Erno Laszlo • Shake-it • Skincare - Face

rated 4.3(35 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blairXwitch on 7/16/2013 3:34:00 PM more reviews by blairXwitch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I like it, but I'm not wowed by it, so I wouldn't buy again when (if) I ever finish the one I have.
I have it in shade Neutral, and it's a little too yellow for my NW15 skin even in summer time, with a slight tan. It's okay though, but I cannot see myself getting away with it in the winter time.
What I do like is that it keeps me relatively matte for most of the day, I only get oily in the evening, after 6 pm, after having it on for 11 hours and blotting once or twice mid-day. So it's a good product for hot summers, which is why I gave it the 4 lippies.
I tried using it as a base under my foundation, but it didn't work like that, it all felt gross and cakey.
The way I use it is by soaking a cotton ball into the mixture and applying all over the face, letting it dry for a minute or so, then going over it with my fingers to buff it in. Because it still looks powdery, I then spray some UD All Nighter on top, let it sit for a few seconds, then gently pat it in with my fingers - I find that this removes the powdery look and leaves my face matte, poreless and flawless. I also use a setting powder (Coty Airspun at the moment) on top.
As for coverage, I did pour out about half of the clear liquid (toner), this way the product is more concentrated and I can achieve a medium coverage. I haven't had any active pimples since I've started using it, so I don't know how it would cover them, but I have a feeling it might work. If not, a dab of concealer will do.
I have a feeling it also prevents breakouts, because the toner has alcohol in it and other stuff that apparently is good for the skin.
It has a faint scent but it doesn't linger at all, and it feels a bit drying, especially in the beginning, but the feeling subsides soon after.
As a negative, I find it does pool up in some pores, especially on my nose, but it's not obnoxiously obvious like with other foundations. Does it look like I'm wearing nothing? No. But it does look pretty natural, so it's all good.
I don't think it would be a good product for winter, when skin gets much drier, but I totally recommend it for summer, especially for those who don't need full coverage.
It is expensive, but I don't see myself running out of it anytime soon, so it's worth the price.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LEBrewer on 6/14/2013 5:45:00 PM more reviews by LEBrewer

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

i have hyperhydrosis (and am freaking perimenopausal to boot) and have been struggling with how to get light foundation for my face that will not sweat right off. Mainly, i pour sweat for a good 2 hours after i wash my face or take a shower and most days it's simply impossible to apply foundation or powder without making "mud". i have used NuSkin products for close to 20 years, which is the best skin care decision i have made in my life, but even their wonderful products could not give me that light coverage i was wishing for.
Based on the reviews on this board, i purchased Shake-It back in October and am here to share that it has been a dead-on perfect solution to my issues. i poured a bit of the alcohol off as other users have suggested and i love, love, love this product. It goes on next to invisible (i use a moistened cosmetic wedge) and, as it dries, gives me the faintest bit of powdered barrier - my sweating stops - and i am then able to finish with the smallest pats of my NuSkin powder. It's super no-hassle and is the answer to many an agonizing morning spent wondering if i would ever be able to wear makeup again.
God Bless You, Erno Laszlo.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Teish on 10/15/2012 7:46:00 PM more reviews by Teish

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have oily skin, and for some reason, I have to change my foundation make-up formula regularly because it just stops looking good after a few months. I LOVE this product. In fact, I love all the EL products Ive tried (with expert advice). I use this after cleansing, toning, and moisturizing with EL antioxidant moisture complex. It's tricky to find the best way to apply it at first, but for me, I dab it on with a cotton ball (pressing into my skin) until I achieve a very matte finish and then I apply EL controlling powder in Dark very lightly to set. It lasts all day! I am African-American with fair skin ( I usually use cafe au lait or caramel shades) and although the Suntan is a tad bit light and not as yellow-toned as I usually go for, it works well set with the dark transluscent powder. It looks very natural, like my skin, if I don't overdo the application. If you have really oily skin, you know that foundations have a tendency to darken up throughout the day and look dirty. This product eliminates that issue for me!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Arenal on 8/3/2012 1:25:00 PM more reviews by Arenal

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have dry skin, so I'm not the target market for this product. Nevertheless, I like it for covering the t-zone, especially in hot weather. It leaves my t-zone as matte as matte can be.

Sometimes I apply with the recommended cotton ball; other times with a flat-top foundation brush. I do wish the opening was a bit smaller, to avoid the chance of spilling this very expensive potion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* playsindirt on 7/23/2012 4:55:00 PM more reviews by playsindirt

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Wish I would have discovered this 30 years ago! This stuff is amazing for oily skin. It is essentially powder suspended in toner. After washing and priming my skin I sponge this on with the sponge that I swiped (never used) from my Studio Fix compact. It literally takes 30 seconds. When the alcohol dries you're left with a flawless, somewhat sheer veil of powder and you just look like you have perfect skin. It shrinks pores and keeps my skin matte all day. If I go out in the evening I just reapply and get a fresh made-up look immediately. It really is perfect. I have been a devoted powder foundation user for years but powder foundations just don't cut it in the summer - they're too thick, obvious, and melt right off even with primer. This is amazing stuff and I might use it year round when the weather cools - we'll see.. Expensive, but worth it. FYI - I prime with MAC Prep+Prime SPF 50. I've tried just straight moisturizer and/or sunblock and it doesn't work as well. The neutral shade that I use is pretty much universally flattering on everyone, or so I'm told.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Suchi on 3/9/2012 9:38:00 AM more reviews by Suchi

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with taz1946 and also remember pouring out some of the clear liquid in Shake-it for more coverage. I believe it was called Photo Finish. However, instead of throwing the liquid out, pour it into your light controlling lotion bottle, because that is what it is. I have used Erno Laszlo since the early 80's and although they have been bought out several times, and the products went though many changes (not all of them good), I believe they finally got it right again. Your skin will look better than you thought possible.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GAALaura on 11/19/2011 2:21:00 PM more reviews by GAALaura

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've been using Erno Laszlo for the last 30 years. I get so many compliments on my now 50 year old skin. I've moved on to the Firmarine products, but still use Sea Mud Soap and Formula 3-9 is the best for sunburn. I just wish more places sold, but as a result, I have a great rapport with Anne, my sales rep at Saks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Suelion on 10/7/2011 9:27:00 PM more reviews by Suelion

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Age: 65
I've been using this product since my late 20s and it's the only form of makeup that doesn't make my face break out. It controls shine and doesn't run off your face in hot & humid Florida like so many products with water-attracting ingredients. Doesn't look like you have makeup on but evens out skin tone.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondex199667 on 10/3/2011 11:56:00 PM more reviews by blondex199667

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This really is just liquid powder, or more specifically, powder held in suspension. It doesn't really act or look like foundation per se, more like a good layer of powder.
You can only use it if your skin is quite oily because both the powder and alcohol are so drying. But if you do have a lot of oil and prefer a "no-makeup" look this is so worth trying! It wear well and stays matte nearly all day, depending on just how big a greaseball you really are. Also, if you remember the Clinique Pore Minimizer lotion from years ago, this is nearly identical. And yes, it does a hell of a job filling in pores. BTW I always apply it with my fingertips or a sponge. If you use cotton you'll blow through so much product and end up throwing a good lot of it away on the pad.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vcole825 on 7/29/2011 2:27:00 AM more reviews by vcole825

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Shake It is my go to product when I want even skin without the heaviness of a foundation. It leaves my skin looking flawless enough to leave the house with just that and some concealer. On another note even with my sensitive skin this product has not caused any redness if burning. I have recommended this to all of my friends.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Erno Laszlo products

More Skincare - Face products