Murad • Acne Spot Treatment • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.1(244 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Princess817 on 9/7/2014 2:14:00 AM more reviews by Princess817

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I tried this in lieu of Proactiv because it dried out my skin; touted as and alternative for dry skin or sensitive skin. I was told to expect some initial break outs as your skin was purging the--whatever. After three weeks to a month: my moderate acne had doubled, even tripled. Never had acne worse in 20-some years. I called one of the customer service representatives.....she said I was probably having a reaction to it. I sent it back and went back to just using normal cleanser for awhile and it went back to normal (mild-moderate acne).
Proactiv may have been drying but it at least worked.
Expensive, doesn't work (for me), the packaging is boring. Just...pass.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 merinasx3 on 9/6/2014 11:34:00 PM more reviews by merinasx3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

NEVER AGAIN! I'm 16 and have acne-prone/oily skin. I'm always looking for a new face wash or acne treatment product to use on my face where I get bad breakouts- mostly on my chin. I literally have used so many things and NOTHING works. -_- So my cousin had gotten this as a sample from a Sephora purchase. She had used the brand before but had never tried this specific product. I started using it for a couple days, only using it at night. I had been waking up with much clearer skin. My acne started going away over night. I continued to use it for a little over a week. I started noticing that my acne was coming back but worse. I was honestly getting about 2 pimples a day. It was getting worse and whenever I would apply the product, the whole area would get red and swollen and it would start to burn. By the morning, it was still swollen and my skin was very dry and irritated. So one night I looked up reviews because it was really bad and my mom had said to stop using it. I was worried that I would keep breaking out and many people's reviews had the same experiences that I did. It cleared their skin and then made it worse. I guess this product warns that there might be a purging period? From the reviews I read, I didn't wait to see what would happen. I immediately stopped using it and the swelling went down and the breakout is getting better. I would never recommend this to anyone.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tanbaru on 6/11/2014 12:12:00 AM more reviews by tanbaru

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I have been having the worst case of huge pimples on my face lately. Desperate to help my skin clear up, I went to Sephora and asked for a spot treatment. The sales lady recommended this product, saying it's super popular.

So far, it has done nothing for me. :( I really wanted to like it and really really wanted the product to work. This was my first Murad product.

Some observations:

1. Dries white on skin, cannot apply under makeup as a result.
2. When it dries, it gives off a sulphuric plasticky smell. It's very distracting and not the most pleasant of smells.
3. Sephora, you disappointed me :(
4. May not work on oily skin - I have oily skin and this product did not dry up my pimples or reduce blemishes

I would recommend the spot treatment product by The Face Shop (it's a Korean brand) - I will post a separate review.

***June 28, 2014 UPDATE***
I am adding some additional lippies because this product is all about long term planning. It will not do much to even out skin tone or dry out pimples overnight BUT, this has really made a difference to my skin. There was almost zero scarring after my pimples healed themselves and my skin has softened. I can't stop touching my face. It could also be due to the Clinique moisturizer I have been using but I have to say the Murad has been pretty amazing with how my skin looks overall now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hottie01 on 5/21/2014 4:53:00 PM more reviews by hottie01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I much preferred the formula when it was made with sulfur, they've reformulated it with benzoyl peroxide and it is not nearly as effective now. The product has a strange perfume smell that I can't stand either, I preferred the smell of the sulfur, honestly :/ Packing needs work too, as others have said, it tends to come out fast and get wasted. I will be returning it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Deenamar1e on 4/30/2014 6:55:00 AM more reviews by Deenamar1e

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

The only downfall of this product is it can be a tad itchy but holy crap does it work!!! I put a very thin layer on my entire face before i go to sleep and it works absolute wonders on any blemishes i have!! Shrinks the big ones and burns out the small ones so theyre nothing but flakies in the morning that come off with my cleanser. Love this stuff!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 booboondoll on 4/14/2014 11:56:00 PM more reviews by booboondoll

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used this everyday for a month and it works . But really only works on entire face as a night treatment. Only pitfall is the size of the tube. Its tiny and does'nt last using it (applying it too entire face) effectively.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hnnh on 2/13/2014 12:53:00 AM more reviews by hnnh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This works great for me! It does exactly what it says, "spot treatment." It works great for acne after it's already appeared... I don't use it as a preventative treatment. I put it on in the morning under my makeup and at night when I wash makeup off. I see results the next morning, the spot gets smaller and depending on the kind of acne it will literally just flake right off. Definitely recommend this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BrigitteBardot on 2/9/2014 12:12:00 PM more reviews by BrigitteBardot

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Pretty average spot treatment. It does help dry out pimples (slowly), but it's no miracle worker. On to the next!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Keyra89 on 2/5/2014 10:50:00 AM more reviews by Keyra89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this spot treatment.
I use it when I get a big pimple. The size reduces a lot overnight. This tiny bottle has lasted me 7 months. It very worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 wandaana on 1/4/2014 6:08:00 PM more reviews by wandaana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I had high hopes for this product because I'm always hearing great things about Murad and sulfur was one of the things I had yet to try for my acne. After a week of applying this day and night to my pimples, there was no difference. It didn't dry out my skin (my skin is super oily) and it was pretty inconvenient because it dries white and basically peels off after an hour. It did nothing for my blackheads, whiteheads, cystic-type pimples, etc.

The one thing I did notice was when I applied it on a pimple that I had just popped (bad habit, I know), it would sting a little and form a scab right away. This might be helpful to some people but scabs always leave marks on my skin and I don't want to add to my hyperpigmentation.

I ended up bringing this back to Sephora because, all in all, it wasn't strong enough for my stubborn skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Treatments (Face) products