MAC • Dark Side • Lipstick

rated 4.4(47 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 kiyoshi001 on 11/12/2014 8:04:00 PM more reviews by kiyoshi001

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Normally I go for pink but decided to give this a shot and I absolutely love it. I like mixing it with other colours. But it's way better alone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sapphirecoqui on 10/31/2014 10:35:00 PM more reviews by Sapphirecoqui

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

Very dark, very nice vampy Burgundy! I used it today with my semi goth make up. My daughter dressed as a vampire, so I dressed as a modern vampire mom. This color got a lot if attention. It's definitely a fall/winter color. Very pretty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 XFOLI8R on 8/15/2014 11:44:00 PM more reviews by XFOLI8R

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Finally! This is what I wanted from MAC Rebel and Revlon Black Cherry, with the crucial difference being Dark Side's Amplified Creme formula that makes it much more comfortable to wear. Rebel dried my lips terribly (no idea why; other MAC Satin lipsticks work fine) and I had to get rid of it, much as I loved the color. Revlon Black Cherry was somehow both extremely drying *and* too slippy on my lips, a total failure. Although I find Dark Side very slightly drying, it's not nearly as bad as the other two, and priming with a thin layer of non-slippy balm makes the drying effect negligible. Dark Side is one step darker than Rebel -- burgundy/plum rather than fuchsia/violet -- but worn sheerly or as a stain, the difference is barely perceptible. Dark Side is very pigmented (but can be sheered out easily) and lasts well; slightly more inclined to bleed than a drier formula, but blotting and/or a lip liner takes care of that; leaves a nice berry stain as it wears off. I'll certainly repurchase as needed. Huzzah!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gulabjamun12 on 6/25/2014 11:36:00 PM more reviews by gulabjamun12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Omg! I'm in love with this colour. I saw this on one of the MUA at the counter and it looked stunning on her. I tried it in the store and it came out as a lovely, pigmented burgundy/maroon colour. It's so creamy and doesn't bleed. Looks great on my nc40-42 skin tone! A perfect colour that you can pair with a subtle smokey eyes or on a night out.

I recommend everyone to try it! I'd def. repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ElleK7 on 2/19/2014 11:23:00 PM more reviews by ElleK7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

My go to winter lipstick. Great dark burgundy color. Stays on well too! Needs a matching lip liner now!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nostradamus on 2/10/2014 10:09:00 PM more reviews by nostradamus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Dark Side is a moody, deep plum shade that reminds me of film noir. It's dramatic without being too loud and due to its cremesheen texture, moisture isn't sacrificed. Since I like wearing it during cooler months (it's an ideal fall/winter shade), I dab it lightly with my fingers over a balm for a deep berry-stained look that is more appropriate for daytime wear, or apply a lighter gloss over top to dilute the pigment and make it more demure.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kaisofine on 1/9/2014 10:00:00 PM more reviews by kaisofine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love this color. Dark Side is my first bold lip color, now I can't put it down. I'm NC35-40.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Babel9 on 10/23/2013 2:25:00 AM more reviews by Babel9

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Don't be fooled by the color in the tube, Dark Side can be very wearable if blotted or used as a stain. It gives a very plummy color that layers well, ideal for fall. You can build it quite dark if needed, and it's quite an exceptionnal color.

Goes well on fair skin with yellow tones, whitens the teeth. As it's an amplified, it's very pigment rich and I like to use a bit of balm before putting it. Glides very well on the lips, excellent quality.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 helensung on 10/14/2013 7:10:00 PM more reviews by helensung

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This lipstick is too dark and hard to washoff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 10/14/2013 6:51:00 PM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Well, Hello Evil Queen from Once Upon a Time! This is the color of a Red Delicious apple. Such a foreboding, intimidating name "Dark Side". Everyone talking of how bold and vampy it is. On me, it was perfection. Not goth, not a purple berry, not a muted berry, not a red berry, but a scrumptious burgundy wine berry that came off as something I could wear all fall and winter. I have been on the hunt for this seasons vampy color that works on me. Even though I am NW20 skin, I think my almost black hair (3n), brown eyes, rosey lips, enables me to be able to pull off some luscious vampy colors pretty well. Yes, some will suck the color out of my face and look more goth than vamp, some do just a touch adding to the vamp side of things. But not Dark Side. I kept looking back at it in different light to be sure I was seeing correctly; that it wore so easy on me. My face was full of color with these "Red Delicious" lips (the apple). Wow. I almost past on this too thinking I had too many similar colors. But when I swatched it next to all my similar shades, nothing was really THAT close to this shade. Dark Side was quite unique.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products