Origins • The Great Pretender • Self Tanners

rated 4.3(38 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 8/20/2013 10:23:00 AM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is actually one of the better self tanning creams (I prefer sprays) that I have used. The color is very natural looking, I had minimal streaking on my legs (except on my feet where I was a patchy mess but that is normal for me whatever product I use) and it lasted quite a while before fading fairly evenly.

The initial scent was pleasant, kind of minty, but the smell as it developed was atrocious, and because I apply this before I go to bed, my blankets and clothing reeked in the morning. I like that it is tinted, so you can see where you have applied it but the shimmer for me serves no purpose (it's not like I leave the house when I have applied it).

I probably would by this again, I like the color on me and I like the lack of streaks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Katharine40 on 4/3/2013 11:24:00 AM more reviews by Katharine40

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Probably the best self-tanner I've used. I have VERY fair skin, and most self-tanners require 3 coats before giving me a slight suggestion of a tan; The Great Pretender gives me decent color after one application. Wish it were cheaper. Oh, and be sure to loofah before applying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jadieda on 2/11/2013 8:09:00 PM more reviews by Jadieda

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This tanner is the BOMB! Not only does it go on super smooth, it smells great! It's important that if you use this for about 3 days straight to take a day off and loofa real good, because it can begin to cake a little. And avoid wearing white. It's still totally worth it.
At the beginning of summer, try to buy a few bottles, it can sell out, especially at Macy's.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 leslielgc on 7/20/2011 1:54:00 PM more reviews by leslielgc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Short version: One tone, works best on the lightest of skins. A little goes a long way (do NOT use too much). Make sure you apply a very moisturizing lotion to hands, elbows, knees, etc beforehand. Lasts for minimum a couple days. Best self tanner!

Long version:
This is the most amazing self tanner I've ever used! And believe me, I've used a lot.
As this only comes in one tone, and from what I've seen some people believe it doesn't give them enough colour, my assumption would be that this self tanner is directed towards the palest of us. I'm very pale and love this beyond belief. I find it gives me non-streaky, non-spotty, beautiful colour. Trust me, a LITTLE goes a long way with this! I've used too much before, so that it didn't completely absorb into my skin within ~15 minutes, and it ended up being a little streaky with darker spots.
I get the best colour from this product using the following steps: I first use a very moisurizing hand cream (I use Kiehls Ultimate Strength Hand Salve) on my hands, specifically making sure to rub a lot into my nails, and on other dry spots (elbows, knees, outer ankles). I let it soak in for ~15 minutes before applying the Self Tanner. I only apply a small amount of the ST (you're better off applying less than applying more. Take my word for it) and rub it in everywhere so that it's pretty much all absorbed by the time I'm done applying it. I also make sure I rub my hands together so that I don't end up with white hands and tan arms. I wait about 10-15 minutes and lightly wash my palms (with soap), and a little bit of water on the skin between my thumb and index finger (that always gets a little dark for me if I don't) and knuckles.
This gives me great results that I find last for a few days.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 calamityjane85 on 5/20/2011 9:24:00 AM more reviews by calamityjane85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

i am very pleased with this tanner! i have used a handful of tanners, so i am in no way a master at this, but i put this one at the top.
(+)
NO STREAKS!! YYAAYYY!!!
smooth even tan all over
gradual build up, very natural
blends easy
no icky smell, the mint is light and not overpowering
the little sparkles are cute

(-)
pours out quickly ( i just sit it on the edge of the counter and put a hand underneath and carefully squeeze)
price, not to bad, but worth it i think!

overall: i think with any tanner you have to exfoliate, so just make sure you get one with lots of scrubbers, even add some sugar to your existing scrub... thats what i did. to get the achieved color it took me 3 applications, but i dont mind because i dont have any streaks, and i would rather apply more times and be careful, than put one coat on, and have heavy streaks like the other ones i tried. now there still is that strange scent in the morning when i wake up- but its not near as evident as the other brands.

i will repurchase! this stuff is great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princess_eab on 2/25/2011 11:23:00 AM more reviews by princess_eab

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a very good self tanner, especially for pale girls. It's reliable, streak-free and gives you buildable color (though honestly, one application is good for me). I actually prefer it to Clarins Self Tanning Gel. It smells wonderful, and the tint shows you where to blend. It also dries fairly quickly and is never sticky. I'm actually surprised that Origins makes such a good self tanner, but since I'm an Origins junkie anyway you won't see me complaining!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JBu1023 on 10/3/2009 11:14:00 PM more reviews by JBu1023

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this self tanner!! I have tried several different kinds and this is the only one that has a pleasant scent and does not look orangey. I love that it has a thinner consistency and bronze color to it. This makes it much easier to rub in and see where you are applying it. It has a nice shimmer to it as well. Although it is pricey, it is the only tanner I will use!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JudiWickham on 9/25/2009 11:58:00 AM more reviews by JudiWickham

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is the first self tanner that has not developed a nasty smell on me! Smells minty. I put it on before bed after exfoliating and woke up with lovely bronzed skin the next morning. It has a shimmer to it, which may not be to everyones taste. I love this product because it was easy and quick to apply, moisturizing (not sticky), smells good and was not orange or streaky. Everything I look for in a self tanner!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 shgale on 7/16/2009 9:13:00 AM more reviews by shgale

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Fantastic self tanner- a very natural colour that builds nice and gradually which is great for fair skin like mine. The slight sparkles allow you to see where you have applied it and the smell is minty and not fake-tan offensive. I do agree about the packaging though. The tube is messy and it is difficult to regulate the amount that comes out! Having used loads of other fake tanners though I would never give up this one. The colour and application are perfect.
Edit: I am very sorry to say that I have to change my review completely. On buying this again this year they seem to have drastically changed their ingredients and now instead of a nice minty smell it smells like rusty metal and the colour is no longer foolproof but blotchy and either non-existent or with multiple applications it is orange and patchy. Don't know what has gone wrong but I won't be wasting my money again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bettyl0u on 7/6/2009 10:59:00 AM more reviews by bettyl0u

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for years and it never streaks and always gives me a nice bronzed tan. It takes a couple applications (over a week or so) to give me the color I want, but it's always perfect. There are two slight drawbacks, first it has a slight glitter in it and I've had people ask me why I'm wearing glitter. :) Second, it is expensive for a 5 oz bottle at $18.50 when there are many cheaper drugstore alternatives out there. I'm going to experiment a littile with the cheaper alternatives, but I will probably have to settle for something less realistic looking. Overall, this stuff is the best that I have tried, even better than Clarins in my mind!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Origins products

More Self Tanners products