Almay Clear Complexion Light & Perfect Pressed Powder

3.3

104 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have used CC powder and concealer forever, I still remember when it was sold in a silver compact and came in a translucent shade. I wish Almay still offered a translucent option, but now I use "Light 100" and it's almost too dark for me, and I am light, but not super fair. I LOVE that this is still sold in a nice square, portable compact, with a nice quality puff. I hate bulky split pans, or bulky powders in general. I use the CC concealer to spot conceal any blemishes or post blemish red marks, then use this powder all over my face to take away the shine from my SPF. This is sheer coverage, and mattifies nicely, which is all I want from a powder, because I like my skin to be as natural as possible. I always blot excess oil off my t-zone before re-powdering, and I store the puff upside down in the compact, because if too much natural oils gets onto the product, it will form a weird hard layer on the top that you have to scrape off, which is why I deducted a lippie. Such an expensive powder should not do that!



Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ok! so! I bought this today because it was only $5NZD (usually $27.50NZD) and I love it!! I am using it on top of my normal foundation to give extra coverage and just bring my whole look together, I guess kinda like a finishing powder. I didn't like the packaging but thats not a major. I wouldn't pay full price for this, but on special I would buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2015 3:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Perfectly covers my oily skin, without making it look fake or cakey. Matches my pale skin tone, but does not leave me looking washed out.

I like that it has a mirror in the powder compact. IME the powder does not crack.

I do wish it had longer staying power, but it's still a great pressed powder.

Definitely recommend.


on 9/26/2014 9:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I needed a new to-go powder, and this caught my eyes while shopping. I like what the packaging has to say about the product, but using it was such a let down. The biggest problem I have is that it is difficult for me to get any product on my applicator ( I like using kabuki brushes). I had no problem picking up product on a kabuki brush with other pressed powders (Neutrogena). Even with the powder puff, I have to literally scrape off product to get any. This is a total no go with me.


on 1/23/2014 4:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this powder....just not so happy about the packaging as I find it difficult to get the product from the corner of the compact. For reference, I have C3/NC20-25, very oily, acne prone, sensitive, and slightly aging skin...I'm 36 :( I used MAC Studio Fix for years and years (big mistake!!!) and transitioned to Neutrogena pressed mineral powder for a short period of time per my dermatologist, but as my skin was not clearing up good enough for me I decided to give Almay foundation and powder a try. I don't use products with bismuth oxychloride because I don't want a "dewy" or semi-matte finish....I want a TOTALLY MATTE finish...and my skin cannot tolerate artificial fragrance or chemical sunscreens so finding makeup is a challenge...not to mention my Asian skin is hard to match. At first I bought the light/medium shade but surprisingly it was too dark!!! So I got the light shade and it was perfect! So I use Almay Clear Complexion foundation in #600 Sand along with the light pressed powder and they are a perfect match for me. Keeps me shine free for a few hours, not all day...I'm so oily I don't expect any face makeup to keep me shine free ALL day...and my face is not cakey and I have not experienced more acne outbreaks....however, I don't believe using this actually "healed" the occasional pimple I may get.

Everyone's skin is different which is why this powder probably got some bad reviews...but for me I love it!! On a sidenote...for touch-ups I blot the oil on my face BEFORE applying this powder. If you don't the product will end up getting hard.


on 6/8/2013 12:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

When I started to wear makeup, a friend recommend me this press powder.
I love it. It didn't clear my acne at all.
I would buy again be my powder preferences has advanced.


on 2/3/2013 2:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So I bought this super cheap, on sale at London Drugs, it was only 7.99... Which is pretty good for an Almay product (even though, literally every single product I've used by Almay sucked so bad)... Dont even get me started on the Smart shade primer. Yikes. Disaster in a bottle. So the first time I tried this, I used the applicator it came with. In my house, it didn't look too bad... however, when i got to work and looked in the mirror I almost cried. I looked like Snooki or something, It was awful. I almost gave up, but decided to use my kabuki brush on it- and it was SO much better. You don;t really need a lot, it is a very dark color even though in the package it looks rather light, and perfect to my skin tone. So, I gave this product a 3 (even though the first day i used it I literally was ready to toss it)... As for the way it covers, it's wonderful for that. I couldn't see any imperfections on my face the second time around. So I suppose it depends on how much you use of it. I won't repurchase ever again, however... for 7 dollars, not bad.


on 12/1/2012 8:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have bought this powder in two shades: first in medium, and it was waaay too dark, then I bought it in light and was STILL too dark. I'm not a pale person by any means, and most of the time the light/medium or medium tone powders work perfect on me, but not this. I have very oily skin, and this powder gets even darker as soon as my skin starts to get a bit oily. This doesn't control my oily skin at all. And if you're looking for coverage, this powder doesn't provide any. With time the powder becomes hard to use and you basically have to "scrub" the product in order for it to get into your brush or puff. The only two things I like about this product is the packaging and the fact that it has salicylic acid in it, but other than that, I don't like it, which means that I wouldn't recommend and won't buy again.


on 11/8/2012 3:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The packageing is cute and comes with a little mirror and the powder match my skin tone it didn't chalk up or make me flaky. I don't like that it was chalky and the lasting power was not very good.


on 9/27/2012 1:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to like this powder so bad! I have been running out of my setting powder/blot powder so I decided to get this powder on a whim because it advertised as a powder for oily and acne prone skin. For over $10 this powder is horrible. It is hard as rock and my brush cannot pick up any product. Even when applied, it oxidized into an orange color and did not keep my oil down at all.


Pros:
Good ingredients, no parabens, paraffins, and etc
Good intentions with the acne clearing medicine and oil-free... etc


Cons:
Oxidizes within hours
Does not have any oil control
Hard to apply...
Expensive for a drugstore brand


Back to Top