Essie Nailpolish

3.7

204 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/3/2015 9:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

MAybe its me but i love the color marshmellow buy it does not last as long as other even cheaper polishes. It chips easy and the white turns dull yellow within a few days. Essie has cute colors but not worth the crazy price.



on 1/20/2015 2:31:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Hate these nail polishes. Such awful quality at a ridiculous price, a better option for nail polishes would be Wet N Wild (they're cheaper, dry faster, aren't crap, and are cruelty free)


on 1/20/2015 7:13:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

First thing you nerd to know is that i have acrylic nail.
Therefor, theese polishes are easy to apply.
I love the shine, you ALMOST dont need a top coat. But then again top coat is a MUST whatever polish you are using.
I am a naildedigner, so mama knows ;)
Yes the brush could be bigger, but thats only going to be a problem if you have long or wide nails.
I like ESSIE. Huge range of colors, shine is very good and they dry pretty fast.
Im all for it, but the are a bit expensive.


on 12/9/2014 4:06:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

For almost 9 dollars I wasn't expecting such a cheap product. It was literaly the only black (licorice) nail polish Target ,and it was recomended by Allure, so I thought what the heck. The brush is way to small and the formula is streaky. It took me several attempts just to make it look like I had coloured my nails with a sharpy. It's super easy to take off though, since most of it flakes away after only a few hours.


on 11/11/2014 9:22:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I recently read a review where the consumer said that they "really wanted to love Essie". I think I fall under this category.

I own about 25 - 30 Essie polishes and they all chip within 24 hours of drying. I've had a few instances with sheet marks when there really shouldn't have been any. The formula can be a hit or miss.

The colors are vibrant and beautiful and I really do love the packaging, but I can't continue to purchase a product that gives me less than 24 hours of wear time.

The brand is trendy and hip but the product does not meet up to the standards of polishoholics, in my opinion.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/1/2014 1:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like Essie! The formula is always shiny, and I don't find them streaky. Essie probably lasts better than other non-gel polishes I have tried. I will continue to buy Essie.


on 8/30/2014 3:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've tried 5 different Essie polishes and they all sucked. The colours are BEAUTIFUL, but the formula is just awful!!!! Thin, runny, streaky and very, very annoying to work with. Plus, they chip almost immediately! The brush is also too small and the prices of these polishes is waaay too high. As a PP mentioned, there are $1 nail polishes with better formulas, like essence. I will never purchase an Essie polish again. Drug store polishes are 1000x better. Overall, I'm extremely disappointed and puzzled as to why people rave about these polishes.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I really want to like Essie. The colors, especially the light pastel ones, are very pretty. But no matter how many I try, I can bever get it to apply properly. I always give up in frustration, because the formula is just awful. Super thin and sheer,apply unevenly, turns super streaky and gloopy, and takes forever to dry... Its just awful, which makes me sad because the color is so pretty. But I am done with Essie, next time I will just find a dupe in OPI, which is much better to work with.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/7/2014 3:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

As a used-to-be nail tech, I tell everyone all the time that Essie makes the best nail polish ever. The quality depends on the color, so if you buy the very natural and neutral colors, they go on thin. If you start using the darker or the more dramatic colors, you will see a difference in thickness. It is usually the same with every polish brand. The difference with Essie? It's the founder...Essie Weingarten. She started the brand with real passion and love for color and finds inspiration in everything she sees, so she doesn't just hire people to do the work, she works with them...a team to help her create colors for her collections that always manage to draw me in. They always have charming names that aren't cheesy like O.P.I.'s. The bottle design is modern and functional and looks great on my nail polish rack. The brush is easy for anyone to work with and the polishes dry with a beautiful shiny finish.

Essie Weingarten talks about nails:

People say, ‘Why nails?’ and I say, ‘Number one, it’s an affordable luxury. Number two, it takes any old outfit and makes it new, and three, you can talk about it for days.’ For women, it’s better than any psychiatrist. We really relax. We put down the baby, we put down the iPhone. It’s our time to zone out.



When I am buying nail polish, I like knowing that I bought from a person who really cares about what they do and shows major confidence along with beauty on the inside and out. Not to mention that the colors are gorgeous. I love Essie!


on 6/22/2014 8:20:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought 9 different colors, yes 9!!! ( two 4 packs plus another separate one). I had high expectations about Essie. What a dissapointment!!! Even the sheer/pastel colors start to chip in less than 24 hours. The more pigmented colors start to chip the same day. I also bought (and use with them) the Essie base and topcoat. The quality of these products is very very very poor. Even $1 nailcolors last longer. And for the sheer colors, you have to apply at least 3 coats plus base and topcoat. With sally hansen complete manicure, I apply only 2 coats, no need for base or topcoat and lasts at least 5 days, plus is cheaper. The good thing about Essie is that colors are beautiful and for the few hours it last, nails look gorgeous. I do not cook, I do not clean dishes and I am low key, so the short duration is because of the poor quality of Essie.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Top Rated Essie Products

image

Geranium

32 reviews
image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Nice is Nice

35 reviews
image

Lady Like

64 reviews
image

Watermelon

48 reviews
Back to Top