Charles Worthington • Big Hair Volumising Mousse • Styling Products

rated 4.1(29 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beckaboom on 4/21/2010 8:20:00 AM more reviews by Beckaboom

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This product is alright, i found it kinda annoying, it does give volume but nothing amazing, i found that it kinda got crispy in my hair up at the roots, for that reason im not repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 gosh_grace on 11/15/2009 5:00:00 PM more reviews by gosh_grace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

this stuff is just ok. it gives some volume, but nothing crazy. the smell is pretty average, citrusy. this product is just boring, i wont repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KileyMc on 8/20/2009 2:27:00 PM more reviews by KileyMc

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This mousse really delivers on it's claims. I have very long highlighted hair that just loves to lay flat against my scalp. I put the nozzle directly on my roots all over and then rub it in as I blow dry. Amazing volume and lift. It does leave me a little crunchy but I find that the crunch seems necessary to really get lift at the roots. One lippie off for some flakes that remain after brushing but other than that it's a fabulous product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hollyhal on 1/3/2009 10:25:00 PM more reviews by hollyhal

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This product is a mystery to me: when I used it as a "finishing" balm (meaning putting it sparingly on dry, styled hair), it made it limp. BUT when I use it on wet hair before blow drying, it performs miracles. It makes my fine, thin hair incredibly soft, which for me usually equates to limp, but no, it's also full of body, and it lasts! I discovered this during an August visit to NYC--extreme heat and humidity, and I was out walking all day long, and somehow my hair stayed cute. I'm so afraid they will discontinue this because I don't see if very often, so I probably need to stock up. My only complaint is that the silver lettering on the tube comes off on my fingers, leaving little sparkles.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 estrella79 on 12/4/2008 4:19:00 PM more reviews by estrella79

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I've just had my hair cut from half-way down my back into a chin length bob, and my previous products were just not cutting it with the new style. I really need more body and volume and this mousse gives me just that - it leaves my hair really bouncy and full without being sticky or looking like "helmet hair". Smells good, and not expensive. Big thumbs up from me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chayaNY on 9/3/2008 12:20:00 AM more reviews by chayaNY

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have experienced some thinning hair around my hair line due to a medical condition (on one side mainly). No hair styling product has really worked for me, though I have tried many, many with "volume" in their name. while some added body, there is a difference. Body makes what your hair seem more "bouncy," it may hold a curl or your style better. However, volume makes it seem like you have more hair, or that your hair is thicker.

I prefer to let my hair air dry, but found it will flake as it dries when used that way. I use this on my roots and now just blow dry that part only, holding my hair up in the opposite direction that I want to wear it. It works very well this way and has made it so no one would really notice that " area" I had become quite self conscious about. The nozzle on the can is very helpful, as is the consistency of the product.

While it's a mousse, unlike others, the thin nozzle directs it exactly where you want it to go, namely your roots. Also unlike others, the mouse does not come out in big blobs, but thin streams, making application even more precise. Remember to shake it up or it will become watery. To avoid flakes on the length of my hair (the part I still air dry), I mix this with a product for frizz, or a cream volumizer, and that seems to not allow it to dry crunchy (when hair does, it has a tendency to flake when you touch it). That provided somewhat less volume, but I mainly need/want it at my roots, so it's not a problem. If you heat style all of your hair, this should not be an issue. I had read great things about this item on mua, but what some love, often turns out to be a miss for me. I still gave it a chance as it was buy one product in the line, get one half off, and am very glad I did. I also like the big hair, hair spray that comes out micro fine and is ideal for thinner hair, they work well togther, just don't use too much spray after or it will all look and feel very stiff. With a light hand the spray holds the volume the mousse added, very well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* user24678 on 8/15/2008 4:51:00 PM more reviews by user24678

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Big Hair, indeed! I bought this the other day on sale at Shoppers Drug Mart for $4.99 CAD, regular $9.99 CAD. I tried it for the first time today and I'm always nervous the first time I try a new product so I didn't use much but I still noticed definite volume. I love the texture of it. It doesn't make my hair feel stiff or gritty like there's anything in it. Also styled very well and didn't make my black dyed hair unnaturally matte. I didn't get insanely dramatic volume but I only used a little bit so it may be possible with more product and a little more effort. I don't know how well it holds up volume on its own because I always spray my hair in layers to keep the lift up after styling it. The only downfall is possibly the smell. It doesn't smell bad at all (sort of a nice salon product smell, which is good now and then but a bit much for everyday) but it's very strong and lingers for quite a while. Several hours later, I could still smell my own hair every now and then and it's pretty short so it's not even as if it was hanging in my face or anything. I'll have to try it again to decide how much it really bothers me. I just don't really care to go around smelling like my mousse rather than my body spray or perfume. Seems like a really great product otherwise though. If I can get over the lingering scent, I think there's a pretty decent chance I'll buy this again even at the regular price. If not for everyday use, at least for special occassions.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bandabug on 3/5/2008 1:43:00 PM more reviews by bandabug

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm really pleased with this product. I found it at Big Lots for $2 and figured "what the heck." I'm a sucker for any product that promises volume. Unfortunately, many simply don't work. This mousse, however, delivers great results. My thin, fine, straight blonde hair was nice and full after styling and stayed that way! Love the spray applicator that allows you to get right at your roots too. I didn't notice any crunchiness or stickiness to my hair and I've been using it all week. Only drawback: Scent. It's pretty potent while you are applying it, but then I don't notice much of a smell. I agree with other reviewers that it's sort of cologne-ish. Took one lippie off for that. Otherwise, a great find!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 broberta on 3/2/2008 8:40:00 AM more reviews by broberta

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great mousse for fine hair - probably the best I have ever found and believe me, I have spent many $$ trying to find a styling product that works for fine hair. Gives lots of volume. I personally don't mind the smell. It's nice just to find something that works. Definitely will buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lunagirl1981 on 2/9/2008 9:20:00 PM more reviews by lunagirl1981

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best mousse I have ever used.

I live in miami and have staight, thin, oily hair.
This is the ONLY mousse I have used that acually gives my hair volume all day.

It not only gives volume to the base of hair but if applied allover then it gives my straight thin hair alot of body. I can actually do other things with my hair besides being very straight. If I put rollers my hair will look like a victoria secret model. (my hubby loves it)

Only product that works for me and perfect price!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Charles Worthington products

More Styling Products products