Philosophy • guru (world-class hot salt, tub and shower scrub) • Scrubs

rated 4.5(43 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cinnabuns on 11/28/2008 10:25:00 PM more reviews by Cinnabuns

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My review is for the original guru scrub. It smells exactly like orange sherbert and the scent lingers. Philosophy created it to outperform other salt scrubs on the market at the time. The texture is very thick. The scrub warms up when applied to the skin, and it is an incredible exfoliator. This is one of the best scrubs of all time. Sadly, it has gone to beauty heaven.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 essensual911 on 6/8/2007 10:10:00 AM more reviews by essensual911

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The guru set is back. You can find it on Philosophy web or amazon. I just bought a set 'cause I ran out of my gingerbread man scrub and could not find it anywhere but in this set. Personally, I prefer the scent of gingerbread man but margarita scrub is invigorating especially for a hot day (though it tends to be somewhat artificial). The texture is also thicker in gingerbread man. Both smell the way you would expect them to smell, a pleasure to use for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 7/25/2006 2:12:00 PM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This has been discontinued, but I loved it. Smelled soo damn good and really exfoliated my skin without drying my skin. I love philosophy's packaging. It was also one of my first purchases from sephora when I was younger. I wish they would bring it back!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 glamorpussy on 7/9/2004 5:29:00 AM more reviews by glamorpussy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this. Great scrub, nice smell. I think I prefer Gingerbread man tho. Its a very effective scrub. Not too abrasive tho. Leaves me feeling clean and fresh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tmarie78 on 6/11/2004 1:31:00 PM more reviews by tmarie78

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Why oh why did they discontinue this? It was my *favorite* all-time scrub for prepping my skin for self-tan, since it leaves no grease or oil behind and was great at buffing off those dead skin cells. The best part, perhaps, is the fab bright color. But its awesome, refreshing 'Tang' smell is what really makes it irreplaceable--right back to the orange-stained lips of childhood in one whiff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Birdsong on 5/18/2004 4:12:00 PM more reviews by Birdsong

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

A fabulous scrub overall. I love the orange scent, which is good because it can get kind of strong in the shower. Leaves skin very noticably softer (the bf proclaimed, "Wow, your skin is extra smooth" after I had used it for the first time, and bf's don't usually notice things like that). One tub has lasted me for about a year (using product on legs two or three times a month).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lauriekh on 4/9/2004 9:32:00 AM more reviews by Lauriekh

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Nice scrub to use on feet. Just be sure to moisturize when you are done. Love the citrus scent. Will purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lucyc on 4/5/2004 10:03:00 AM more reviews by lucyc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Holy smoke batman - whats all this about another body scrub wanting to take The Gingerbread Man's crown?
Well its true, TGM is all about scrubbing and sloughing and whilst I love it, my loyalty (for this week, anyway) will be going to Guru - its just a more summery scent (citrus stylie) and I'm sure the granules of exfoliationary ability are softer. As with our friend, The Gingerbread Man, I wouldn't advise using on dry skin - too harsh and not softening enough

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bunny207 on 3/10/2004 9:28:00 PM more reviews by bunny207

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is almost identical in texture to their Gingerbread scrub and their Amazing Grace scrub. The scrubbing particles are pretty jagged, so it does an excellent job at really exfoliating. Also, this smells like oranges!! I use this on wet skin weekly and it makes my skin feel so clean and refreshed. This scrub seems a little more emolient than the Gingerbread scrub. One of my favorites that I can't be without!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 WaywardChica on 3/5/2004 10:18:00 PM more reviews by WaywardChica

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have been wanting to try this scrub for ages but never got around to picking one up. I heard that it was being discontinued so I popped in to Sephora to see if they had any left. Well, they didnt. They had two testers though. One had obviously been opened but the other was still sealed. I just peeled off the tester sticker from the barcode and bought it. Hey... all is fair in love and beauty!

Anyway, I really like it. It made my skin really soft and luminous. I am deducting one lippie for the sticky sweet orange scent.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Scrubs products