St. Ives Intensive Healing Advanced Therapy Lotion

4.2

58 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

water, glycerin, mineral oil, glycol stearate, cetyl alcohol, stearic acid, petrolatum, dimethicone, glyceryl stearate, magnesium aluminum silicate, acetylated lanolin alcohol, cetyl acetate, triethanolamine, cocoa seed butter, sunflower extract, primula veris extract, sambucus nigra flower extract, chamomilla recutita flower extract, carbomer, aloe barbadensis leaf juice, algae extract, propylene glycol, sorbitol, calcium pantothenate, tocopheryl acetate, panthenol, biotin, thiamine hcl, ascorbic acid, ambrettolide, dipropylene glycol, polysorbate 20, methyldihydrojasmonate, stearamide amp, dmdm hydantoin, disodium edta, methylparaben, propylparaben, titanium dioxide.


on 6/3/2014 12:16:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Firstly, just to clarify, I do live in a tropical country where its hot and humid all year round so I have no idea how this product works in winter! But for summer, this product works wonderfully! The scorching heat can really dry and make your skin appear sullen and tanned (not in a good way) and this is a great before-bedtime lotion. I don't really like to use it in the day because it is greasy but that's only because it's a very thick cream. so it's best applied before bedtime! I swear, my skin feels so unbelievably soft in the morning it's incredible! The only downside would be the scent! Its very berry-like ... it's just...strange. but its not repulsive either so yes I would repurchase it. An effective, value-for-money product!



on 2/1/2014 11:32:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

St. Ives Intensive Healing Body Lotion is "supposed" to heal dry, cracked skin. However, after using this twice a day for a month I have noticed no difference in my very dry winter skin. The lotion has a very nice almost almond scent so it's not overpowering. However, it does not work. It goes on slightly greasy and takes a looooonnnnng time to sink in. The packing and price are the only good things going for this product. (It comes in a pump bottle and I paid 4.99 for 21 fluid ounces.) After a month I still have dry skin and am going back to my old favorite Aveeno and will not be buying this St. Ives again.


on 12/10/2013 12:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have dry skin and even drier during the winter months. I picked up a big bottle of this lotion at target and it is a "heavy duty" lotion. Meaning its a thick consistency and it would take a little while for the skin to fully absorbs it. It's not something I would wear when I'm in a hurry to get out the door. What I don't like is the smell,the only time I would wear this lotion is after I take my shower because I know that's when my skin need it the most but I never reach for it any other time because I really dislike the scent. st.ives has other moisturize lotion,it might not as "heavy" as this one but I don't mind.


on 12/10/2013 12:03:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Overall, I've had no issues with this lotion. I bought the large pump bottle last winter when my skin was super dry and found this to be semi-helpful. It didn't blow me away and there are other lotions on this price range I like as much or more, but it isn't a bad product.


on 8/2/2013 12:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Hands down for st ives, next best thing to vichy, perhaps on my 5th or 6th bottle amazing smell , smooth and velvety, the Only body lotion will ever use.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have the sample size for my purse. Don't really like it. Takes a long time to rub in and doesn't fully absorb. Leaves my hands a little greasy and coated feeling.


on 11/3/2012 3:03:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I had a nice MUA'er send me this as I couldn't find it here. It's a very nice lotion. Sinks in my dry, mature skin and the light fragrance is great for me. Strong fragrances set's off my migraines so I have to be careful of what I use.
The only thing I didn't like about it is about after using it a dozen times the plunger top came off so now I have it taped on with mailing tape.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/2/2012 2:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Im 39 weeks pregnant so going to the bathroom all day and washing my hands periodically eventually started to dry my hands out. This lotion helped my dry hands a good deal, about 3 days after using the product my hands were already looking and feeling better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

St. Ives Intense Healing Hand Cream is a lotion that claims to "heal dry, rough hands" and is "clinically proven to keep hands moisturized all day" Its non - irritating, fragrance free, hypo-allergenic, cruelty free and contains 100% all natural moisturizers like olive leaf extract, cranberry seed oil, and grape seed oil. My mum got this for me at WalMart for $3 for 3 fl oz of product.
Mummy got this for me when I was suffering from a serious case of fast food hands. They're like Nurse's Hands, but with more burns and dried ketchup under your nails, on top of the dryness, redness, peeling, and weak nails. It's pretty uncomfortable and really unsightly.
Packaging of this hand cream is the basic up-right squeeze tube with plastic flip top cap. Nothing reviewable or exciting. The tube seems to collapse on its self as it empties, so there's not much problem getting product stuck at the top. The tube is fairly large, but still fit in my winter coat pocket to take to work with me.
Formula is thick, white, and feels buttery. A little bit goes a pretty long way. I've had this tube for a bit over a year and I still have a little bit left in there. The cream takes a bit longer to sink in because of its thickness. But I feel like that causes it to moisturize deeper and more evenly. The moisture I get from this is good and natural feeling, no greasy or stickiness. The moisture doesn't last as all day like the package claims. I feel the need to reapply after 3-4 hours. Which isn't too bad.
Healing-wise, this cream didn't work any miracles, but it did help. Over a two week period of most of the peeling and soreness went away and dryness was minimized but still there. I still had wrinkly, red, dish water hands. But they were better than before.
I don't like how this cream smells. I don't like super perfumed lotions, as I find them drying, but I also don't like unscented lotions. It reminds me of medical soap/DermaScrub.
All up this is a good hand cream if you have dry, peeling hands. I recommend it to my fellow restaurant cooks. We kept a bottle of it in the office at my work after I initially brought it in. It's budget friendly, functional, a tad greasy, and doesn't smell very good. Just like a cook. ;)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/9/2011 6:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

my dry skin was always itchy and irritated after showering and shaving. i've tried Jergens lotion and even Neutrogena body oil. both dont compare to the ST.Ives lotion. it glides on so smoothly and absorbs almost instantly. the scent smells a bit medicated but fades after a few min. i no longer have irritation and the little bumps i had on my knees and shoulders have diminished. plus it leaves my skin soo silky smooth and soft. its super affordable too:)




Back to Top