MAC Craving

4.6

101 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/30/2015 7:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

For some reason, I have a love-hate relationship with this lipstick. It's the kind of shade I either like or dislike depending on the mood or weather.

Craving is an MLBB to me. True to how users describe it, it's a pinky burst of plum. No problem with the texture and color payoff - as an amplified finished lippie, it's non-drying, glides comfortably and opaque.

This is my 2nd MAC lipstick. I had Cosmo first, and I was hoping to find another MLBB that is a little farther from the natural color of my lips (Cosmo is just one or two shades away). I was taken with the swatches I found before I bought this, I found it really pretty and seemed to work with all skintones after checking the reviews.

I have dark hair, and fair to medium Asian skin. But when I bought it, it's 30% disappointing. Sometimes, it feels like I look older/aged when wearing this shade. It's not vampy-level for me, but I just find it dark. Applying this heavily doesn't work for me. This is not a kind of MLBB I can wear all year round - it fails me during the summer months hehehe.

Don't get me wrong, my viewpoint on this shade is not an entirely negative experience. When I'm in the mood to use it, I just swipe it once on my lower lip, purse my lips together, and spread it a little with my fingers. Or I go for the "just-bitten" stained look - apply it only at the center of my lips, pat it with my finger to get that gradiation effect. I find it more appropriate to wear on rainy days and cold weather. And just like that Craving becomes the object of my affection.

Overall, if I had only discovered the glory of the luster finish earlier, I should have went for Plumful instead. It's more muted and 1-2 shades lighter than Craving, so I guess it'll work for me more. But never mind, the secret is in how you apply it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/13/2015 4:38:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is one of my favorite MAC lipsticks. The pinky-mauve color is perfect for my skin which is almond/caramel colored. I find unlike MAC shades such as Twig which wash me out completely, Craving gives me a nice neutral look with enough pink color. I think this is a great shade for medium to darker skin tones.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/14/2015 3:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Craving is my favorite Mac lipstick! I love wearing it with a coral blusher and brown eyeshadow. I know many of you think of it as an Autumn /Winter shade, but I love wearing it all year round because it suits my skin and it plumps my lips in a nice way.
Highly recommended :)


on 6/11/2015 6:57:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

"Craving" is my most-used MAC lipstick. I'd describe it as a medium plum shade that is noticeable while still remaining very demure; I wear it so often because it works for just about any situation. It's extremely office-appropriate, but would also look pretty and sophisticated for a night out. The Amplified Creme finish is my favorite of MAC's lipstick formulations, too. They're creamy, comfortable, and extremely pigmented.

This might sound contradictory, because I really like the shade overall, but I do think that Craving is a bit of a "boring" color. On me, at least, it's so wearable partly because it isn't particularly high-impact... it's just neutral, classic, and pretty. I have light, warm-toned (NC20) skin, but from the swatches I've seen, it looks even better on darker skin tones. A good, reliable staple.


on 6/11/2015 2:07:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really love this beautiful shade of lipstick. It's a medium berry shade and highly pigmented. I might be partial to this lipstick because I wore it on my wedding day and it showed up great in the pictures and wasn't too dark or too red. I had a winter wedding and this is definitely a fall/winter shade in my eyes, it just seems a little too deep for me in spring/summer when I prefer coral shades. The wear time is great - it lasted through the ceremony and dinner before I had to reapply, and even through the rest of the evening I only had to reapply a few times. It's comfortable, not drying, and has a slight sheen. It makes lips look plump and they stand out without being too dark. Overall this is a great shade that I think would suite many people!

I also have Captive which is just a few shades darker. I would not suggest getting both though unless you really love that type of color and want a darker option, as they are very close and have a similar formula (Craving is Amplified so highly pigmented and brighter, and Captive is Satin so it has less shine).

For reference: fair/cool complexion, honey blonde hair, blue eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/23/2015 5:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this lipstick. I have highly pigmented, pink-rosy lips and on me this looks like a muted berry color. It does transfer a little but is not drying at all and glides very smoothly over the lips. Its incredibly pigmented as well. To me, $16 is a good price for a very high quality lipstick, compared to some out there that are 30+.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/17/2015 5:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is one of my favorite lipsticks shades, MAC or otherwise. It's the perfect medium berry; not too dark, not too bright. The Amplified finish makes for a creamy, easily applied, comfortable wear. It's a bit of a muted shade, in my opinion, and I can pull this off as a neutral with many, many looks. Wear time is that of a normal MAC Amplified lipstick. If I don't eat or drink, I can get lots of hours of wear. It leaves a nice stain behind if given enough time to set on the lips before being touched by food or drink.


on 3/17/2015 3:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my first MAC lipstick. I've heard great things about the brand and was excited to get a color. I told the MUA that I was looking for an everyday kind of pink color that I could wear to class. Bold colors are wonderful and I like to wear them, but I needed a go-to color that I could apply to give my lips a bit of color when I don't have time for a full on red or purple lip. Craving is perfect. It applies well and strands out just enough on my lips. Its creamy and needs to be reapplied after eating or drinking, but will last pretty long otherwise and only needs to be refreshed with a lip balm to give it moisture.


on 2/24/2015 5:56:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Where has this lipstick been all my life! I love it, not too bright, not too neutral, just a beautiful pop of colour. My HG lipstick!


on 2/12/2015 2:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Probably would not buy this again just because I feel it's not stand out enough to buy again. Sort of goes on my lips as blood red. Saw in a pic on me and thought it looked quite nice so im torn between giving 3 lippies or 4. It's definitely not a spring summer colour. I jus think there are much nicer MAC shades out there!


Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top