Renee Rouleau • Purifying Face Wash • Cleansers

rated 4.0(21 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* XoXoSinCity on 12/2/2011 10:27:00 PM more reviews by XoXoSinCity

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I had to play around with figuring out what cleanser was right for me in the RRBHA System since I was originally recommended the AHA/BHA Cleansing Gel since I have very clog/breakout prone combo skin. I have used ahas etc for years so figured it would be perfect in keeping my fussy skin clear. However it ended up being way too much for me only because it was a scrub cleanser instead of a pure gel cleanser like I had expected. Even though I need constant exfoliation for my clog by the second skin I cant handle scrub products on a daily basis. In that switched to the Purifying Cleanser which is perfect (not too weak like I originally expected) 2x a day for me. I love that is the only gentle gel cleanser I have found in a lifetime of trying products and doesn't leave my skin tight or dehydrated as not full of harsh crap like everything else on the market. I also love how naturally fresh/faint green tea is smells of. So pleasant to use and really love that unlike other gentle gel cleansers I have tried in the past that don't lather it doesn't feel slimy when you are using it and wash of leaving your skin feeling deep cleaned as I need but balanced/hydrated as well. Great product among many I love from RR and will use forever but for fussy skin stypes like mine unfortunately you have to play around with products as what's recommneded on their site for a general skin type doesn't always work out. Their return policy is great but as always somewhat of a pain to deal with in eating shipping costs there and back when ordering new stuff. What can you do, for the quality/results this line offers for fussy skin types I will deal with it lol. Don't hesitate to try this one which is great for gentle deep cleaning for any skin type that is breakout prone! :)
UPDATE 6/7/13: I just wanted to note I am using and still loving this cleanser. It sadly was one of the only products that worked for me long term after I had my RR Skincare kick. I really wanted to love everything from this line so much as there truly are some great ingredients in the brand. I am always tweaking and trying new things as I have such fussy skin and of course had been using other cleansers in the meantime. I found my bottle of this cleanser under the sink and decided to give it another go recently when my skin was going a little crazy and love it even more than before. It really just is unique in have such a soft gentle foam that is rare is gel cleansers. It never strips my skin and miraculously not having any actives I have no idea how it manages to really deep clean my insane clogs/keep breakouts at bay being so gentle. For that it will officially be a staple even with the pain of having to order online. Also unlike the many other overpriced serums/product sold by RR for how little you get this cleanser is worth it as lasts forever being very concentrated. Star of the line for me and even being a gel I would easily recommend this to anyone from super dry to oily skin that deals with clogs/redness/breakouts! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleydutta on 9/28/2011 9:09:00 PM more reviews by ashleydutta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love Renee Rouleau's products usually but was disappointed with this. I bought it after I wrote customer service and explained my skin type - they recommended this cleanser but it really dried me out. I have combination skin that easily gets dehydrated but also gets really oily. They promised me this would not dry my skin out (as so many cleansers do). Well, it did. badly. After using it for 3 weeks, my skin had white, tight patches and dehydration lines under my eyes. It also dried out my husband's skin - and his is very oily.

I quit using it and started using Trader Joe's Nourish All-in-One cleanser - oh my gosh, that is a gem! It cleans well and never ever leaves my skin dry - my skin is looking the best it has in a long time!

Needless to say, I returned this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 purplerain71 on 3/15/2011 4:47:00 PM more reviews by purplerain71

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

At first, I am little scared to try new cleanser from Renee. Reason is because I had no luck with clear purifying face wash elsewhere. My skin is so coarse, texture is thick and rough, easily breaking out. After washing my face with this cleasner, immediately applying lemon toner, my skin sensed relief and happy! Left my skin feeling clean and soft! I love it and always eagering to wash again at night and morning!

UPDATE: So disappointing, my skin continues to break out, more pimples in areas that never happens before....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Star5181 on 10/14/2008 2:56:00 PM more reviews by Star5181

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I really like this cleanser. It's just a great, basic cleanser - doesn't break me out, doesn't dry me out, and removes all of my makeup. The price is definitely steep since it's just a basic cleanser, but a little bit goes a long way, and the 8 oz bottle is going to last me a very long time!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Emmie4 on 7/7/2008 12:39:00 AM more reviews by Emmie4

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE THIS! A tiny dab on my fingers in the shower in the morning, and my face is smooth and clean. It doesn't dry my skin at all, and a bottle lasts me almost 12 months!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 amysuh on 5/27/2008 1:33:00 PM more reviews by amysuh

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i bought this cleanser in a kit and i really fely i was ripped off. average cleanser that does its job of cleaning your face but did not warrant the high price tag of 27 bucks. actually i was not impressed with any of the products in the kit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tdramey on 1/1/2008 8:50:00 PM more reviews by tdramey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this cleanser. I use purifying in the morning and aloe cleansing milk in the evening to remove the makeup on my face and then follow with Dermalogica Dermal Clay Cleanser. I don't mind the simple packaging as the product inside does the trick. I truly feel like my very oily skin has become more combination after using this product. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 wyang83 on 2/9/2007 4:15:00 PM more reviews by wyang83

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this cleanser for couple of weeks now but to be fair honest I dont find it anything special. Just another average cleanser with a rather high price tag. There are cheaper products that do an equal or do even a better job. The thing I do have to mention is they have got an excellent costumer service!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* js1624 on 7/3/2006 9:05:00 AM more reviews by js1624

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This was my fav cleanser when my skin was more normal to oily. She really has the best cleansers. Now that my skin has gotten drier and more sensative I use the gentle gel and the creamy cleansers she has.
UPDATE: I LOVE THIS STUFF. Even though my skin is more normal to dry now and VERY sensative (and still breaks out) this is the perfect cleanser. I use it in the evening and it removes all make-up, even the long wear kind I use and ALL my eye makeup too but does not dry out my skin. It is a gel but not a runny gel and not one that lathers. It kind of melts off the makeup. I spritz my skin with water or toner then massage this in and either rinse off or use one of Renee's great sponges. It only takes a little, esp if you dampen or wet your face first so the bottle last a long time. (I still love the Gentle Gel Cleanser - I use it in the morning) All the ingrediants are very gentle and will not clog pores or cause break outs, etc. All her products are known for that - I love her entire line and my skin breaks out at the drop of a hat. Hers is the only line I have found that I can use that does not clog my poors or cause a rash. Plus they make my skin look fantastic - very smooth, moist and supple. I get comments on my skin ALL the time. I am always being told I look 10-20 years younger than I am!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 landrews10 on 4/22/2006 11:39:00 PM more reviews by landrews10

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Yeah, I really like this cleanser. I've bought it twice now and will probably keep buying it because it doesn't dry me out in the winter, and so far, now that it's getting warmer it's doing a nice job with the oilies. It has a very light fragrance, and doesn't really foam at all - which doesn't bother me. My only complaint is the 6 oz. bottle, for the price you should get 8 oz.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Renee Rouleau products

More Cleansers products