MAC Dark Side

4.4

47 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/12/2014 8:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Normally I go for pink but decided to give this a shot and I absolutely love it. I like mixing it with other colours. But it's way better alone.



on 10/31/2014 10:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Very dark, very nice vampy Burgundy! I used it today with my semi goth make up. My daughter dressed as a vampire, so I dressed as a modern vampire mom. This color got a lot if attention. It's definitely a fall/winter color. Very pretty.


on 8/15/2014 11:44:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Finally! This is what I wanted from MAC Rebel and Revlon Black Cherry, with the crucial difference being Dark Side's Amplified Creme formula that makes it much more comfortable to wear. Rebel dried my lips terribly (no idea why; other MAC Satin lipsticks work fine) and I had to get rid of it, much as I loved the color. Revlon Black Cherry was somehow both extremely drying *and* too slippy on my lips, a total failure. Although I find Dark Side very slightly drying, it's not nearly as bad as the other two, and priming with a thin layer of non-slippy balm makes the drying effect negligible. Dark Side is one step darker than Rebel -- burgundy/plum rather than fuchsia/violet -- but worn sheerly or as a stain, the difference is barely perceptible. Dark Side is very pigmented (but can be sheered out easily) and lasts well; slightly more inclined to bleed than a drier formula, but blotting and/or a lip liner takes care of that; leaves a nice berry stain as it wears off. I'll certainly repurchase as needed. Huzzah!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/25/2014 11:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Omg! I'm in love with this colour. I saw this on one of the MUA at the counter and it looked stunning on her. I tried it in the store and it came out as a lovely, pigmented burgundy/maroon colour. It's so creamy and doesn't bleed. Looks great on my nc40-42 skin tone! A perfect colour that you can pair with a subtle smokey eyes or on a night out.

I recommend everyone to try it! I'd def. repurchase.


on 2/19/2014 11:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My go to winter lipstick. Great dark burgundy color. Stays on well too! Needs a matching lip liner now!


on 2/10/2014 10:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Dark Side is a moody, deep plum shade that reminds me of film noir. It's dramatic without being too loud and due to its cremesheen texture, moisture isn't sacrificed. Since I like wearing it during cooler months (it's an ideal fall/winter shade), I dab it lightly with my fingers over a balm for a deep berry-stained look that is more appropriate for daytime wear, or apply a lighter gloss over top to dilute the pigment and make it more demure.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/9/2014 10:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I love this color. Dark Side is my first bold lip color, now I can't put it down. I'm NC35-40.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/23/2013 2:25:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Don't be fooled by the color in the tube, Dark Side can be very wearable if blotted or used as a stain. It gives a very plummy color that layers well, ideal for fall. You can build it quite dark if needed, and it's quite an exceptionnal color.

Goes well on fair skin with yellow tones, whitens the teeth. As it's an amplified, it's very pigment rich and I like to use a bit of balm before putting it. Glides very well on the lips, excellent quality.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/14/2013 7:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

This lipstick is too dark and hard to washoff.


on 10/14/2013 6:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Well, Hello Evil Queen from Once Upon a Time! This is the color of a Red Delicious apple. Such a foreboding, intimidating name "Dark Side". Everyone talking of how bold and vampy it is. On me, it was perfection. Not goth, not a purple berry, not a muted berry, not a red berry, but a scrumptious burgundy wine berry that came off as something I could wear all fall and winter. I have been on the hunt for this seasons vampy color that works on me. Even though I am NW20 skin, I think my almost black hair (3n), brown eyes, rosey lips, enables me to be able to pull off some luscious vampy colors pretty well. Yes, some will suck the color out of my face and look more goth than vamp, some do just a touch adding to the vamp side of things. But not Dark Side. I kept looking back at it in different light to be sure I was seeing correctly; that it wore so easy on me. My face was full of color with these "Red Delicious" lips (the apple). Wow. I almost past on this too thinking I had too many similar colors. But when I swatched it next to all my similar shades, nothing was really THAT close to this shade. Dark Side was quite unique.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
184 Reviews
provocalips
58 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top