Stephane Marais • Mascara Comb [DISCONTINUED] • Mascara

rated 4.2(44 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 Sass111 on 11/15/2010 5:58:00 AM more reviews by Sass111

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Really good mascara, once dry it does not budge at all. I can give my eye a good rub and it won't smudge a bit. Which is brilliant as I can often absent mindedly rub my eyes, so this stuff suits me down to the ground. The comb is nice as all others have said. It sets on the lash and feels totally dry and quite stiff to touch but looks really nice, it helps my fair lashes show up. I have the brown one, can't remember the number, it's a nice natural shade for me. Separate the lashes well and I think it has a lengthening effect or it might just be that you can actually see all of my lash because normally you can't due to them being blondish. Pity it is discontinued. I would definitely have repurchased.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 llbeanpole on 6/16/2009 2:46:00 AM more reviews by llbeanpole

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This glossy mascara is wonderfully natural worn on the lashes. It doesn't smudge and the comb applicator allows for very precise definition. I have this in No.4, Dark Blue, but it looks black. The line is discontinued but the products I've tried so far are seriously HG quality. They're all made in Japan, presumably under the aegis of Shiseido/Cle de Peau, as Stephane Marais is the consultant to Cle de Peau. He knows about making up, for sure. If there's a way to bring this line back, I'd sign on to it! Meanwhile the last of Stephane Marais' makeup can be found discounted online via Google or on Ebay. I've been stocking up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cjlc49 on 11/12/2007 6:10:00 PM more reviews by cjlc49

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is awesome! I have long thin lashes, and I only need a few swipes to get full coverage. First I start at the very base of my lashes, then wiggle the wand just a teeny bit to coat the base and deposit just a little bit of the product on my upper lash line for a subtle inner eye liner effect and then gently pull the comb through to the tips. The second swipe (without dipping into the tube again) is mostly to coat any lashes that I may have missed or to add a bit more product to the tips. This mascara leaves my lashes long, beautiful, clump-free, and glamorous without being OTT or spidery. I have this mascara in blue and wine (burgundy) and I love them both. If you can find this on EBay or some other auction site (this has sadly been discontinued) - definitely give it a try. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 verarespirawho on 3/14/2007 8:56:00 PM more reviews by verarespirawho

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I wish I could buy this again! I love it for achieving the mile-long lash and beautiful fan-like effect (definitely clump free!). This mascara also gives an incredible glossiness to the lashes with an intensely black hue. Although I prefer something that provides a little more volume, like MF 2000 Calorie (see my review), this is the ideal mascara for a more natural, my lashes but better look. This lasted very well throughout the day, neither smudging nor flaking. Although it dried out my lashes, this wasn't a problem if used intermittently as I used to do. The packaging is a huge benefit--both the ingenious come and the awesome graphics on the tube.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 creambunny on 8/24/2006 12:59:00 PM more reviews by creambunny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I had this in brown and was using it until recently. It is certainly an outstanding mascara, where they really got the brush and the forumla right in one package. It may be clumpy in the beginning due to the amount of product the comb picks up. But wiping off the excess solves this problem and is better than combing it through again afterwards in my experience. As others have mentioned this will not be a persisting problem. It is quite a wet mascara so try not to blink ;-)
The mascara lenghthens naturally and the comb really lifts the lashes. I've had other mascaras that weighed down my lashes but not with this one. It won't give you dramatic falsies-looking lashes, but it is long-lasting, gives a glossy finish and doesn't flake. I'm reviewing this because I've heard some places still have this in stock. Apart from black and brown I believe they also have a purple one.
5ml / 0.18oz

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 azzurro on 6/13/2006 6:42:00 AM more reviews by azzurro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in black, and is belatedly looking around for other colours. Using the comb properly takes some practice, but once you can swipe it from the base to the tips, this is the best mascara ever! I and my sister have tried a range of mascaras (the full range of Maybelline, MAC and Lancome), and found out this is the best one to go for. It gives a Bambi-eye effect on lashes. To use it properly, you need to start from the base of your lashes, quickly wiggling the comb to the tips for an even coat.

When I started off using it, there is a tendency for the comb to pick up too much pigment (making me have to wipe off some precious mascara with tissue prior to application), but after two weeks it dispenses the right amount of mascara. The packaging is your average simplistic mascara container, yet the patterns are hip!

Price-wise, it retailed for slightly less than Lancome at [I think it was] AUD44.

Will hunt down the last remaining SM combs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mypsalms on 9/11/2005 9:29:00 PM more reviews by mypsalms

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love the inky black and gloss this mascare gives me. I have the blue/marine one as well and love them both. Lancome eternecils has been discontinue and I'v been looking for a waterproof non drying mascara that has the 'oomph' to it and Stephane mascara delivers that. Although it doesn't thicken as much as the Lancome one-it has the non-clumping formula that is so perfect I can layer the colour to make my lashes appears thicker and still glossy. IT wears over 8 hours and it's such a huge plus because at the end of the day when I wash them my lashes is not bristtling like many other brand I've tried. And oohh... it hold the curl as well. Easy to apply and cotnrol once getting used to. TIPS: Try to touch the comb to the BASE of your LASHLINE when applying the mascara and your eyes will appear bigger because the hints of strokes the comb gives actually act as eyeliner but BETTER because it's not linig but dot-ing. The illustration is like having more lashes with those doting-stroke.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BigMomma23 on 7/1/2005 7:20:00 AM more reviews by BigMomma23

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this mascara. This is the only comb applicator mascara that I have ever used. I am so sad that it is being discontinued too. *cry* I am a regular user of the Tweexerman Lashcomb and have found no need for it with this beauty. My lashes look lovely and seem to stay that way until I remove it. I haven't had any smudging or flaking problems and I have those tear easy eyes too! Go figuire. I am a contact lens wearer and this has caused me no trouble here either. I would love to repurchase.... *cry* Wink.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HayleyP on 6/7/2005 6:24:00 AM more reviews by HayleyP

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I found it impossible to control the amount of product on the comb. It always came out with WAY too much, and then when I applied it my eyelashes were absolutely COVERED with mascara (in a bad way). Now I am getting close to the end and there is less product in the tube, it is a great mascara and the brush is excellent for separating lashes and getting to the difficult areas. But gee, it took me a while to get to this stage!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 frappa on 5/28/2005 12:06:00 AM more reviews by frappa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have never found a mascara that stays put as well as this one does. No, it's not particularly beautiful, yes, it can look rather clumpy if applied in a rush, and no it doesn't have a beautiful sheen to it. However, it does stay on all day without flaking even the slightest bit. I wear this when I know I'm going to be out all day and would rather have some mascara on for the whole day rather than some beautiful lashes for half the day and skimpy lashes for the latter half. Particularly wonderful for things like picnics or a day on the beach.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stephane Marais products

More Mascara products