Serge Lutens Bois et Musc

3.9

16 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/19/2013 3:15:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is a simple scent, but lovely. Cedar (not as much as in most SL fragrances, which I dislike) and musk. That's it. It was really unremarkable when I first applied it, but over time it developed into a delightful, warm-but-cool scent that is mostly musk, but with enough cedar to make it unique. I agree that it would be a great office scent because it's so subtle and wears close to the skin. I may end up buying a full size because it's a year-round fragrance that would be perfect for daily wear.



on 6/24/2010 12:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Other, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Very linear scent. The woods actually have that dry cheapish smell I have detected in other frags I haven't liked... like Accord Parfait Oriental, which is patchouli and musc.

This is -nothing- of the grand, deep, sexy woodiness as in Feminite du Bois (at least the original version), which I have and love.... this is the cheaper, generic woods smell which is flat, like the olfactory equivalent of plywood instead of heart pine..

There is just no substitution for perfection, and my nose loves nothing but the best... and this falls short of the mark in my book!! Won't be testing it again.... And the strange thing is, I usually love almost everything by Serge Lutens, but here, I would choose Musc Nomade over this, the only Annick Goutal fragrance I enjoy so far.


on 3/28/2010 3:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I love FdB and so I do like this one, but I don't think it is outstanding. It is my least favourite in the series. I feel like I will get the same effect if I just layer FdB with a generic musk.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/3/2010 1:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

It is a wonderful perfume, very calm, relaxing and expensive smelling. You wont wear it if you want to strike someone with ekstraodinary smell. But it is very well crafted and it suits for everyday in office. It smells like wood and a little cookies-thats how white musk smells for me. It is a lot like Bois de Violette but BdV has less cookies and more warm powder.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/2/2009 5:41:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

The simplest of the Bois scents. Unfortunately, what I get is simply prunes, so I won't be wearing this.


on 9/22/2008 6:31:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Others on this board have accurately described Bois et Musc by Serge Lutens as an initially strong whiff of cedar wood followed by a light, slightly sweet musk. The wood elements don't actually disappear but remain in the background as smoky cedar (no spice or resinous smell).


Although I like the wood elements of Bois et Musc, the musk in this fragrance is just too watery and fruity for my taste--- the musk smells too acidic and thin for me. In my book, musk should hang in the air like a slumberous cloud.


I prefer all the other Eaux Boisees by SL (except Bois & Fruits) to this particular fragrance. Bois & Musc is a pass.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/14/2008 1:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This is a great woody scent!!! If you are a lover of woods, you need to try this and all the SL Bois line. As for Bois et Musc, I really didn't get any musk smell out of it, just pure woods. Since I love woods and believe that the Bois line has the most fabulous woody base EVER...I really didn't mind that the musk was non-existant. It will be a nice, almost pure woody scent for me, and it almost has a sweetness that can be worn year round.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/25/2006 5:38:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I can't believe I'm writing this. I've had a vial of Bois et Musc for several mos and I just didn't know what to make out of it because, on me, it's so much like Bois de Violette. I won't get BDV because its base just about over takes any violet notes. I thought its base was very, very unique, but since I was expecting and wanting violet, I couldn't appreciate its base. To me, this musc is BDV without the violet (which I can barely smell in the first place). So I thought "Why?" and put this musc sample away.



I revisited musc again and, maybe 'cause I wasn't expecting much or any violet notes, I'm surprised how much I love (yes love!) this. You might think I'm crazy, but it reminds me of Tam Dao - but without TD's startling opening notes. I've been wanting a FB of TD for a long, long time, but I might eventually get this one instead. Right now I'm trying them both and musc is more linear, lush, while TD is getting better & better as it becomes less dry. But musc is more stable, predictable and TD is less predictable and sometimes dries down bitter and other times better.



I couldn't find the notes for musc and here's what on the SL site http://www.salons-shiseido.com/anglais/parfums/eauxbois/pages/hmusc.html

BOIS ET MUSC:

Marocco's Atlas Mountains, enriched with musk. Carressing, true, calm, persistent.



TAM DAO (Diptyque):

Top Notes: Cypress from Italy, Myrte, Rosewood.

Middle Notes: Sandalwood from Goa, Cedar.

Basenotes: Amber, Vanilla, White Musks.



Can wear musc in warm weather while TD gives headache when it's warm; TD dryer and phenominal sillage; musc has that unique SL characteristic of smelling like an oil without the oiliness

UPDATE: BLISS!!! Well, I finally made it to Paris in '12 and got it; I just adore it. I wrote this review, along with posting my frustration about needing this non-export, in '06. A six-year lemming!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/16/2005 2:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful cedar/musk scent. Starts off heavy on the cedar, dries down to a woody musk scent. The musk is closer to Musc Koublai Khan than Clair de Musc, but it's not nearly as animalic (it's not a white musk, either). I also detect soft spice notes. Gorgeous musk scent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/23/2005 12:05:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

At first I actually didn't like this at all, the fruitiness and the cedar came together and clashed. Within about 2-5 minutes though the notes marriage becomes harmonious as you detect strong cedar with perhaps cinnamon and a slight splash of cumin (which I could actually do without to be honest). It reminds me of SL FdO for boys! Yes, it's soft, yes it cedary, yes it's unisex (leaning towards the XY genotype) but all in all, it's interesting to sniff but not for me to wear. Cedar lovers will be all over this one.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1366 Reviews
Si
37 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Gucci Guilty
127 Reviews
Light Blue
1411 Reviews


Back to Top