Ouidad Climate Control Gel

3.7

114 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/21/2015 1:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It is a serum like gel in consistency, but it does a great job of encouraging my curls and fighting the frizz. It smells nice and does not feel heavy or greasy. I have the travel size but am definitely upgrading to the bigger bottle. Unfortunately this is pretty expensive at $28 but I think it is worth it. It is not drying and in fact makes my hair feel soft which is nice. I apply it to soaking wet hair and allow to air dry. You can rake it through and then scrunch for good curl definition. I think it works fine on its own but I don't see any problem with combining it with other products since it is so thin.



on 3/13/2015 4:00:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I cannot live without this product! I have been using it for about 12 years and will continue forever. I use it in conjunction with other products but this is my base. Don't be afraid to use quite a bit on each section of hair, I do section my hair as I have a TON! My curls stay fairly frizz free, I wash only about 2 times a week, my curls don't need more than that. This is a great product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/26/2014 11:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I live in Texas and this product is a lifesaver in the summer. I have fine, curly hair and I need something that doesn't weigh it down. Just a little bit of this goes a long way for me, so I'm not too distressed with shelling out $23 for it. I use her "rake and shake" method, instead of scrunching my hair, and it makes my curls much more defined.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/7/2014 1:05:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Definitely a fan. I live in what was once swampland, so summers here are brutal. I don't even bother with blowouts during the summer, because my hair will be curled again the second I hit that wall of humidity outside. I have tried every anti-frizz product there is, and my hair laughs in the face of all of them. Except for this one. Even when I was not using the Curly Girl method and was making every styling mistake for my hair type, this product calmed my hair down significantly. It would not beat down the frizz for the *entire* day. But even when a little came out at the end of the day, it was so much less than usual. Really impressive results, and it's even better when combined with plopping. I'm definitely a fan, and I expect this will be in heavy rotation at my house for the forseeable future. Ouidad frequently goes on sale at Hautelook, which is nice. But I would buy this product at the retail price, it is that good. (And I say that about VERY few products.)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2013 9:16:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I hate her prices, but can't live without Ouidad products. My fine wavy hair is never better than when I use them. You can get a travel size set to try them cheaper.

I use this set - Climate Control gel, Curl Quencher shampoo and conditioner, occasionally Botanical Boost Leave-in for curl support, Styling Mist hair spray and occasional Deep Treatment for shine. I also do ACV rinses twice a week and occasionally throw in Coconut Oil or Coconut Milk pre-shampoo treatments. When I henna my hair in tandem with these, the health, thickness and shine of my hair is even better.

Hope this helps.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/1/2013 11:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have wavy to curly hair naturally that frizzes if there is any sign of humidity in the air. I also straighten it almost every day so it will poof out pretty big then too if there is a lot of humidity. I was hoping this would help but didn't do enough to combat my problem like I had hoped. This also made my hair a tiny bit crispy and dry so I'm still on the hunt for the perfect humidity control product for my hair.


on 4/23/2013 5:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

What kind of hair you have and your climate will make ALL the difference in what works for you so don't expect to find your hg necessarily in the top picks. This works GREAT for my fine, soft, curly and wavy wild hair. At home, it keeps the shine and the softness while giving me more control and stopping frizz. (But in Santa Monica, near the beach, it just makes my hair crunchy when I use it in my usual way.) For me, this is a light control product, which is what I like. Something else great about it is that I can use so little that I still have my original sample bottle MONTHS later:) Because of this, I can't rate it as expensive -- and I Will be buying when I run out because it looks so natural, feels so soft, yet gets rid of the dreaded frizz.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/29/2013 1:40:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's very expensive and I don't find my curls to be less frizzy or more manageable with it. I have to use a lot of product for the patetented shake and rake application, and it really seems to make no difference in how my hair looks or feels.


on 1/13/2013 12:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I keep coming back to this, even though it's more than I like to pay for hair gel. With my curls, I like using a lighter hold gel underneath a stronger. This is great as that bottom product. It makes my hair very smooth and gives great slip. I saturate my hair with this product after applying leave in conditioner, then apply Nexxus gel over top for that stronger hold. I really like how soft my curls feel using this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

While I don't mind crunchiness at all if it preserves curls all day.. what I don't like about this product is, that I don't find anything unique about it at all. It's consistency is thinner than your average drug store, yet, it's got the exact same thinness to it as Sebastian "Wet" for instance. So, basically it's a very expenisve gel, with a thin, slick feel to it. I didn't find any extra benefit to it all. I will not repurchase.




Back to Top