Avalon Organics Botanicals • Vitamin C Facial Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.7(124 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 archt_marj14 on 12/7/2014 12:08:00 PM more reviews by archt_marj14

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

For me, this is a solid, dependable and inexpensive facial cleanser. It didn't do anything spectacular with my skin but it didn't damage it, either.
Pros:
*Scent is wonderful
*Inexpensive (lasted me for several months)
*Didn't leave my face feeling tight post-wash
Cons:
*Doesn't do well in removing traces of makeup
*Doesn't really improve complexion over time
*Sometimes leaves a slight film on face post-wash.
I've actually repurchased this a couple of times but now that I want to try some other brands, I most probably won't repurchase for a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 emileesays on 9/28/2014 12:38:00 PM more reviews by emileesays

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have combination skin, and very rarely break out with the exception of some blackheads in my t-zone.

First of all, browsing at the drugstore I see an organic face wash for normal to oily skin. Immediately I think NOT heavy, and easy on the skin, because why would someone with normal to oily skin put something heavy on their skin...right?

Well, the product is a gel and does not work into much of a lather. The smell is pleasant, but I didn't really get the feeling of "washing my face" since there was no lather. I decided to use this product only in the morning as I didn't feel it would remove my makeup well.

Also the packaging is lame...you put your hand under the nozzle and squirt and the product projectiles straight out and squirts everywhere.

3 weeks later here I am with a gnarly painful breakout on my cheek- cyst like bumps the size of a pea that have been developing since a couple days after I started using the product. I stopped using the face wash a little over a week ago. I became certain this reaction was from this product after reading a couple other reviews reporting those red break outs that won't come to a head.

SENSITIVE-and even normal skin- users beware. This is the worst reaction I've ever had to a product.

If you like gel cleansers I recommend Dermalogica Special Cleansing Gel (soap free but still comes to a lather!). I always try to save money buy finding a dupe but always come running back to it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MDevanney on 8/6/2014 9:12:00 AM more reviews by MDevanney

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Before the formula changed this product was my HG, now it's my worst nightmare. In the old bottle and formulation it left my skin bright and clean, but now it leaves me red and raw! For those with oily skin this may still be a viable option, but sensitive skinned gals beware! I noticed a few red bumps appear the following morning of using, but I wrote them off as breakthrough pimples. After several days of use there's no denying this face wash is the culprit. Really disappointed because I wanted to love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kathureen on 6/1/2014 4:00:00 AM more reviews by kathureen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

i've been looking for a natural cleanser that would be best for my combination skin. it's been 2 weeks since i bought it and it already lightened my acne scars! i have heard that vitamin C helps in lightening scars/marks. I use this with avalon vitamin C toner which is a bit sticky.. and its moisturizer. the milk cleanser are for normal/combination skin and the gel is for oily skin. hope that helps

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovingbeautystuff on 5/31/2014 8:34:00 AM more reviews by lovingbeautystuff

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

HG more affordable cleanser for combination oily skin when I am not using my more expensive ones. It smells like oranges and really helps add firmness to my face. Caution: It may have been reformulated

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aquarius1968 on 5/29/2014 12:55:00 PM more reviews by aquarius1968

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this cleanser. I have combination skin and this product really suits it. First of all, I love the smell. It smells of oranges and I love oranges! Then, I love the fact that I only need a tiny amount to remove make-up and it's one of the very few cleansers that don't irritate my eyes. It's the first time I'm using it but I'll definitely buy it again. Great value for money, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sindoodoo on 5/19/2014 10:58:00 PM more reviews by sindoodoo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Great, gentle cleanser. I have combo skin (dry around the lips, oily on the nose and cheeks), and when I started using this once a day, it made my skin softer and brighter, but without drying it out. That being said, I don't think it has long-term effects on skin--it only temporarily brightens it--and in my experience it's not that great at oil control. I'm open to buying it again, but in the meantime, I'm trying out other facial cleansers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jiney17 on 4/27/2014 7:52:00 PM more reviews by jiney17

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this because my favorite cleanser by Orjene Organics has been discontinued and I needed a gentle cleanser for washing my face in the morning and to use after my DHC oil cleanser at night. My skin is normal-to-dry, somewhat sensitive, and prone to all kinds of annoying crap (zits, dermatitis, random rashes, you name it). I was looking around Whole Foods and saw this was on sale. The ingredients didn't look objectionable at first glance and I figured the gel texture and citrus fragrance will be nice as the weather continues to warm up.

I've been using this morning and night for about 2-3 weeks now and so far, I'm liking it. I have not experienced any adverse reactions. It cleans my face thoroughly without giving me that dreaded tight, stripped feeling. In fact, it seems to deposit some sort of light oil or something because my skin will feel superficially silky smooth after I finish rinsing. So far, so good. I will update if there are any problems, though I don't expect there to be.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 marionlwma on 2/23/2014 9:27:00 PM more reviews by marionlwma

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great morning cleanser. It does an ok job breaking down makeup but I would use something stronger as I wear heavy eye makeup. Not sure if it causes any brightening but the renewal cream is really great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 HaveMercyJessie on 1/18/2014 5:43:00 AM more reviews by HaveMercyJessie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

I've been using this for a week now and I don't really like it. It doesn't have a good lather and it doesn't seem to clean all of my makeup off. I may just continue to use it as a morning cleanser. It got two lippys from me since it smells nice.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avalon Organics Botanicals products

More Cleansers products