Matrix • Biolage - Conditioning Balm • Conditioner

rated 4.2(453 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 temadeamor on 4/7/2014 10:42:00 PM more reviews by temadeamor

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have dry, coarse hair and lots of reviews claim this is a great conditioner for me type of hair. But I don't think that is the case. it is an ok moisturizer but I have used better, silicon-free conditioners. I have tried it a few times thinking that i didn't give it a good try, but every time I am disappointed. It is overpriced for the results and not that moisturizing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Babyivyc on 4/7/2014 10:37:00 PM more reviews by Babyivyc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this product!!! It's my favorite conditioner now. I've tried many brands.... CHI, Joico, Nexxus, Sexy Hair, Bed Head... and like this one the most. Will definately repurchase again! Its very moisturizing, leaving hair soft and silky. It actually keeps hair soft, even after you wake up in the morning. Highly recommended product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ashleyjjane on 4/6/2014 11:27:00 PM more reviews by ashleyjjane

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My go-to conditioner! It's very moisturizing and smells great. A little goes a long way and I noticed that when I condition with this, I can go longer without getting a trim because it keeps my ends healthy. I have frizzy, wavy hair and this keeps it tame.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kiwigal99 on 3/15/2014 11:30:00 PM more reviews by kiwigal99

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really great product, it really does make my hair soft and fluffy.
The packaging is great, it is very easy to get the product out.
The conditioner has a waxy consistency but it leaves no residue. I got this as a present and I'm scared to use it too often, eventhough it feels so good, because of the price. I wouldn't have the money to repurchase if I ran out, so I use it as a treat for myself.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lizzchan12 on 3/12/2014 9:08:00 PM more reviews by lizzchan12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

This is definitely one of the best conditioners I have ever used. I don't have the large jar version of this product, I have the smaller, squeeze tube like a typical conditioner. It is the exact same product, just less in amount and price. It would be economically smarter to buy the large tub, but I didn't want to get that size in case I didn't like the product and wanted to return it, but now I'm regretting I didn't get the large size! (The smaller tube is still pretty big though - standard conditioner 10 oz. size.) I have fine, dry, colored, heat styled hair, so I definitely need something to hydrate, replenish, and moisturize without totally weighing my hair down and making it heavy and coated. This conditioner is effective as a deep conditioning treatment (usually leave in 10+ minutes), yet still light enough to be used as a regular conditioner every time you wash. But make no mistake, this conditioner is not light by any means, it is totally effective at conditioning and does what it claims - provides moisture and relieves dry, stressed hair. I live in an area where the humidity can get up to 85/90% or more for long periods of time, but my hair is never frizzy or dull with this conditioner, and it holds its style well, partly due to this product ( yes I have tested this!). The awesome floral smell is a wonderful added bonus too. There is another version of this also in the hydratherapie line called the ultrahydrating balm, which is designed for those with coarser, thicker hair, so if that more accurately describes your hair type give the ultrahydrating balm a try instead of the hydrating balm because that one will work better for fine to normal hair. Worth every penny!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GraceyKentera on 2/27/2014 5:07:00 AM more reviews by GraceyKentera

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

You know that scene in 101 Dalmations where Cruella de Ville is driving her car like a maniac, and her hair is flying all over the place and looks dry and horrible and in good need of a treatment? That's my hair in a nutshell.

I've been dyeing my hair for five years now, since I was thirteen (I unfortunately was a wilful child and got my wish to go from blonde to red at that young age). Since that fateful decision, it has never been the same. While it could grow quickly and was beautifully soft when I was young, as soon as the dyeing began it has never been the same. Now, I'm at an ash blonde-colour and my hair is dry, brittle at the ends, and CLUMPS fall out to such extremes that I thought I'd be bald by age 20.

UNTIL miracle of miracles, I stumbled upon this conditioner. I use the Matrix hydrating shampoo along with this, and simply apply the balm after shampooing and give it a good comb through (I know you're not supposed to when wet, but my hair cannot be brushed once dried), and voila, my hair is silk. I cannot believe all these years have gone by, and healthy shining hair has always been so easily attainable! If you're looking for a deep conditioner that really leaves your hair clean as well as moisturised, this is the one for you!

TIP FOR AUSSIE/ NEW ZEALANDERS: beautybay.com always has bottles for under $20, and free shipping worldwide ;)

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Leigh100 on 12/16/2013 4:23:00 AM more reviews by Leigh100

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I like this in the new formula without the keratin. I am reviewing this using the 2012 ingredients listed - as well as the generic version Sally's beauty supply sells which is just as good in my opinion.

This is my go to cone free/protein free conditioner. I just really cannot say anything bad about it. It conditions and softens hair. It does the job well. I also use it as a base for a deep conditioner. I mix in aloe vera gel and honey and get an amazing deep treatment that makes my hair happy.

I have found the Sally's generic version to be so similar (cant notice any difference at all) so I now save money and just buy the generic. Great condittioner.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joiseygirl27 on 12/15/2013 12:18:00 PM more reviews by joiseygirl27

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing cone free moisturizing treatment. I use this as a deep conditioner & leave it on my hair for about 45 mins or so with a plastic cap over it. While my scalp is prone to greasiness the length of my hair is very dry due to being colored & chemically straightened & this product makes my hair feel like silk.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* youwillneverfindme on 12/5/2013 1:27:00 PM more reviews by youwillneverfindme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Ugh! This stuff is truly terrible and I deeply regret buying it blind from a place that I can't return. I get that with beauty products it's very much "to each his own" and I'm not judging others who this works for, but for me, I feel like this stuff is pure, overpriced junk.

First the texture: I don't know how it's possible for a conditioner to feel goopy, greasy, and almost sticky feeling like a hair styling product, but this stuff feels that way. It's a weird, thick, lumpy, mess, that feels watered down, not like a beautiful, thick, luxurious cream--does that make sense?

Second: What hydration or conditioning? This stuff doesn't do any better than Suave or Vo5 on my very dry, overly processed hair (bleach, color and TR). Forget about it comparing it to my HG: Neutrogena's triple moisture....this stuff doesn't even come close.

Third: Somehow, while not conditioning my hair, it makes everything else in the shower feel slippery, like there's a coating of baby oil all over everything: to the point that I feel like I need to soap up my body again to get this stuff off my skin, and the floor of my shower becomes so slick, I need to be careful just standing under the shower head.

Forth: Packaging sucks. Why do companies make conditioners in a jar instead of a squeeze or pump bottle?

Fifth: Scent is outdated and I hate smelling this on my hair. I remember back in the day (the 80's and early 90's) my mom coming home from the salon smelling like this. It just seems too fake, too stale, too perfumey, trying to hard to smell fresh/floral while totally not accomplishing it.

Sixth: The price. While not intolerably expensive, it's not cheap.

I regret to say that I can find nothing...absolutely nothing about this product that I like, sorry guys.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Calina_Oscura76 on 11/26/2013 2:42:00 AM more reviews by Calina_Oscura76

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have used this product, off and on for many years now, oddly enough I have not reviewed it yet, so, no time like the present!
2008-09 was a rough year for my hair, I was dying it constantly, removing the color, doing keratin and protein treatments to counter act the color removal products * not bleach, the other color removal stuff from One and Only* and I would use this conditioning balm, along with the hydrating shampoo to try to recondition my hair and add moisture. shampoo, meh.. but I do like this balm. Fast forward to now, I have not dyed my hair in almost 4 years. I let all of the color grow out, and, while I am liking the fact that I can finally see my natural to me color after coloring my hair for 22 years, my hair has changed dramatically. After 2 pregnancies,problems with anemia, etc.. my hair is now incredibly fine, lighter in color * read- probably starting to turn white* and more than wavy and frizzy than it ever used to be. I am native, so one would think my hair would be coarse and dark, and super tough.. nope. Used to be like that. Anywho, I have had to try many MANY different shampoos and conditioners in a bid to rid myself of greasy, oily, grimy by the end of the afternoon, itchy, scaly scalp, mess of a head of hair.. Finally a cosmetologist at the local Shoppers Drug Mart made me realize that my problem is not dry skin and scalp, it is too oily! so I have switched to shampoos and cons for fine, thin hair.. no buildup type products.. but they are quite drying. So.. I pulled this treatment out of my cupboard and slathered it on my DRY hair. I like using this product on dry hair, not wet. I let it sit for at least an hour, than I rinse my hair, and wash and condition as usual. This ensures that I do not have any weird build up, and my hair gets a touch of nourishment before I start torturing it with I-cannot-believe-this-is-not-a-clarifying-shampoo and conditioner. Until I find that perfect S&C that will give my hair strength *( did I mention it likes to break? hoping the iron supps help that along the road)* and leave it build up free AND not dry.. I will incorporate this stuff into my week.. once a week would be plenty.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Matrix products

More Conditioner products