Ben Nye • Final Seal • Other

rated 4.4(87 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 diosmar82 on 4/3/2014 9:17:00 PM more reviews by diosmar82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

This product is AMAZING. I even love the minty smell. As my gramma always said, if you feel it stinging it's because its working LOL,

The small bottle goes for 5.99 and the big one for 12.99, good price for such an amazing product, but then again, Ben Nye is amazing!!!!!!!

The packaging is ok, I usually put it in a different spray bottle because I hate when it squirts, lol, no pun intended, lol.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mhrn10 on 3/25/2014 6:19:00 AM more reviews by Mhrn10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I am saying goodbye to my MAC Fix+ since i use this product. I love the scent, and it can hold my makeup for 18 hours (from my experience) and i just need a quick powder touch up because i have a super oily skin. Never experience any problems, thank god.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nm102992 on 3/9/2014 6:45:00 PM more reviews by Nm102992

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

AMAZING
I wear white dress shirts to work and my collars always get stained from my makeup until I discovered this.

I was using Mac Fix+ to finish my makeup, while it left a nice finish, it did not protect against smudging, or transferring.

Ben nye to the rescue! NO transfer! Extremely long wearing!! I applied my makeup at 10 AM yesterday, went to a work event, and then to my friends dorm, where I slept. Unfortunately I was not in my normal state of mind and didn't wash my face before bed. Woke up- no stains on the white linen, looked in the mirror- while not perfect I would say 90% of my face was in tact! Including my contours. My eyes were a little choppy from rubbing.

I have 3 complaints though,
1) claims to be a "matte sealer" this is not true, it leaves me quite shiny, I powder my tzone after applying

2) the minty feeling? It really burns and if you open your eyes right away they really sting

3) the nozzle. The spray is not a fine mist and quite inconsistent. I pour my product into an empty Fix+ bottle, because the sprayer on that is awesome.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dpchemd1 on 2/18/2014 11:32:00 PM more reviews by dpchemd1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Best setting spray I have used yet! I have tried MAC and MUFE's setting sprays but Ben Nye's is the best for lasting power. LOVE! Just avoid getting it in your hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sandracruz on 2/11/2014 10:14:00 PM more reviews by sandracruz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

the barebones setting spray that does the job, affordably well.

forget about the all nighter, model in a bottle, or other high end setting sprays. this might have the utilitarian plain bottle packaging, with a spray that oftentimes squirt chunky streams, and a minty toothpaste smell but what matters most is its performance. and price.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeup9111 on 2/1/2014 5:24:00 PM more reviews by makeup9111

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is it for setting makeup! It keeps everything budge proof in a variety of conditions, heat, moisture, movement, it's awesome!
The scent is really strong, medicinal peppermint, but it goes away really quickly.
The pump isn't the greatest and can clog, but I've learned to get around that with rinsing it under hot water and using a sponge to apply it.
The product, when sprayed close to eyes, can sting sting sting! There is definitely a learning curve to this, but it's SO worth it.
How I apply:
In a pinch I will hold it at least 8-10 inches away from my face and spray, then walk into the mist, with my EYES CLOSED!
The greatest application I've had is spraying it onto a bareley damp beauty blender and tapping it onto my skin like it's makeup.
This technique works the best in tricky places like undereyes, around the nose, and eyes.
It's dirt cheap, lasts forever, and once you've got the application down, it's pretty much bullet proof.
HG! I do not apply my makeup without using this, I really can't say enough, it stops creasing, settling, etc, Just makes everything work better.


6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetascocoa on 1/20/2014 1:32:00 AM more reviews by sweetascocoa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This product does what it claims it really does hold your makeup in place for hours. Here's another things that it will do- hold your hair in place, when you don't have hairspray. I was at my boyfriend's house and we ere going out, and I didn't have any hairspray at his house. But I did have this makeup spray and used it because I was in a pinch. It held my hair better than any hair spray that I own. Now, I know that is probably isn't the healthiest stuff for my hair (I'm pretty sure it has lots of alcohol in it) but when you're in a bind, there's another use for it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rsanzio on 12/26/2013 6:31:00 PM more reviews by Rsanzio

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I don't remember who on MU recommended this but man do i owe them a big high five. I bought a little bottle of it and it holds my makeup on like iron.

I like the beauty parlor smell and the slight sting when it goes on, but YMMV. I have combination skin and I do get a slight shine but a little finishing powder takes this out.

My makeup has never held like this in my life and I don't find it drying on my combination skin. Very affordable and made to hold stage makeup on under hot lights, so it is really in a class by itself when it comes to makeup fixatives. Big, big thumbs up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nocturnem on 12/1/2013 1:26:00 AM more reviews by nocturnem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this spray based on the rave reviews, but I just can't get it to work for me. I've tried both spraying it directly according to the bottle instructions, and also spraying into the air and letting the product fall onto my face as recommended here, but although the latter does indeed work best for applying it evenly, both ways make my face look a little bit shiny in places (I spray after using Nars Light Reflecting Loose Powder), like plastic looking, and it makes the skin a little tight. Now, that is fine, as it feels a bit like hairspray for the face. Five minutes later, however, the make-up around the areas where my pores are bigger looks very, very dry and kind of patchy, like bad quality powder foundation. Still, I could live even with that if at least it made the make-up last. But it doesn't! I've tried it several days thinking that perhaps it was my application that was flawed, but after 6 hours or so every day I used this spray my make-up would look very cracked, dry, and flaky, and it seemed to melt off weirdly. It absolutely did not help make my make-up last longer, as I usually get a good 6-8 hours of nice looking make-up until it starts to fade or my skin gets oily.

The liquid itself has a very strong mint smell, so beware if you're sensitive! Also, make sure you close your eyes while spraying or it'll burn and itch.

All in all, I'm sad this disastrous experience has been my introduction to setting sprays, but what works for one person might not work for another, I suppose!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mandy280 on 11/12/2013 12:03:00 AM more reviews by Mandy280

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the holy grail to setting sprays. It is minty smelling, like mouth wash, and feels a bit sticky as it is drying but keeps my makeup looking flawless all day. Be sure to put your mascara on after you spray this on though, or else it'll cause your eyes to water and them your mascara will run.

I have oily, sensitive, and acne prone skin. This setting spray doesn't affect my skin in any bad ways. I will continue to use this for as long as it is available.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ben Nye products

More Other products