Essie • Nailpolish • Polishes

rated 3.7(201 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Coreysfc on 12/9/2014 4:06:00 AM more reviews by Coreysfc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

For almost 9 dollars I wasn't expecting such a cheap product. It was literaly the only black (licorice) nail polish Target ,and it was recomended by Allure, so I thought what the heck. The brush is way to small and the formula is streaky. It took me several attempts just to make it look like I had coloured my nails with a sharpy. It's super easy to take off though, since most of it flakes away after only a few hours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jellybelly326 on 11/11/2014 9:22:00 AM more reviews by jellybelly326

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I recently read a review where the consumer said that they "really wanted to love Essie". I think I fall under this category.

I own about 25 - 30 Essie polishes and they all chip within 24 hours of drying. I've had a few instances with sheet marks when there really shouldn't have been any. The formula can be a hit or miss.

The colors are vibrant and beautiful and I really do love the packaging, but I can't continue to purchase a product that gives me less than 24 hours of wear time.

The brand is trendy and hip but the product does not meet up to the standards of polishoholics, in my opinion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amoore on 11/1/2014 1:02:00 AM more reviews by amoore

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really like Essie! The formula is always shiny, and I don't find them streaky. Essie probably lasts better than other non-gel polishes I have tried. I will continue to buy Essie.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 st3f4n42srb on 8/30/2014 3:59:00 AM more reviews by st3f4n42srb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried 5 different Essie polishes and they all sucked. The colours are BEAUTIFUL, but the formula is just awful!!!! Thin, runny, streaky and very, very annoying to work with. Plus, they chip almost immediately! The brush is also too small and the prices of these polishes is waaay too high. As a PP mentioned, there are $1 nail polishes with better formulas, like essence. I will never purchase an Essie polish again. Drug store polishes are 1000x better. Overall, I'm extremely disappointed and puzzled as to why people rave about these polishes.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 coffeecupcake on 7/9/2014 5:28:00 PM more reviews by coffeecupcake

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I really want to like Essie. The colors, especially the light pastel ones, are very pretty. But no matter how many I try, I can bever get it to apply properly. I always give up in frustration, because the formula is just awful. Super thin and sheer,apply unevenly, turns super streaky and gloopy, and takes forever to dry... Its just awful, which makes me sad because the color is so pretty. But I am done with Essie, next time I will just find a dupe in OPI, which is much better to work with.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 diepset1 on 7/7/2014 3:00:00 PM more reviews by diepset1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

As a used-to-be nail tech, I tell everyone all the time that Essie makes the best nail polish ever. The quality depends on the color, so if you buy the very natural and neutral colors, they go on thin. If you start using the darker or the more dramatic colors, you will see a difference in thickness. It is usually the same with every polish brand. The difference with Essie? It's the founder...Essie Weingarten. She started the brand with real passion and love for color and finds inspiration in everything she sees, so she doesn't just hire people to do the work, she works with them...a team to help her create colors for her collections that always manage to draw me in. They always have charming names that aren't cheesy like O.P.I.'s. The bottle design is modern and functional and looks great on my nail polish rack. The brush is easy for anyone to work with and the polishes dry with a beautiful shiny finish.

Essie Weingarten talks about nails:

People say, ‘Why nails?’ and I say, ‘Number one, it’s an affordable luxury. Number two, it takes any old outfit and makes it new, and three, you can talk about it for days.’ For women, it’s better than any psychiatrist. We really relax. We put down the baby, we put down the iPhone. It’s our time to zone out.



When I am buying nail polish, I like knowing that I bought from a person who really cares about what they do and shows major confidence along with beauty on the inside and out. Not to mention that the colors are gorgeous. I love Essie!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rvbolorin on 6/22/2014 8:20:00 PM more reviews by rvbolorin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought 9 different colors, yes 9!!! ( two 4 packs plus another separate one). I had high expectations about Essie. What a dissapointment!!! Even the sheer/pastel colors start to chip in less than 24 hours. The more pigmented colors start to chip the same day. I also bought (and use with them) the Essie base and topcoat. The quality of these products is very very very poor. Even $1 nailcolors last longer. And for the sheer colors, you have to apply at least 3 coats plus base and topcoat. With sally hansen complete manicure, I apply only 2 coats, no need for base or topcoat and lasts at least 5 days, plus is cheaper. The good thing about Essie is that colors are beautiful and for the few hours it last, nails look gorgeous. I do not cook, I do not clean dishes and I am low key, so the short duration is because of the poor quality of Essie.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 thegingerprincess on 6/21/2014 5:33:00 PM more reviews by thegingerprincess

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Awful quality for the price. I bought the turquoisy one. It came out streaky and uneven, even after 3 coats. Took ages to dry and as a result I kept smudging it and had to do some three times! The colour changed.completely after 3 coats and looked very flat. No shine or anything. The packaging is nice, but the polish is very poor quality. I would def not buy again. Gutted I paid £8 for it when a £4 would have probably been better

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 afernau on 6/16/2014 1:46:00 AM more reviews by afernau

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Awful quality for the price. I bought Mochi Mochi (pink) and Sand Tropez (tan). The pink came out streaky and uneven, even after 3 coats. The tan was much more opaque and uniform. I waited an hour for this to dry and it was still too wet when I put my socks on when I later found my socks stuck to my toes and my paint job ruined. The colors and packaging are nice, but the polish is very poor quality.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Tere86 on 5/21/2014 10:03:00 AM more reviews by Tere86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I can honestly say that Essie are the best nail polishes I've ever used. Firstly, on application the colours look amazing and shiny like I've just had a professional shellac. Secondly, it lasts on my nails for a week even though I type all day. Love it and have purchased 4 colours already!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products