Olay Foaming Face Wash, for Sensitive Skin

4.0

206 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Sodium Myristoyl Sarcosinate, Peg-120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate, Sodium Lauroamphoacetate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Polyquaternium-10, Peg-150 Pentaerythrityl Tetrastearate, Glycol Distearate, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamide Mea, Laureth-10, Disodium Lauroamphodiacetate, Sodium Trideceth Sulfate, Citric Acid, Disodium Edta, Phenoxyethanol, Dmdm Hydantoin 5/2/2013


on 6/19/2015 6:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I purchased this product countless times over a ten-year period.

CONS:

This company does animal testing, which is my main reason for buying cleansers from Paula's Choice instead.

PROS:

On the plus side, it is one of the best and cheapest non-irritating face cleansers for rosacea-affected skin. Be sure to buy the sensitive, fragrance free version. It washes off all the makeup, including water-resistant mascara, without completely stripping the skin of moisture.

You can usually find it for $5 or less. I even found a bottle of this in a French drugstore when I went to Cannes. I was relieved because I had run out of my travel-sized cleanser.

Good for sensitive skin that is combination or oily, unless you are vegan. If you prefer to buy from a cruelty free brand, I recommend Paula's Choice Skin Balancing Cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/13/2015 1:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a good cleanser, left my skin soft and not dry at all, its only about 5 dlls which is great and the packaging in a tube is excellent, but I have very sensitive eyes and it made me cry A LOT, my eyes turned red every time I used it, even when I was very careful, it didn't work for me.


on 1/26/2015 7:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I am pretty sure this was making me break out. I stared using it everyday and i noticed more and more pimples were coming in. I stopped using it and now they are going away. It felt nice using it but I think there is too much fregrance in it... which can cause breakouts.


on 11/26/2014 4:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this over a year ago because it was rated by Paula as a "best". I'm on about my third or fourth bottle now. I keep one in my gym/ swimming bag, one in the shower, one at my boyfriend's house.... you get the idea.

It is superb at removing makeup, has a nice foaming action, does not irritate skin, and is non-drying. Although I normally remove my makeup at night prior to cleansing, I often swim after work, and like to remove my makeup prior to getting in the pool and having my goggles get all mascara-y. This does an excellent job at quickly removing makeup in the shower without any makeup remover.

I alternate this at home with Paula's Choice Skin Recovery cream cleanser. I tend to use the Olay in the shower in the morning because I like the foaming action, and the PC at night after removing makeup.

tip: because this is so gentle and lacks some of the detergent ingredients normally found in foaming cleansers, it helps to rub a bit of cleanser vigorously between your hands to produce a lather prior to putting it on your face. If you care about foam/ lather, that is.


on 10/12/2014 8:39:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I love this Olay facial wash!!! Please try.. I highly recommend this product..


on 9/24/2014 8:36:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

Everybody needs a good facial cleanser, and this works for virtually everyone. Also, the price for the quality and the amount of product is virtually the cheapest you'll ever find it.
It has no inflammatory agents(unlike many other ones that are popular) and even some anti-inflammatory agents. If you use more, it cleans more (like for oily skin or makeup) and if you use the smallest amount it doesn't mess with even the driest and most sensitive of skin.
This cleans really well. Other people warned me that this left a "film". On me, no oil or emollient or silicone residue of any kind was left. In fact, I thought my friends were barking mad because my skin even felt a little stripped. This was the first time my very oily skin felt too matte. Now, I know, that some cleansers, like bar cleansers, leave you squeaky clean but that compromises the protective barrier healthy skin should have(plus, those leave a film that can cause irritation, more acne, and films actually encourage bacterial growth which make extra resistant super-bacteria). Skin should ideally be normal, not bone-dry and cracky. The "film" is your natural protective barrier, which protects your skin. Stripping skin is really bad and can lead to oilier skin and scars.
This cleans all types of makeup, though it doesn't do this in the same way a good makeup remover does. Think of makeup removers as dissolvers, whereas soap scrubs skin cleaner. I'm a contact wearer, so my eyes are naturally sensitive. This does sting a little when it makes way deep into my eyes, but not like the sting of inflammatory agents. If I have super water- and smudge- proof makeup, I use remover first so I don't have to scrub as much. However, for most of my daily makeup, I only need this alone to remove all my makeup(eyeshadow, brow powder, washable liner, washable mascara, blush, powder, foundation).
Also, this removes excess oil, dirt, and dead skin cells. I never feel dirty or like I need to use more after using this.
While it has no fragrance, it does have a light, mild soapy scent. The more you use, the more foaming it gets.
The lather feels very smooth and luxurious, and it's not too thick and foamy and the bubbles are pretty small. It makes washing my face like a massage.
I don't have sensitive skin, but I didn't get any skin reactions or more breakouts(due to this cleanser). I'm also, like the vast majority of the world, not allergic to anything in it.
The tube is convenient and keeps everything preserved and you can squeeze every last drop.
If you haven't tried this yet, you need it. This is probably the best cleanser in the world and is totally a staple and it's my HG.


on 9/22/2014 5:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

A great cleanser that fully cleans my face and leaves it feeling silky smooth and hydrated. It rinses well and leaves no residue.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am clog-proned, and on the oily side (but my skin is incredibly prone to dehydration) and this cleanser makes my face feel very clean without drying it out or clogging it. It also does not have a scent. The tube is huge, and a little goes a long way, so one bottle lasts for a very long time. And I think I only paid something like $4.99 for it so it really is such a steal. It's working way better than the HE cleanser I just finished that clogged my pores worse than any other product I've ever used.

I only use this is in the morning in the shower so I'm not sure how well it removes makeup.


on 6/20/2014 9:25:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

An HG cleanser for me. Creamy, unscented, extremely gentle and non-stripping. I could *almost* skip moisturizer with this, as it leaves my skin very clean and soft. I do need to work it between my hands to get a good enough lather(I don't vigorously scrub my skin, but I do like the feeling of more bubbles) but it's hardly a detriment. As far as makeup removal, I'm not sure, since I only wear a very light powder foundation that comes off very easily anyway. I've gone through two squeeze tubes and one bottle of this(different formulations I believe but identical to me in feel and function) and will continue to repurchase.


on 6/19/2014 9:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this for 4 years now. It has never given me any problems which is why I've never tried to switch face washes. I have sensitive, oily skin. This cleanser gets all of my makeup off and doesn't leave my face feeling dry. Give this a try if you just want something fragarance free, and does what a face wash should.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top