Essie • Nailpolish • Polishes

rated 3.8(192 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Anitateee on 3/16/2014 2:07:00 AM more reviews by Anitateee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The only polish I buy. I am a nail polish addict and have probably around 100 bottles. I've noticed now after trying various brands that Essie polish is the best for me. The colour range is amazing and it really depends on the colour and if it's matte, glitter, or shimmer for the lasting. I have natural nails always and tend to keep them medium length. My job requires me to use my hands a lot for handing money and with any other nail polish my nails will begin to chip the first day. But when I use Essie polishes they can go 3 days looking like I've still got a fresh manicure before I change them. Mind that I am extreme picky with my nails and am always changing the colour as soon as the shine starts to fade. I have noticed that these polishes work best when used with Essie base& top coat. Also to get a gel like look I recommend applying two coats of too coat to get extra shiny nails. Overall great product and from now on will be the only polish I buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 persianblue on 2/27/2014 1:48:00 PM more reviews by persianblue

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Chips so quickly, even with a decent top coat! expensive here in Ireland and really below par quality wise. The shades available are beautiful but overall would pick OPI over Essie due to chipping

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Lr1336 on 2/24/2014 3:58:00 AM more reviews by Lr1336

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I seriously don't understand why people love these nail polishes! They chip way too easily for $8 nail polishes! I have $1 NYC and Wet 'n' Wild nail polishes that last longer than these do! The only reason I didn't give it 1 star is because they do have a lot of pretty colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gemLTate on 2/19/2014 11:32:00 AM more reviews by gemLTate

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have a few of these varnishes most recently, 'for the twill of it' , 'cashmere bath' robe, others include: 'off the shoulder', 'lacquered up', 'stroke of brilliance' and 'sparkle on top'.
I am completely taken with this brand! The pigmentation of the bolder colours are really beautiful and only take 2 coats. I've not found any issues with streaking and dragging at all, the brushes are nice and thick and it only takes me 1/2 strokes to cover the nail. I'd also say that they tend to last around 4/5 days for the colours and upwards of 5-7 days for the glitters- which yes are hard to remove! I use to love 'Barry M' but have started to feel the quality and thinness of their brushes do create problems in use and often lead to streaking. I'm now of the opinion that I will only use this brand from now on rather than wasting money throwing others out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 KopGurl on 1/28/2014 2:56:00 PM more reviews by KopGurl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have purchased many Essie polishes over the past few years. I just love the color choices! However I keep overlooking one major con...this polish chips within a day! For the price, it's just not worth it. I gave it a good run, I even bought Essie's "No Chips Ahead" top coat & it still chips within a day. I've used a base coat also from Essie, still chips. Some if the colors also come out too thick or streaky & then chip on top of that. I won't be buying this brand again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 milkycinnabon on 1/27/2014 7:11:00 PM more reviews by milkycinnabon

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have manged to aquire a healthy little family of Essie polishes, and I have found that the opacity varies widely. The lighter colors require about 3 coats and the darker shades need only 2. They may be a bit sheer but they are absolutely chip proof. The price is $8.50 retail, which I would never pay, no matter the quality! I get them for $3.50 with my cosmetology license at a local beauty supply store. The brand has a beautiful selection of colors, my favorites are Bahama Mama and No Baggage Please. I would recommend them if you can find them cheaper, but if you don't mind the price, go for it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 madscientist01 on 1/24/2014 1:01:00 PM more reviews by madscientist01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought two shades of Essie nail polish, lollipop and forever yummy (both reds). I'd heard good things about them, and they had some really cute colours, so I decided to give them a try.

I was extremely disappointed, the quality is flat out awful. No matter how many coats I applied, it came out blotchy and uneven. Definitely one of the worst I've tried yet. It's a real shame, they do have really cute colours! They're definitely on the pricey side too...especially considering the lack of quality. Would not buy Essie again. I'll stick with what I know works: revlon, OPI, and Nicole.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 icestars on 12/30/2013 9:05:00 PM more reviews by icestars

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using Essie for years now, but I've been starting to feel as if it is overpriced for the quality of *some* of the colors. Some chip off so quickly it is crazy. Others last forever; I've been asked numerous times if I had gel nails but no, just plain polish!

Essie has an amazingly wide selection of colors. There are tons of shades of reds, blues, greens, you name it. The glitters are indescribably stunning, and their treatment polishes (ridge filler, apricot oil, no chips ahead, etc.) are equally as great. Good to Go dries just as fast as Seche Vite without half the shrinkage. They have lots of special effects, like the Repstyle line. The Sleek Stick Nail Appliques are very cute and fashionable.

The packaging of Essie polishes are always eye grabbing. I have the most Essie polishes in my nail polish collection of 120 and they have their own little corner. They are easy to store with their petite square bottle shape.

A bottle of Essie polish is magic when water marbling. No matter how old it is, the polish will spread (unless its tacky). For example, Blanc (white), which I have had for half a year, was pretty goopy and I only had 1/4 bottle left. It water marbled fine. However, I did have a little trouble getting it to drip off the brush. For best results, use a newer bottle.

Unfortunately, there are some cons to this polish brand. As I have mentioned before, a few of the shades tend to chip quickly. Turquoise and Caicos is one of these shades (in my experience, anyway).

The brush of all the polishes bother me the most, as it is too thin for my liking. It causes most of the lighter colors (fiji, mademoiselle, ballet slippers, etc.) easy streaking and uneven coats.

Overall, I am fence sitting whether to add to my collection of Essie polishes or not from now on. I feel like it's a little over priced for the common streaking. Maybe if the brushes were a little thicker, then my problems will be solved. However, I am in love with all the fun Essie polishes (not to mention their perfectly punny names). I guess the price + the streaking can be overlooked.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ceemar on 12/15/2013 11:39:00 AM more reviews by Ceemar

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Essie On a Silver Platter
For a holiday party I applied this sparkly but quite thin product over OPI I Don't Give a Rotterdam (2 coats over 1) and was reasonably pleased with the results although not with the staying power. The texture is a bit rough, too. The glitter is a challenge to remove - required some scraping and buffing - so make sure you have time to devote to removal! OK for a bit of fun but I am not sure I would bother very often when there are lovelier and simpler polishes out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SarahLiz04 on 11/22/2013 1:15:00 AM more reviews by SarahLiz04

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I tried Essie polish for the first time after hearing so many great things about it. I was extremely disappointed in the streaky color that took forever to dry. I ended up taking it off and using a different color from another brand. I will try working with the color I bought one more time before tossing it but, I absolutely won't be buying any more.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products