MAC • Dark Side • Lipstick

rated 4.3(43 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 ElleK7 on 2/19/2014 11:23:00 PM more reviews by ElleK7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

My go to winter lipstick. Great dark burgundy color. Stays on well too! Needs a matching lip liner now!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nostradamus on 2/10/2014 10:09:00 PM more reviews by nostradamus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Dark Side is a moody, deep plum shade that reminds me of film noir. It's dramatic without being too loud and due to its cremesheen texture, moisture isn't sacrificed. Since I like wearing it during cooler months (it's an ideal fall/winter shade), I dab it lightly with my fingers over a balm for a deep berry-stained look that is more appropriate for daytime wear, or apply a lighter gloss over top to dilute the pigment and make it more demure.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kaisofine on 1/9/2014 10:00:00 PM more reviews by kaisofine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love this color. Dark Side is my first bold lip color, now I can't put it down. I'm NC35-40.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Babel9 on 10/23/2013 2:25:00 AM more reviews by Babel9

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Don't be fooled by the color in the tube, Dark Side can be very wearable if blotted or used as a stain. It gives a very plummy color that layers well, ideal for fall. You can build it quite dark if needed, and it's quite an exceptionnal color.

Goes well on fair skin with yellow tones, whitens the teeth. As it's an amplified, it's very pigment rich and I like to use a bit of balm before putting it. Glides very well on the lips, excellent quality.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 helensung on 10/14/2013 7:10:00 PM more reviews by helensung

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This lipstick is too dark and hard to washoff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 10/14/2013 6:51:00 PM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Well, Hello Evil Queen from Once Upon a Time! This is the color of a Red Delicious apple. Such a foreboding, intimidating name "Dark Side". Everyone talking of how bold and vampy it is. On me, it was perfection. Not goth, not a purple berry, not a muted berry, not a red berry, but a scrumptious burgundy wine berry that came off as something I could wear all fall and winter. I have been on the hunt for this seasons vampy color that works on me. Even though I am NW20 skin, I think my almost black hair (3n), brown eyes, rosey lips, enables me to be able to pull off some luscious vampy colors pretty well. Yes, some will suck the color out of my face and look more goth than vamp, some do just a touch adding to the vamp side of things. But not Dark Side. I kept looking back at it in different light to be sure I was seeing correctly; that it wore so easy on me. My face was full of color with these "Red Delicious" lips (the apple). Wow. I almost past on this too thinking I had too many similar colors. But when I swatched it next to all my similar shades, nothing was really THAT close to this shade. Dark Side was quite unique.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 noemi1234 on 10/1/2013 11:37:00 PM more reviews by noemi1234

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lipstick perfect for fall

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sandyling on 12/16/2012 12:28:00 PM more reviews by sandyling

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i bought this lipstick yesterday. i just wanted to buy something at macys and i was really looking for a nice berry color lip gloss. after spending an hour at the mac counter i ended up buying this lipstick, dark side. im not bold enough to wear purple (which was what i was looking for) or hot pinks. funny story, i was just trying on all the "bold" colors and i ended liking this. i would never thought i would like this so much. and so i just made the splurge. this color is like a red vampy wine color. its soooo pretty and i can see myself wearing this everyday. for reference, i am a mac nc30, have yellow undertones... pinks makes me look yellower and makes my teeth look yellower. but this lipsticks brightend my whole look and i dont have to wear as much makeup.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sunnydelite62901 on 4/6/2012 11:57:00 PM more reviews by Sunnydelite62901

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I say no not because I don't like it but because I don't see me running out of it anytime soon.
The color is great a dark wine color I wear it with vino lipliner and gingerly blush, its a great color for a night out or when I go the a dance club and wear fish nets with my boots ;) or it can be worn out for a sophisticated night out too. I am Mac Nc40-42ish or MUFE 140 or, lol, Golden Medium in Lucy Minerals

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cherylf on 3/19/2012 1:42:00 PM more reviews by cherylf

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this lipstick. I can wear it dark or sheered out - beautiful with my pale complexion!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products