Gobin Daudé Parfums Biche dans L'Absinthe

3.6

23 reviews

43% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/17/2008 2:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Doe through the Artemisia bushes… Her coat glows in the warm autumnal sun. Freedom is happiness. And the single notion that being is all there is to life.

Victoire Gobin-Daudé, a gifted French independent perfumer, who unfortunately whose line was discontinued, unfortunately, uses only natural essences in the five perfumes she released to the world to enjoy for a limited period of time.

Biche dans l’Absinthe offers yet another perspective to the bittersweetness of green and aromatic fougeres: the pairing of animalic with herbaceous.

Opening with sweaty notes of cumin and the underlining warmth of immortelle, the doe has just paused from a brisk morning gallop in fields of semi-dry hay. It is mid Autumn, and the first sunrays are warming her shiny coat, releasing steam of animal sweat and morning dew from the surrounding vegetation. Citrus notes play a subtle role of diffusing the bitterness of Artemisia (absinthe) while bergamot creates a soft powdery aura, complementary to the cumin.
There is a hint of floral in the heart, alongside the Artemisia. It might be orange blossom, or perhaps neroli. It is very subtle and is present only to soften and blend the phases together. The base is at once dry and sweet – with dried tobacco leaves, the abovementioned immortelle and its animalic yet herbaceouse-dry sweetness, and hay of course, for a good measure of coumarin and nourishment for the doe so she can run freely on my skin for hours to come.

Top notes: Lemon, Cumin, Bergamot, Lemon Leaf
Heart notes: Artemisia (Absinthe), Neroli, Lavender Absolute
Base notes: Tobacco, Immortelle Absolute, Hay Absolute



on 3/15/2007 7:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Hey, I love cumin. Kingdom, Femme, love love love cumin. Sadly, this smells like chicken soup: pepper, stale cumin dust, something green and dry like thyme, more pepper. Smells like you were cooking, practicing voodoo, and pruning bushes all while wearing the same sweaty burlap sack. If you just want to smell weird, go for it.


on 12/31/2005 10:59:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Biche dans l'Absinthe (Doe in Absinthe)
The most poetic and profound fragrance I ever encountered - just wear it and picture the shy and startled little doe wandering through a shaded wood , princess of nature, quivering, wild and sensual, happily surrendered to the magic of foliage...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/3/2005 12:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

As a perfume, I find Biche dans L'Absinthe really weird. It smells exactly like a cup of Eastern medicinal tea, which smells and tastes rather odd and foul, albeit is very effective. With that said, despite the likeness, it's not completely unpleasant. Save the great top note of gooseberry, which vanishes faster than the human eye blinks, it quickly becomes a strongly herbal scent that conjures an image of cracked portions of tree bark, shells and twigs brewing in hot water to procure some kind of nature juice. This is exactly what the house smelled like when my grandmother brewed this Eastern medicinal tea in the crockpot all day. It pretty much tasted the way it smelled. Well, not only do I have no desire to smell like this tea, I can easily get a whiff of this without a bottle, since I curiously enough voluntarily drink these concoctions today.


on 5/10/2005 4:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

A lovely and festive scent, a bit "Renaissance Festival" or somehow Middle Ages, dark woods, velvets, something deep and all knowing. Definitely forests, not so much the smell (maybe of the barks) but the FEEL. My husband said it reminds him of the sweets eaten in December here in Holland, which are a peppery sweet sort of cookie or cake called "speculaas"...the taste is sort of a peppery cinnamon which must be the cumin smell mentioned by others (immortelle flower, artemesia / absinthe and tobacco leaf...?). One thing I like so much about Gobin Daude perfumes is that the poetic descriptions she's created for her perfumes really do fit the image literally created by smelling them. The perfumes paint a picture, actually materialize something IMO, even something three dimensional that could be entered and experienced, instead of merely a smell that brought back memories or perhaps exploded the olfactory senses into heaven. Her perfumes could do this, but the added component of the image creation gives them a depth where other perfumes may fall short of such a kaleidoscopic experience and range...such a huge pity that these will soon be discontinued due to lack of sales...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/7/2005 9:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have to give this a 4 for it's unusual coupling of heady spices (read: cumin and curry) and the light undercurrent of green absinthe, and a sweetness that comes out almost like blackcurrent deep underneath. It's highly unusual, but completely unwearable on my skin.


on 12/26/2004 7:24:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Beautiful aromatic leather scent with spicy crisp.
Elegant, confident.


on 12/11/2004 6:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

VERY bitter and dry scent. Disgusting leather and tobacco on my skin. I can't stand this.


on 11/30/2004 10:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Cumin cumin cumin cumin cumin cumin cumin cumin. Curry curry curry curry curry curry curry curry curry. Tenacious lasting power though for a Gobin Daude (well, what can you expect when you smear the remnants of last night's meal all over your wrists) and a fun name to mispronounce in your head.


on 10/17/2004 8:54:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

NO: This reminds me of Tea for Two but with a heavy cumin note. I hate that note! I'm like other people. I like to eat curry but I don't want to smell like it.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1359 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Light Blue
1410 Reviews
La Vie Est Belle
156 Reviews
Daisy
544 Reviews


Back to Top