Child Perfume • Child • Fragrances

rated 3.5(199 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Laredo on 8/24/2014 12:53:00 PM more reviews by Laredo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have bought Child for my dear ladylove for 20+ years. First, to counter what a reviewer said about Child perfume not being "cruelty free" is not based on truth. Her review is hostile, she did not state what information she received, she just stated she received a "terse" answer/email when she asked Child perfume Studio about it being not tested on animals.
Well, it is not tested on animals. I am also familiar with the supplier of Child perfume,( I am in the Beauty business, and I know who the suppliers are from the US and Europe ). The supplier for Child perfume ingredients are notorious for years of donating to various organizations that support animals and care for them, so where this reviewer came up with such hostile words for Child perfume is not valid. Each December this supplier would
donate to an animal charity instead of gifting their vendors, and they would let the vendor
pick the animal charity. This is a fact.
I am passionate about cruelty free products. My lady would not wear anything but Child,
and we have watched this brand since it was first released in 1990 at Apothia Fred Segal (Melrose) who still carries it after 25 years... We purchase from Beautyhabit, Luscious Cargo, and Talulah Belle,
depending on who has it in stock. If you want documents stating the truth about Child
being a cruelty free product, then email the Child perfume Studio.
This is one of the greatest perfumes in the world, and that opinion comes from Beauty Editors, just read the Press page of Child perfume. Henri Bendel carried it for 13 years, and
sadly, Henri Bendel let go of ALL their third party brands of perfumes. Now when we go to New York, we have no reason to go to Bendels.
Fact is, Child is rare and exclusive, there is less than 5,000 bottles crafted per year. I have toured the Studio in Dallas. We are devoted to this perfume and its history and how it is made and the ingredients are cruel free. The aroma is so precious, it lifts me just smelling it on my lady. The Body Crème, I even use it on my own skin. I am also a historian for Beauty brands. My second favorite perfume is Sisley Eau Du Soir and third is Chanel 22.
Thank you.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Annieplum0 on 7/31/2014 11:04:00 AM more reviews by Annieplum0

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Child is an overly-sweet floral that is not cruelty-free. I contacted the company to inquire about ingredients and animal-testing and was given a terse, vague answer. I would never give my $$ to support a company without basic compassion (to animals and to me as a customer -- not nice at all.). Try Joyful by My Daughter Fragrances -- it's similar to Child, but is more complex and less sic kingly sweet. And you can feel great that no one was hurt to make such a lovely scent!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joellarose on 7/6/2014 11:36:00 PM more reviews by joellarose

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

As a Kai devotee I thought I'd splurge on a bottle of Child because I'd heard of the similarities.

When first applied,I genuinely like it.I get a blast of jasmine and a few other floral notes.

But then.....very soon it morphs into something I can't really describe.There are too many things going on in it for me to even try and decipher the notes.Maybe it's just my skin.

On a whim I noticed on Sephora that Jennifer Aniston's fragrance rollerball was discounted and bought it based on the notes

Imagine my surprise to find it smelled exactly like Child,only watered down.I don't think it's a coincidence!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 BeautySleep9 on 5/11/2014 10:25:00 PM more reviews by BeautySleep9

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Over hyped, over priced and definitely not worth it. It's mainly clean Pikake that smells soapy, there is also an artificial synthetic thing going on, almost plasticky. I find it hard to believe men go crazy over this. Honestly I think you can find a much better Pikake oil for a lot less money at a health food store.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fionarocks on 4/11/2014 4:36:00 PM more reviews by fionarocks

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Sunny perfection. I love how happy this one makes me...jasmine seems to have that effect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 enza27 on 6/16/2013 8:47:00 AM more reviews by enza27

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

This oil is amazing. I always go back to it. It smells so clean and fresh. For sure one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msm4slm on 7/11/2012 8:56:00 AM more reviews by msm4slm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Upon application this is a harsh jasmine. After it melds with your skiin about half an hour it becomes something akin to the Philosophy line of fragrances--very nice and clean smelling. It strangely bears a closer resemblance to resemblance to a mimosa scent (such as St. Barth) than a jasmine soliflore.

Overall, it is very nice but, given the price, there are lots of better options.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 prettyangelface3 on 3/19/2012 11:26:00 PM more reviews by prettyangelface3

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Child is a clean, musky, jasmine-y scent on the skin. I do not recommend sniffing from the bottle as it smells very harsh right from the bottle. On the skin however, its is transformed to a lush sexy skin scent. This one gets me many compliments. The roller does let out too much oil though so instead of rolling it, I dab it, as there is always oil on the ball when I take off the cap.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Melzy323 on 2/29/2012 1:22:00 PM more reviews by Melzy323

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

EDIT 2 3/22/14: I don't know why it's taken me so long to figure this out but I finally realize what the smell reminds me of - Johnson & Johnson's No More Tangles. So there's a "child" aspect to it there! Whatever the case, I still love it! Still my HG!


EDIT 2/22/13: HG! I love this perfume oil so much! I have always favored white floral fragrances and this has earned its status with me. Such a soft, pretty jasmine scent. guys really do go crazy over it! ;-)

As other reviewers have noted, this is a fragrance that either works for or against you. It all depends on your chemistry. For me, this works! I get TONS of compliments on how great I smell - really clean and soapy. It's a pikake floral with subtle musk and fruit undertones. I get a certain, slightly beachy, marine accord with this too that is NOT suntan lotion. I live in the high desert - a far cry from the tropics - and even in the middle of winter, the warm freshness this exudes on me is not out of place. It's a true all season, all occasion fragrance for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Melloney on 2/2/2012 1:01:00 PM more reviews by Melloney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love Child perfume oil . I generally don't go for oils or roll on applicators because I find them messy and there's wastage with the remaining oil left on the roller ball ....but the exceptions I make are for Child and for Kai .
( There was a time when I did not think much of Kai but my opinion of it has changed too. Soft green fresh gardenia and now I love it. )

As for Child - it may come across as a simple boutique perfume oil with nothing much more than seemingly pikake essence and white musk but I think there 's more to it than that. Mutli layered floral oils with a clean soaring creamy musk .
It's not quite pikake ,not quite gardenia on me but just light fresh sweet white floral oil and then a dry down of sweet clean musk. I read that some people get a banana cream pie smell in the dry down and yes, I get that too ! The banana cream pie aroma is quite subtle though. The banana smell may come from synthetic jasmine used . Who knows. Child is a bit of a mystery to me. Mystery always attracts.

What I love about Child is :
1. The mysterious clean and sweet floral scent that is subtle and makes you smell divine.
2.The fact that is is handmade with love by Susan D Owens - I sincerely hope she continues making Child like that.
3.It is a USA made product and I will support that !

So there is a lot more going for Child perfume and .......not just celebrity endorsement.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Child Perfume products

More Fragrances products