La Roche Posay • Toleriane Purifying Foaming Cream Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.9(91 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ninjalips on 9/14/2014 12:54:00 PM more reviews by ninjalips

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

LPR Foaming Cream Cleanser is a basic, no frills cleanser that is very effective. It may be more suitable for combination skin types though. I quite enjoyed this product as I always prefer to double cleanse and wash with a flannel/microfiber cloth after taking my concealer and sunscreen off. I have super sensitive skin prone to allergic reactions but this foaming cleanser didn't cause me any reactions. It became a bit drying for me in the long term. I think if you have dry, sensitive skin like mine, it is a good idea to use it only a few times a week as part of a double cleansing routine. I haven't tried to use it to take make up or sunscreen off but I think it would work well if you use a warm flannel/microfibre cloth/soft face brush like Shiseido's or Dermalogica's. It is not cheap but superbly economical as you only need a tiny amount. If you are using it to double cleanse, I would suggest you use a really tiny amount as it is very foamy to avoid skin irritation or waste!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lorraine6 on 7/7/2014 12:07:00 PM more reviews by Lorraine6

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

My skin is sensitive combination and I found it just too drying (had to apply lots of moisturizer afterwards which seemed counterproductive). However I think it is a very good product for someone with oily, acne-prone skin - it's just not right for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Crystal_21 on 1/31/2014 1:19:00 PM more reviews by Crystal_21

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this cleanser for many years. It's very gentle, on my acne prone skin.

The only thing I really dislike about this cleanser is it leaves make-up behind, so I end up using a lot of toner afterwards to make sure all the make-up is off my skin.

My dermatologist recommanded this. This is a very nice cleanser if you don't wear heavy make-up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BlueJaysFan on 1/29/2014 1:23:00 PM more reviews by BlueJaysFan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this cleanser for about two weeks now. I use it once a day at night before bed. After washing and drying my face, my skin feels a bit tight for about 5 minutes, but not uncomfortably so. It seems that my skin is not as shiny throughout the day as it used to be. Also, it has seemed to correct the overdryness I was experiencing. I haven't noticed any difference in terms of treating acne, but I'm happy that the tug-of-war between oiliness vs. dryness seems to have stabilized. It's winter now and I downhill ski so I do add moisturizer occasionally as I sometimes have windburn.

I like the packaging, just the tube! It allows me to use a perfect amount. I don't notice any fragrance.

I was using Toleraine Dermo-Cleanser, but I find the Foaming Cream is better because my skin tends to be oily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 NoraG1027 on 10/24/2013 8:06:00 AM more reviews by NoraG1027

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Prior to using this cleanser, I was using a Clinique cleansing set with toner and moisturizer. The set did wonders for my skin! It not only cleared away the oil, acne and normalized the level of oil on my face, but it gave my skin an overall even tone. When I ran out of the Clinique goods, I checked out my Ulta and they unfortunately do not sell Clinique products, so I scoured the internet for a similar high quality product that Ulta does sell for my normal-to-combination skin. I decided to give the La Roche Posay Toleriane foaming cleanser a try, and after the first use, my skin had relapsed to its uber-oily state and breakouts were playing happily along the sides of my face, under my nose, and along my chin. Great.

While I could wait a month to see what would happen, why let my skin suffer after Clinique's recovery? No, my friend. I am heading back to Ulta today, returning the Toleriane cleanser and hopping online to purchase my tried-and-true Clinique products. I found what works for me, and I was silly enough to try anything else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sitknee on 10/15/2013 1:06:00 AM more reviews by sitknee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My skin is dehydrated oily and this cleanser did not work for me. While I loved how the smallest amount of product could produce such a rich, luxurious lather, I hated the way this made my skin feel. Not to mention, I did break out.

I used this product for about a month and a half before I gave up. One of the things I abhorred was how it left my hands and face feeling squeaky clean. Post-wash film? Yes. It always bothered me because I felt like my face wasn't completely clean (that darn film!). I've tried using a teeny amount of cleanser with tons of water but that didn't help at all.
The strangest thing? After I patted my face dry with a towel, it felt fine. Not dry or stripped, and no film.

Well, even as the squeaky-clean feeling annoyed me, I would have kept with this if it hadn't broken me out -- my biggest issue with cleansers is how drying they are, and this cleanser was never drying. The one good thing is that the blemishes were never serious, as I was mostly plagued with small clogged pores and whiteheads. Still bad enough to switch, though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maicdl on 10/6/2013 3:38:00 PM more reviews by maicdl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This cleanser is a treasure!
I suffered a perioral dermatitis and dermatologist prescribed this cleanser, over and done with the dermatitis I still use it and will carry on doing so. Already on my third tube, had read some people complain about the inconsistency between tubes, I haven't experienced that issue.
You need a very little quantity of the product, a pea size is enough, you lather up in the palm of your hands and gently massage away the dirt and dead skin cells. It feels so soft and smooth to the touch, perfect for sensitive intolerant skin. Wash off with water and pat dry, your skin will feel clean and clear. No feeling of tightness or drying, it contains glycerine that hydrates.
I have tried a vast range of different cleansers and have never felt satisfied with any, they either dried my skin too much or made it more oily (that's the trouble of having combination skin, it's hard to find balance) but with toleriane purifying foaming cream my skin feels totally comfortable. If you have sensitive intolerant skin and you finally find something that works for you, stay with it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ebrookeb on 7/22/2013 5:14:00 PM more reviews by ebrookeb

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I had used this cleanser for a couple years before, I could never get my skin completely

clear of acne. I always had 2 or 3 little pimples on my cheek. I did a quick reassessment of

all the products I was using and turns out that this cleanser has 5 highly-medium

comedogenic ingredients in it!! I have switched to Neutrogena's Ultra gentle foaming

cleanser and it has worked extremely well! I would suggest to reevaluate this cleanser if you

are having skin problems.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ylchag on 6/30/2013 3:39:00 PM more reviews by ylchag

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Officially my HG cleanser.. I'm on my second tube, and the first lasted me nearly 1 year with daily use. While it is pricier than other drugstore products (like the entire La Roche Posay line), it does an amazing job of cleaning the skin without any irritation and you only need the tiniest pea-size amount. I tried a few other cleansers after the first tube finished (always looking for something new), but had to come back to this one because nothing up foamed up as well and left my skin feeling as clean, without drying it out or irritating it. I love how incredibly thick and rich the foam feels, and how gently but thoroughly it cleanses. There is no fragrance, and I like to use it with my clarisonic at night to really deep clean my pores. Although I always remove waterproof eye make up first, I've noticed that other cleansers can end up leaving traces of my skin makeup on the bristles of the clarisonic - even after repeated rinsing. This never happens with the Toleriane, so it seems to do a great job of rinsing clean. I've used other gentle cleansers in the past (Purpose, Cetaphil, Cerave, Neutrogena, Clean and Clear, Vichy) and high end cleansers (Clarins, Lancome, L'Occitane, Jan Marini), this beats them all. I have combo-oily skin (oily in the summer, combo in the winter) and this works for me all year long. I've also tried LRP's Effaclar foaming cleanser, but prefer the rich foam and gentleness of this one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tintinutella on 5/26/2013 1:31:00 AM more reviews by tintinutella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had blemishes from acnes which lasted for months covering my cheeks. I tried sebamed, it was great, but my blemishes disn't fade that much. Then my sister recommended me to try this and just in days my face was recovering. I only use the facial foam. It's really a miracle, i'm so happy my skin is coming back to normal :). It's pricey for me but i guess its gonna last a few months since u only need to squeeze out a pea size of product for the whole face, so it's worth it! But i dont like the packaging, the lid isnt strong enough so i have to place tha tube upside down so the product doesnt leak out. :( but this is a good product, after a few weeks if my skin gets better i'm DEFINITELY gonna repurchase :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Cleansers products