Essie Nail Polish

3.7

206 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/8/2015 12:18:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love Essie polishes! I own around 30 of them, they are such a fun brand. Some of my favorite shades are: Go Ginza, Where's My Chauffeur, Set in Stones, Sure Shot, Aruba Blue, I'm Addicted, Ruffles & Feathers, Strut Your Stuff, A Cut Above, For the Twill of It, In the Cab-ana, and Macks. That last one is one of my favorite, favorite reds of all time. It is so good! In fact, Essie does a fantastic job overall with red polishes. They're right up there with OPI's reds in my opinion.
When it comes to Essie I tend to gravitate toward either their glitters or their brighter, more saturated colors. Formula-wise, these seem to have fewer problems as far as thinness and streakiness. Essie makes a lot of neutral, French-manicure or bridal-type shades that I have to admit I avoid. Those are the colors with the most formula issues as far as I can tell.
Every time they come out with a new collection I immediately check it out, and I usually pick up one or two of them. High quality, fun colors, definitely one of my favorite nail polish brands.
Recommended!



on 4/7/2015 10:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I own five of their polishes: 2 turquoise and Caicos', play date, lapiz in luxury, and tarte deco, all are pretty much streaky and thin. The only reason why it has two stars is because I love their colors. Formula wise however, they are horrible. It takes at least three coats, sometimes more, to get an even coverage. They do have decent wear time though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/3/2015 9:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

MAybe its me but i love the color marshmellow buy it does not last as long as other even cheaper polishes. It chips easy and the white turns dull yellow within a few days. Essie has cute colors but not worth the crazy price.


on 1/20/2015 2:31:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Hate these nail polishes. Such awful quality at a ridiculous price, a better option for nail polishes would be Wet N Wild (they're cheaper, dry faster, aren't crap, and are cruelty free)


on 1/20/2015 7:13:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

First thing you nerd to know is that i have acrylic nail.
Therefor, theese polishes are easy to apply.
I love the shine, you ALMOST dont need a top coat. But then again top coat is a MUST whatever polish you are using.
I am a naildedigner, so mama knows ;)
Yes the brush could be bigger, but thats only going to be a problem if you have long or wide nails.
I like ESSIE. Huge range of colors, shine is very good and they dry pretty fast.
Im all for it, but the are a bit expensive.


on 12/9/2014 4:06:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

For almost 9 dollars I wasn't expecting such a cheap product. It was literaly the only black (licorice) nail polish Target ,and it was recomended by Allure, so I thought what the heck. The brush is way to small and the formula is streaky. It took me several attempts just to make it look like I had coloured my nails with a sharpy. It's super easy to take off though, since most of it flakes away after only a few hours.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/11/2014 9:22:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I recently read a review where the consumer said that they "really wanted to love Essie". I think I fall under this category.

I own about 25 - 30 Essie polishes and they all chip within 24 hours of drying. I've had a few instances with sheet marks when there really shouldn't have been any. The formula can be a hit or miss.

The colors are vibrant and beautiful and I really do love the packaging, but I can't continue to purchase a product that gives me less than 24 hours of wear time.

The brand is trendy and hip but the product does not meet up to the standards of polishoholics, in my opinion.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/1/2014 1:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like Essie! The formula is always shiny, and I don't find them streaky. Essie probably lasts better than other non-gel polishes I have tried. I will continue to buy Essie.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/30/2014 3:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've tried 5 different Essie polishes and they all sucked. The colours are BEAUTIFUL, but the formula is just awful!!!! Thin, runny, streaky and very, very annoying to work with. Plus, they chip almost immediately! The brush is also too small and the prices of these polishes is waaay too high. As a PP mentioned, there are $1 nail polishes with better formulas, like essence. I will never purchase an Essie polish again. Drug store polishes are 1000x better. Overall, I'm extremely disappointed and puzzled as to why people rave about these polishes.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I really want to like Essie. The colors, especially the light pastel ones, are very pretty. But no matter how many I try, I can bever get it to apply properly. I always give up in frustration, because the formula is just awful. Super thin and sheer,apply unevenly, turns super streaky and gloopy, and takes forever to dry... Its just awful, which makes me sad because the color is so pretty. But I am done with Essie, next time I will just find a dupe in OPI, which is much better to work with.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Essie Products

image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Watermelon

49 reviews
image

Lady Like

65 reviews
image

Chinchilly

134 reviews
Back to Top