:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My review is for the original guru scrub. It smells exactly like orange sherbert and the scent lingers. Philosophy created it to outperform other salt scrubs on the market at the time. The texture is very thick. The scrub warms up when applied to the skin, and it is an incredible exfoliator. This is one of the best scrubs of all time. Sadly, it has gone to beauty heaven.



on 6/8/2007 10:10:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The guru set is back. You can find it on Philosophy web or amazon. I just bought a set 'cause I ran out of my gingerbread man scrub and could not find it anywhere but in this set. Personally, I prefer the scent of gingerbread man but margarita scrub is invigorating especially for a hot day (though it tends to be somewhat artificial). The texture is also thicker in gingerbread man. Both smell the way you would expect them to smell, a pleasure to use for sure.


on 7/25/2006 2:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This has been discontinued, but I loved it. Smelled soo damn good and really exfoliated my skin without drying my skin. I love philosophy's packaging. It was also one of my first purchases from sephora when I was younger. I wish they would bring it back!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/9/2004 5:29:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like this. Great scrub, nice smell. I think I prefer Gingerbread man tho. Its a very effective scrub. Not too abrasive tho. Leaves me feeling clean and fresh.


on 6/11/2004 1:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Why oh why did they discontinue this? It was my *favorite* all-time scrub for prepping my skin for self-tan, since it leaves no grease or oil behind and was great at buffing off those dead skin cells. The best part, perhaps, is the fab bright color. But its awesome, refreshing 'Tang' smell is what really makes it irreplaceable--right back to the orange-stained lips of childhood in one whiff.


on 5/18/2004 4:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

A fabulous scrub overall. I love the orange scent, which is good because it can get kind of strong in the shower. Leaves skin very noticably softer (the bf proclaimed, "Wow, your skin is extra smooth" after I had used it for the first time, and bf's don't usually notice things like that). One tub has lasted me for about a year (using product on legs two or three times a month).


on 4/9/2004 9:32:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Nice scrub to use on feet. Just be sure to moisturize when you are done. Love the citrus scent. Will purchase again.


on 4/5/2004 10:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Holy smoke batman - whats all this about another body scrub wanting to take The Gingerbread Man's crown?
Well its true, TGM is all about scrubbing and sloughing and whilst I love it, my loyalty (for this week, anyway) will be going to Guru - its just a more summery scent (citrus stylie) and I'm sure the granules of exfoliationary ability are softer. As with our friend, The Gingerbread Man, I wouldn't advise using on dry skin - too harsh and not softening enough


on 3/10/2004 9:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is almost identical in texture to their Gingerbread scrub and their Amazing Grace scrub. The scrubbing particles are pretty jagged, so it does an excellent job at really exfoliating. Also, this smells like oranges!! I use this on wet skin weekly and it makes my skin feel so clean and refreshed. This scrub seems a little more emolient than the Gingerbread scrub. One of my favorites that I can't be without!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/5/2004 10:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have been wanting to try this scrub for ages but never got around to picking one up. I heard that it was being discontinued so I popped in to Sephora to see if they had any left. Well, they didnt. They had two testers though. One had obviously been opened but the other was still sealed. I just peeled off the tester sticker from the barcode and bought it. Hey... all is fair in love and beauty!

Anyway, I really like it. It made my skin really soft and luminous. I am deducting one lippie for the sticky sweet orange scent.



Back to Top