New York Color • Smooth Skin Liquid Makeup • Foundations

rated 3.2(137 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 karliemoore17 on 10/31/2014 12:22:00 PM more reviews by karliemoore17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

okay, this is the 3rd time now that I've reviewed this foundation. This used to be my go to foundation, my HG. I loved it. I had it in nude, but now that its winter I bought ivory. I've been using the ivory for a few weeks now and I've applied it every which way: figers sponge, beauty blender(dupe), foundation brush, and stipple brush. The bottle of nude that I had went on great with my fingers or a sponge and stayed on all day. I don't kniw if maybe I got a bad bottle in the ivory or what, but no matter what I do my face ends up looking streaky, blotchy, and cakey within a few hours! I'm so upset! I religiously use NYC products, they have never let me down, seriously my whole makeup bag is full on NYC. But I can not get this foundation to work. To be fair though, I have tried literally hundreds of foundations and none of them look right on my skin. They always look good on my forhead and cheeks but not my nose and chin. I think I'm giving up at this point and going back to my bb creme. NYC smooth skin bb is amazing, and once set with powder makes ny skin look fantastic, don't know why I strayed from it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* madmargeS on 8/17/2014 7:50:00 PM more reviews by madmargeS

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in Ivory. I have pale skin with pink undertones. Most fair/ivory shades of foundation are either too dark or too yellow. I figured for about $3, what did I have to lose?
I could not get this to come out of the bottle easily, so I used a Q-tip to remove some foundation from the bottle, apply to the back of my hand, and use a foundation brush to apply it to my face. If I needed more foundation, I just used a new Q-tip.
I've used it twice now, and my skin loves this stuff! No breakouts, perfect color match, and give a non-cakey, natural finish. I bought a MAC foundation pump and used it in this bottle, and it's perfect! The only con I have is that this is such a thick product to be in a bottle without a pump, but I found a way around it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 celestesk on 12/8/2013 2:11:00 PM more reviews by celestesk

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the Spiced Beige and i didnt like the product at all. It was easy to apply good coverage, but sadly made me break out

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cosmeticluv18 on 10/10/2013 11:04:00 AM more reviews by cosmeticluv18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really don't like this foundation at all .. It made my face look cakey and oily and the product was WAY too thick. Plus it all wore off two hours after having it on. Don't reccommend it .. The price is ok, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* postmoderngirl on 10/8/2013 7:19:00 PM more reviews by postmoderngirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this quite a while ago when everyone on YouTube was doing the $20 makeup challenge & a few girls bought this so I decided to try it. For the price (about $5) it's a decent foundation. However, I have other favourites & don't really reach for this often. The packaging is crazy for how thick it is - I use a spatula to get the product out & it's fine. It covers pretty well, has about medium coverage. It goes on kind of streaky / patchy for me, you really have to blend it out. It kind of makes it look like I have dry skin when I don't. After about 3 1/2 hours it was already seperating / wearing off my chin.. and when I got home I realized it had oxidized a bit orange and darker. If you need an inexpensive foundation this is okay, I just have many other ones I prefer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Bellebeauty12 on 9/28/2013 4:07:00 PM more reviews by Bellebeauty12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This stuff seriously sucks.


Packaging-
So flippin hard to get the product out! It's really thick, and it comes out so slow. I can turn it upside down and keep it there for like 15 mins and nothing will happen. It's looks nice and sleek and professional, but it really needs a pump. (Not that I care to get the product out anymore!)

Quality-
TERRIBLE. It has really good coverage. It's all out coverage. This foundation oxidizes so bad. It looks nice and smooth in regular lighting for like one min, then you notice somethings a little off with the color. Then you go outside, and see that you're orange! This stuff also is really cakey and it's hard to blend with out getting streaks.

Price-
It's only like $3. Well, you get what you paid for.


OVERALL, do NOT buy!!! I hate this! It's a waist of money!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AgentMakeup007 on 9/25/2013 10:50:00 AM more reviews by AgentMakeup007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I used this yesterday when applying makeup on my sister's face since she had bought it and wanted to try it out. I was very skeptical on using it because I normally buy high end foundations to minimize damage to the skin, but I had no other choice. Being an NYC product (I love their blushes btw), it surprised me the consistency was creamy, almost like a light mousse, and it was not completely absorbed by the sponge. While applying it looked beautiful and the coverage was not bad. I could build it up to a medium coverage and it looked dewy and nice. I applied concealer under her eyes and set it with pressed powder and it lasted her all day.
A very nice product indeed. I don't know how it would work for oily skin though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 northerndownpour on 8/26/2013 7:31:00 PM more reviews by northerndownpour

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I usually use MUFE Face and Body but times are tough and I figured for a few dollars I could try something new. At first I was very impressed with this foundation. I mixed it with some moisturizer and it looked great on my skin. All was well until this morning. I now have a cute rash on my chin. This foundation is going in the trash. The packaging isn't great. There isn't a pump and it's hard to get the product out. I would have overlooked that if it my skin didn't react to it so badly. I guess it's on to the next!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Sarsar1sar on 8/25/2013 11:48:00 PM more reviews by Sarsar1sar

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

This was the first makeup I ever bought (in seventh grade.) I dont know why I didnt start out with mascara or lip gloss like a normal person. Anyways, I only put it on my nose and forehead, didnt use primer, and it lasted all day... but it was hard finding a good color match so I mixed "barely beige" with moisturizer. It made my skin bright orange unless I mixed it with moisturizer. I cant believe I wore it to school! Please spend a few extra dollars and get a real foundation!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* applecour on 8/15/2013 8:37:00 PM more reviews by applecour

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I'm REALLY impressed with this foundation. I purchased it after the Wet 'n' Wild Coverall started breaking out my chin. It was less than $3 at my local Target. I purchased the pressed powder with it. I apply this with a makeup sponge and it gives a beautiful matte finish. It's not full coverage, I would say it's medium at most. It does cover the cysts that the Coverall caused 100% without any concealer, but I do need concealer under my eyes. I'm NC15-20 in MAC and the "Nude" shade is a perfect match for me. Honestly, I didn't notice this oxidizing like others have stated. I do have oily, semi-sensitive skin so the face that this is oil free and doesn't clog pores is huge. It also doesn't contain an SPF. It's pretty matte even before you set it, but after you set it I get from 9am-1pm without blotting which is good for me. I don't use a primer underneath, but I definitely set it with powder every time. So far I haven't noticed my skin hating it. The cysts from the Coverall have been healing since I switched to this which is awesome. The only thing keeping this from 5 stars and HG is the face that it doesn't keep me matte as long as I would prefer.

EDIT: This stuff started breaking me out on my forehead where I NEVER break out. In the trash it went... should've known it was too good to be true!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Foundations products