MAC 224 Tapered Blending Brush

4.4

374 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/22/2015 12:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This brush is like Photoshop for your eyeshadow. If I'm creating a really complicated eye look, or am using really high-contrast colors that still look harsh even after being blended with 217, I'll blend out my lid, crease and brow bone with the 224 for a more flattering soft focus effect. This brush is also excellent for blending concealer (despite not having a tapered edge for the inner eye corner) and for setting the undereye without getting powder everywhere else. In fact, I'm considering getting another 224 exclusively for this purpose, since mine is always covered in concealer these days.



on 4/5/2015 8:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Upon first purchasing this brush, I was disappointed. But it has become a staple for me alongside the 217 and 249. Firstly, this thing is scratchy. My eyes are in no way sensitive and I have never had such an issue before, but this actually hurt to use. For a brush that costs so much, this is utterly unfair. However, after washing this several times and conditioning it with oil, I've found it much more comfortable to use. Yet I do not regret my purchase. If I had to, I would buy this again (though I may consider trying a dupe first. For placing my transition shade in or just the crease, this is perfect. It's too large for precise application, but it creates a lovely diffused look. I have also used this brush for my under-eye concealer, to set my under-eye with powder and it works wonderfully. Lastly, I use this almost every day to apply my highlight to the tops of my cheekbones and browbone. I prefer the 217 brush to this, it's softer and generally more useful to me. Yet, the 224 has really grown on me. In summary, this brush is far from ideal. But it is highly functional and I'm genuinely glad to have it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/21/2015 10:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Maybe this brush works better on people with larger eyes, but for my smaller, moon-shaped eyes, it's useless. It is too big to dispense shadow properly in the eye crease - the fallout is ridiculous. It's also not very soft, as some others have said. I never use this brush and it was a waste of money. If you have small eyes, avoid this brush.


on 2/28/2015 7:33:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have 15 mac brushes. It is a must have mac brush. I love the 224 for blending, best blending brush ever and for applying concealer, perfect. I do love love this brush.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

cool stuff :)))))


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

As an avid MAC user, who has respect for the brand and owns a few of their other brushes, I'll say without hesitation that this is the worst makeup brush I have ever used (high end or drugstore). I just don't understand the cult following this seems to have. I love the 217 and use that nearly every time I do my makeup. I understand the need for a larger, less firm brush to more softly dispense eyeshadow or to blend, so I thought this was THE one to buy. Well, this may be the only makeup brush to ever make me angry. If I hadn't ordered it directly from the MAC website, I would think I had gotten a fake. I'm sorry, it just doesn't apply color well, it's not dense enough to be useful at blending anything, and, the scratchiness...oh, the scratchiness, and the sound it makes when you use it is like rubbing straw together. And just in case that isn't enough for you, the bristles break off in little pieces EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. I would love to see anyone use the brush that I have and tell me it's good. I'm open to the possibility of having received a dud, but based on a few of the reviews (I'm surprised at how few), I'm not alone in my experience. All I can say is there are much, MUCH better brushes out there. Try before you buy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/26/2014 6:45:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

One of the only Mac brushes I have that I don't use everyday. While it doesn't shed, the hairs started snapping around year 2. It doesn't matter how much I condition. I reach for my white handled Sonia kashuk more or my sigma e35. Did I mention it's scratchy?


on 12/12/2014 11:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this with the 217 and 219. I found that I was using the 217 much more for blending and for additional blending I was using a Smashbox blending brush. My friend told me she uses the 224 for applying and blending concealer and I had heard a few other people saying the same on blogs etc so I tried it. That's exactly what I use it for now . It applies concealer flawlessly everywhere where it may be needed especially under eyes. I highly recommend for concealer application

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/5/2014 2:55:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I feel I am very alone in this review. I border on hating this brush but I waited too long to return it & now am 'stuck' w/ it. it was expensive I feel guilty for not using it. I absolutely gravitate toward a random artist brush I bought from Michael's for my crease over this one. Another reviewer nailed it. it does not deposit the color where you want it, it's a train wreck, like, all over the place. I think one of the issues is a result of my eye shape. I don't have huge eyes, medium sized and they are also deep set. I think those 2 variables make for a non romance with this brush. the other brush I got for $5 at Michael's it's more domed at the end, (rather than overly pointy which is the 224's problem as well) not so scratchy & definitely smoother, targets the area I want shaded. I'm thinking maybe I could trade??? or barter this brush if anyone has a site recommendation. But, sometimes, in life, this is how we learn the hard lessons, just because everyone else is raving about it does not necessarily mean it will work well for your particular eye shape

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/19/2014 2:08:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have a few blending brushes from different brands, mostly inexpensive brands or brushes with synthetic bristles. I decided that I wanted to try the famous 224 by MAC, since I have the blending brush that is very similar by Sigma (which performs very well).
First of all, the price is a bit steep but I didn't care as long as it performs well.
It blends really nicely and effortlessly, however, I was expecting it to be a liiiittle bit more dense. Anyway, I returned it the day after. Why? It was VERY scratchy. While I was using it on my eye, I couldn't wait for the blending process to be achieved because the scratching was annoying me and I have very sensitive eyes and eyelids. For a 30+ dollars eye brush I expected it to be soft and pleasant. It performs well but the scratching was awful, worse than ANY of all the brushes that I own. I guess I will have to repurchase from Sigma or to try something new, maybe from Bdellium or Zoeva.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top