Essie Nail Polish

3.7

215 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/24/2015 9:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love Essie's colors. They are very beautiful. However, I find the formula on most of these polishes a little iffy for a salon quality brand. Easy to put on but chips relatively quickly even with a quality base and top coat. Wish they could improve a little with the longevity of the formula.



on 7/17/2015 2:47:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great colors but Essie is hard to apply. Thin bush and thin runny formula. Does not really compare to OPI when it comes to brush and formula but they do have some great colors so I am sure I would still buy if OPI did not have the color I was looking for.


on 7/3/2015 1:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

So so. I got "sole mate" which is a darker colour and it didn't apply streaky like some of the lighter ones do. Quite runny though so application can be a bit messy even with the steadiest of hands. I'd buy again if the colour I'm after wasn't available in other brands. Need a top coat unless you're unusually careful with your hands as it WILL chip. Dries very fast though which I thought was a plus.


on 6/18/2015 4:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love the range in color selection for these polishes and but for the price, I don't think it compares to opi in quality. The brushes are tiny and hard to use, the polish itself is often really streaky, especially in the lighter colors. The only time I get these polishes if its a color that can't be found in the opi selection. My two favorites in the line are bikini so teeny and go ginza but I do think the majority of the polishes in the line can be duped. It's nice that it can be found in most drugstores.


on 5/19/2015 8:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

The colors are scrumptious...the application is painful. Not literally but-I almost feel like my nails are allergic to this polish because its is SO dang streaky-it will NOT apply evenly. I have to gob on 5 coats so it looks somewhat decent-and by then its so thick that it peels off within a day or 2. But I do love the colors and have to remind myself how bad these are every time I see them

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/19/2015 7:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like these, but I don't like these. I like them because they have a beautiful massive colour selection to chose from. A lot of people complain that the lighter colours are streaky, but you have to layer them. Chipping wise, you NEED a top coat or they will chip. The only complaint I have with this line is that the nail polish takes forever to dry. Literally, they're tacky for so long. Which is not what I like. Invest in a quick dry top coat... Trust me.


on 4/27/2015 10:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

When I bought my first Essie nail polish, I thought to myself, 'For the price, these better wear like IRON, and better have iron as an ingredient' lol. Sephora Formula X has a formula that quite frankly, Essie only WISHES it had, and the Sephora line is only a couple dollars more per bottle (NOT AFFILIATED WHATSOEVER, I can only wish haha). The quality and formula for Sephora X is probably the most consistent out of all nail lacquers I've tried from other brands, and most of the ones I have (I have a pretty good selection, around 10 or so) don't chip until the 3rd day of wear.....and that's WITHOUT A BASECOAT. Essie's formula is almost as chip resistant and consistent as something along the likes of Wet n Wild or Revlon nail polish (not saying these aren't good cheap brands for nail polish, but you're getting that same sub-par quality for an exhorbitant price with Essie).

The packaging also irks me, and it has mostly to do with the 'Essie' label and the label with the shade names. Sometimes the shade name labels are on top of the lid, and sometimes they're at the bottom of the bottle. And likewise, sometimes the ESSIE logo on the front of the bottle is in white letter text (which has never rubbed off or faded on any of the ones I own), and sometimes the letters themselves are indented INTO the bottle. I'm just a tad bit OCD, and like my collections of the same line of products to be uniform.

Out of the 15 or so that I've tried, I would possibly repurchase only two of the shades, and it would only be on a discount site like 8ty8beauty.com or transdesign (which is where I've gotten most of mine).


on 4/27/2015 9:25:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought yesterday an Essie nail polish (my first), they are expensive in Canada (10$ a pop!), so I saw a few at my pharmacy store going for 7.99$. I thought I would give them a chance.

I got myself a cashmere mate nude, which looked beautiful. As I usually do, Sunday's afternoon I will do my nails as to be ready for the whole week. Now, I regret throwing my money away on this bad product. This morning I notices a little bit of chipping, and two hours later my nails look like if I had been building sand castles, went climbing or just came back from a volleyball game. My nails are completely chipped! Looks horrible! Will never spend a dime on this brand again.

I don't know if it if because it is mate, but I wish I could just return this product. What a waste of money.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like this brand of nail polish. I do find that you need multiple coats to get the color you want. And the lighter colors are more "streaky". But the color selection is awesome!!


on 4/8/2015 12:18:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love Essie polishes! I own around 30 of them, they are such a fun brand. Some of my favorite shades are: Go Ginza, Where's My Chauffeur, Set in Stones, Sure Shot, Aruba Blue, I'm Addicted, Ruffles & Feathers, Strut Your Stuff, A Cut Above, For the Twill of It, In the Cab-ana, and Macks. That last one is one of my absolute favorite reds of all time. It is so good! In fact, Essie does a fantastic job overall with red polishes. They're right up there with OPI's reds in my opinion.
When it comes to Essie I tend to gravitate toward either their glitters or their brighter, more saturated colors. Formula-wise, these seem to have fewer problems as far as thinness and streakiness. Essie makes a lot of neutral, French-manicure or bridal-type shades that I have to admit I avoid. Those are the colors with the most formula issues as far as I can tell.
Every time they come out with a new collection I immediately check it out, and I usually pick up one or two of them. High quality, fun colors, definitely one of my favorite nail polish brands.
Recommended!


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
140 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
346 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
359 Reviews
Dior Nail Glow
Dior Nail Glow
37 Reviews


Top Rated Essie Products

image

Lollipop

40 reviews
image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Watermelon

53 reviews
image

Lady Like

66 reviews
Back to Top