Guinot • Gentle Face Exfoliating Cream • Scrubs

rated 4.4(18 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.94%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 catherineanastasia on 5/10/2014 6:33:00 PM more reviews by catherineanastasia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Super exfoliator! And the smell is divine! Does exactly what it says on tin! It exfoliates... guinot is an amazing brand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 12/11/2013 9:52:00 AM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

If you have somewhere to go and want nicer, smoother, softer skin right now - try this out! Don't expect miracles with acne or wrinkles but for a perfect surface before you apply creams or make-up - it will make a difference, and it feels different than most "St Ives"esque dragging across your skin/irritation-inducing type scrubs. It's hard to explain, but I'd liken it to having one of those paraffin manicures or pedicures where your hands/feet are crazy soft? Only it's your face that's super soft. It's a unique feeling scrub. The tube is tiny (1.8 oz @ $35 USD) and overpriced but oddly enough one small tube has lasted me around 6 months. I prefer chemical exfoliation to scrubs, but when I don't have time to for all that and want to prep my skin before going out or working at night and my skin looks a bit blah - this is my "quick fix". It has soft fine granules, it's not rough and did I mention it leaves skin very, very soft after use? Love that. Usually my skin is quite dry after any scrubs but this one has a more moisturising base with paraffin, almond oil, mineral oil and macadamia oil (almost greasy but not unpleasantly so, and the inclusion of clay kind of balance the oils). Remember to take off your make-up before using this, it's not meant to cleanse skin - there is no foamy detergent. It is fragranced but nothing strong or offensive, and comes out as a thick white paste which I apply, let dry for a minute, and then "scrub" lightly around my face before rinsing with water. Like others have mentioned this is similar to "gommage" type products, only this isn't peeled off like many are - it's somewhat of a mix between a mask you leave on, and a scrub in the way you remove it - after allowing it to dry, it is rubbed/scrubbed off.

Directions for use from Guinot:
"Apply a fine layer over the face, avoiding the eye contour. After a few minutes, rub gently. Rinse with water."


I just finished the last of my tube, cut it open and scraped out anything that was left so I could use it before work (didn't sleep well) - I'm hoping to buy another tube soon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jacklyngrant on 11/29/2011 10:54:00 PM more reviews by jacklyngrant

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Great for when you need a real good polish

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jg7251 on 7/29/2009 11:12:00 AM more reviews by jg7251

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this exfoliator! It is so gentle yet thoroughly removes dead skin cells and makes my face so smooth after using it. I have definitely noticed a difference in my skin in that I break out a lot less. The esthetician who recommended this to me said I had a lot of congested pores. I think this product has done an amazing job on those. I use it about twice a week (sometimes only once and still see a difference). This is a gommage product where you spread on a thin layer, let it dry for about 5 minutes and then scrub/roll it off to where it flakes off. Definitely more effective than a regular scrub!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 canintokyo on 1/31/2008 5:29:00 AM more reviews by canintokyo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have fairly recently discovered all the wonderful products that Guinot makes and this is one of my fave ones:) I am a 37 y.o woman living in Tokyo. That means-super hot and humid summers and cold very dry winters, which isn't good for skin:( I started getting Guinot facials and despite the exhorbitant prices-I am hooked-my horrible blemishes that I have had since I was 13 have faded/gone, my pores are MUCH smaller and I have great tone-I am always being mistaken for a 27-29 y.o! Yay! This wonderful gommage has something to do with it too-it evens out my skintone and isn't greasy or pore-clogging at all. I have extremely sensitive skin and this (along with the other Guinot products) not only doesn't irritate it-it IMPROVES it immensely. This is the first time I have written a review (been reading MUA for years!!) because I have truly found the best line for my skin. I hope you will love it as much as I do!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissHiss on 9/25/2007 8:51:00 AM more reviews by MissHiss

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have dry sensitive skin and usually avoid scrubs. I find this to be an excellent exfoliator.


The product is a bit like gummy pottery material. Creamy at the start but it hardens and turns into little balls as you are rubbing it on the face. If you continue the whole thing will come off without the use of water. I find that quite interesting as it prevents the granules from getting into the eyes accidentally during the rinsing.


I use it once a week and rinse with warm water. The only draw back is that the product smells a bit old fashioned, but the scent is mild. A definite repurchase.


PS: this is the only exfoliator that doesn't break me out badly.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hairlesswonder on 8/14/2007 2:13:00 PM more reviews by hairlesswonder

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

My skin is dry, aging and I have rosacea. This exfoliant made my face feel so soft, so smooth, so refreshed. I have held off from using an exfoliant because people with rosacea are told not to use it. This is so gentle though. I love it. It was easy to apply. Let it sit on skin for a few minutes then I lightly rubbed my face and the exfoliant came off in little balls. Then I used a washcloth and warm water to remove the rest. My skin's texture feels perfect.
UPDATE: this irritated my skin somehow. It left my skin itching after every application. I had to use cortisone cream to soothe my skin afterwards. I would claw at it all day long after using this stuff. No thanks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* moorkitty on 12/1/2006 7:57:00 AM more reviews by moorkitty

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

This is the loveliest gommage I have ever used. It is very gentle and extremely effective. This even outperforms my beloved Chanel. A Guinot facialist told me the correct way to use this gommage: Cleanse and dry face. Apply a thin layer of the gommage and allow to dry about five to ten minutes. Then, with the pads of your dry fingers, rub off in small circular movements to remove. (It is important to hold the skin taut with your other hand so as to not stretch the skin). Finish with a water rinse and your other treatments. This is a bit time-consuming, but as a once or twice-weekly treatment, I find the investment pays off with the softest, glowiest skin ever. If you can score a sample you will be convinced of the worth of this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tealeafdoll on 4/22/2006 4:19:00 PM more reviews by tealeafdoll

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I recently bought a lot of Guinot skincare whilst in France and I especially like this exfoliator. Its very gentle and leaves my skin soft and satiny. I also like the fact its gentle enough for my sensitive skin and didn't leave it feeling sore or looking red like other manual exfoliants sometimes do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shahida26 on 3/21/2006 10:52:00 AM more reviews by shahida26

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A great exfoliator! Not too harsh on the skin. I've got quite sensitive skin but never had a problem with this or any of the Guinot products. Leaves a nice healthy glow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Guinot products

More Scrubs products