Crabtree & Evelyn Gardeners Hand Therapy

4.5

123 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Glycerin, Isopropyl Myristate, Emulsifying Wax NE Shea Butter (Butyrospermim Park Ii), Stearic Acid, Capric/Caprylic Stearic Triglyceride, Cyclomethicone, Sucrose Distearate, Triethanolamine, Cetearyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Yarrow Extract (Achillea Millefolium), Calendula Officinalis Extract, Clover Extract (Trifolium Pratense), Propylene Glycol, Sucrose Stearate, Allantoin, Bisabolol, Fragrance, Sodium Lactate, Sodium PCA, Sorbitol, Proline, Phenoxyethanol, Disodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben


on 5/7/2015 7:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this hand lotion-but I don't garden and I don't have extensive needs in terms of my hand cream. It's non-greasy and absorbs quickly both of which are important issues for me AND OH MY GOD DOES IT SMELL HEAVENLY!!!
I generally stick this in my purse or backpack for a quick pick-me-up...the smell relaxes me and makes me feel pampered. I also have a weakness for metal tubes-they just seem more permanent and upscale than nasty plastic.
I wouldn't recommend this for anyone with serious hand lotion needs-but for a light, non greasy, quick purse lotio. It is perfect!
It is pricey,in my opinion. Especially since I have to buy it online. But if you buy in bigger amounts and watch sales, the price can be managed.



on 5/6/2015 11:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love Crabtree and Evelyn's hand creams! My favorite scent is Citron, Honey, and Coriander. I got the set for $40 at Costco. If you live in LA, the closest Crabtree and Evelyn's store is at The Glendale Galleria.


on 1/21/2015 1:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Love this. The scent is a light, earthy herbal fragrance that's quite unisex. The stand-out thing about Gardener's Hand Therapy for me is that is strikes a really good balance between being moisturising enough for genuinely dry skin but also is non-greasy and very quick to absorb. I use this throughout the winter months. There are other hand creams on the market that are more moisturising for extreme dryness or brutal weather conditions/frequent washing, but I find they tend to be much greasier and/or leave a noticeable film on your hands.


on 1/8/2015 4:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

For its claim to resolve the dryness found in the hands of a gardener and its price tag, this product fails miserably. I was told my the sales assistant that it was the perfect hand cream for the roughest of hands and for the record, I'm not a gardener hence I would imagine it to do wonders to my hands but no! Regular non expensive petroleum jelly made my hands way soft whereas this product did nothing more than a regular drugstore lotion.


on 11/21/2013 2:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

A just decent handcream, but not good enough to justify the price. The cold winter weather where I live can leave my hands stripped down until they're just short of cracking and peeling (or so it feels), which is only exasperated by the frequent handwashing necessitated by my job. I usually look for a hand-cream that doesn't come off too heavy/oily, has a nice scent, and moisturises thoroughly. Got the normal size from the store, and a travel size from a friend.


What I liked about this product:
1. Lightness. The product is not heavy/thick or waxy/oily at all; it's not too intense for day-time and doesn't leave behind a filmy residue. With this, I wouldn't feel like I'm rubbing my hand in olive oil all day, unlike with some other products.
2. Scent. Not exactly the winning scent of scents, but isn't repulsive/pungent in the least. A light, really almost near chemical whiff of earthly floral that definitely does not overwhelm (or underwhelm, I guess).

What I didn't like:
1. Low moisturising power. I usually use Burt's Bees or Kiehl's, which I find leave my hands softer than Crabtree's (although BBee's leaves my hands waxy, with a peculiar smell, and Kiehl's, has an equally odd smell and is a bit on the thick side). I've tried this cream as an night cream, but didn't see a significant/wow change over the period of a month. In general, this product hasn't made my hand feel softer, but it did make it feel ~less dry at least for the hour after application.
2. The price. Even if Crabtree isn't on the pricey end when it comes to skincare products, I honestly would not re-purchase this at the original price.
3. Doesn't last. Whenever I have this (the travel version) as the lotion of the day in my purse, somehow I always end up taking it out three, four times a day--and not because it smells amazing or because I want to show off cute packaging or anything. The thing just doesn't last. I'm not sure what happens to it, honestly--it's not like I rub my hands over everything I touch?--can imagine, though, that this might be due to how light the product is? Perhaps it washes out easily?
4. The packaging (travel size) is not the best. While the plastic cap almost looks hip, it is flimsy. Some of my other friends who own the same product have ended up with caps that broke after only a few months of wear, which is horrible for whatever bag you might be carrying it in (and a waste of product, as it dries up faster when there's a gap in the packaging). Also, it's in a metal tube, which isn't the sleekest ever, and frankly has the look of a tube of well-decorated paint when it curls up and--argh.



I do think this is a pretty good product for people with hands that aren't too dry to begin with, and want a lotion for the Just In Cases. But for people with truly dry hands that aren't into digging for their lotion every other hour, there are better/stronger products out there, for nearly the same price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/9/2013 11:52:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Works well but it's pretty pricey


on 10/23/2013 2:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this in a sampler size that is very handbag friendly.However, I would not recommend this hand cream... while it does not leave a greasy film on the hands after using, it also does not moisturise well at all. I use this during winter in the cruel Melbourne weather, and can't tell much discernible difference. Pricey, and probably would not repurchase.


on 12/13/2012 1:09:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I like this cream, but honestly, it's not that great as everyone here claims. In terms of moisturizing, I would say it's decent, nothing more.

But I simply ADORE the smell! I use this whenever I don't need super-duper hand repair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/8/2012 11:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

Out of all the hand creams of theirs I tried, this comes 2nd in their range. Somehow it does a better job at moisturising my hands than the rosewater and lavender ones did.
That said, I preferred the La source one as the scent felt more fresh.

Does an ok job of moisturising my hands, but since I tend to have contact dermatitis on my hands this just doesn't cut it when my skin is more dry than usual.

Much prefer my HG which is the Kiehls one.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/10/2012 6:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love love love this product! However, it's best if you use it before you go to bed and if you sleep in an air-conditioned room. It's a bit rich to apply during daytime.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Crabtree & Evelyn Products

Back to Top